Cheap and Simple

Posted: May 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

Last night began an adventure for me.

…. A very scary one.

Something you’d never know about me unless you “know” me or have seen my home is… I have trouble tossing stiff because of the sentimental value or memory involved with it.

Um crazy I know, but someone please assure me I’m not alone?!?

Anyway, last night began a quest to convert my lifestyle and live very simply… And as a by product… Very frugally for the next three months.

(… And hopefully beyond, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves here okay?)

I admittedly went a little crazy, I found the faster I worked, the easier it was to part with well… Junk.

20110510-055007.jpg
Um yeah… That would be two jumbo bags of books to drop off at the library in my building (I know… I need a kindle!!) and three bags of clothes to donate.

There was another bag of stuff I tossed.

Scary.

Anyway, this is me…. Decluttering 6 years in one apartment.

… And trying to save every penny I can by not replacing the clutter two weeks from now.

My point here is… Would you all be interested in following along as I grow up and stop hoarding crap or should I just keep this part hidden?

Thoughts?!?

…. Clearly fritz enjoys the empty space on the bookshelf… But really, are you interested in it or should I stick to eggs and cardio rants?

20110510-055502.jpg

Comments
  1. Since I’m in the process of doing the exact same thing (I’m moving back to the US after living in Denmark and I don’t know how on earth I’m going to get this stuff back over the pond!) I would LOVE to see your process. Plus I always think it’s fun to get a peek into people’s lives :)

  2. I have this same problem. Just because an item is linked to something positive in my head, it’s so hard to get rid of it, even though it’s just clutter now! I would love to hear about your efforts in this area.

  3. Oh my goodness. I have a hard time throwing things away too. Twinnies much! I need to get rid of a lot of crap as I move out of school ha.

  4. allieksmith says:

    I hoard for the same reason! Memories!

    I would love to hear about you learning to grow up and unhoard ;)

    Fritz in the bookshelf.. hahaha so cute !!!

  5. I’m interested!!!!!

    I don’t hoard — I actually HATE clutter — but I think standing on the sidelines as you break this habit will help me learn to break MY bad habits :)

  6. Lisa says:

    I am a clutter freak, seriously. Both me and my husband. I have a hard time getting rid of stuff too. I think it’s just pure laziness. We aren’t hoarders and in fact i hate clutter and messes, but out of sight out of mind for me. I do the big stuff when I have people visiting and I always feel better afterward. For instance, just before Eastter (family visited) we rented a uhual van and took 400lbs (yes, 400lbs) of garbage and cardboard to the dump. It was all in our garage. Seriously? We have old tv’s, old freezers, every kid thing imaginable. I need to know other people have the same issues!!

  7. marlopnwgirl says:

    Nope! Continue on! I love hearing about the ins and outs of your life.. Its always fun to follow a long!! I bet it felt so nice to ditch some of the clutter!!

  8. I seriously give away a bag (or three) every couple of months to Goodwill. How the heck does it accumulate so quickly?!

  9. I like Fritz’s new role as bookcase decor. Very nice.

  10. I would love to follow along! I get high off of throwing away junk. feels so good.

  11. I have exactly the same problem. I have major issues with getting to the point of getting rid of stuff, but once I do it feels so great!

  12. Amanda says:

    Hey I think we have the same bookshelf! :-) I’m always interested in this topic, as I got rid of about 70 percent of my stuff 2 years ago in a mad purge when I ended a long term relationship and got my own apartment, and now that Eric and I are looking to move into one place, the amount of stuff he has acquired in 6 years at his apartment is a huge hurdle for us to get over. Ahhh stuff. Love it and hate it. Keep it up!

  13. I need to purge in such a bad way. I have such a hard time getting rid of clothes, even ratty clothes. I’ll join you in this decluttering adventure next week, once life simmers a little bit.

  14. [...] I admitted I save E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G and seriously need to cleanse, toss, donate and move towards living a much simpler, saner [...]

Leave a Reply

