Meet Miss Piggy

Posted: May 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

… And no I don’t mean me! I didn’t go on a mega breakfast binge this morning

20110511-055457.jpg

It was “the usual”… And I have to admit as simple as this is I can’t imagine switching it up. Creature of habit to the max.

What can I say? I know what I like and go with it.

Having a little something on the side helps too

20110511-055303.jpg

My last pot of cocoa mochonut was made this morning. Must.order.more. Asap!

But back to miss piggy.

I mentioned yesterday (… And several times over the last few months) my desire to save money for… Stuff.

Competing isn’t cheap… At all.

I devised a plan to put cash in a savings account I can’t access with my debit card every week for my “stuff”, then take out 20-40$ cash and use miss piggy to save for competing.

20110511-055721.jpg

Um yup, I’m 27 and not only own a piggy bank, but it’s shaped like a pig AND it’s wearing a tiara.

My mom bought it for me and I jokingly called it the “becca boob job fund”… A girl has needs right?!

The sad thing?

Miss piggy is stuffed. Yup, full of loose change, twenties and odds and ends I’ve stuffed in there to save.

It’s honestly working better for me to save for the immediate future using this. My savings account is an easy two or three click transfer into my checking account while I’m out.

Miss piggy? Safely at home in my bedroom.

So yes, while juvenile and kind of sad I hereby declare my best “savings account” for the next bit to be a piggy bank.

Go me!

Anyone else save spare change and cash in this simple, and super old school way?!

Comments
  1. That is seriously such a good idea. I have been wanting to save up some money over the summer so I might have to give this a go.

  2. Ha! I love Miss Piggy. That’s awesome. My boyfriend and I have a giant bowl (looks like an old fishbowl) that we throw loose change and bills into when we have extra. It takes a while to save, but if you just leave it, it’s a great way to do it. We had 90 bucks last time we emptied it. I agree, having an actual bank to put money vs. online is much more real and thus, much less tempting (for me at least!).

  3. I save my random change & the occasional $1 or $5 and it always amazed me when the jar is filled & I count it up. If I didn’t put the change somewhere, it would be scattered around the bottoms of all of my purses.

  4. Jenny says:

    My friends had a piggy bank before we went on a cruise and saved up like $100 in change! I gotta get my own piggy bank :D

  5. Competing is SO expensive! Having a plan to save is a good idea.

    And I’m like you – total creature of habit with food. I happily eat the same thigns over and over.

  6. Me me me! I don’t have a piggy bank though so I hide it in a bag at the bottom of my huge-ass box of tampons from Costco. Because no matter how badly I may want to buy a new tee-shirt or pair of shoes, nothing in the world would be enough to motivate me to dig through and then replace all 59865 of those tampons.

  7. Tiff says:

    Piggy bank, eh? So simple, yet so brilliant.

  8. Brittany says:

    That piggy bank is sososo cute. I do this same thing! Except, I use a lame jar. I agree though not only is it safe at home, something about physically putting bills and change into the jar is so satisfying that I wouldn’t dare dip into it until it is time!!

  9. Lisa says:

    Definitely a good idea! I too can easily transfer to checking which I do all the time, so why bother even having one? We have saved money successfully for tv’s and trips by just putting it in an envelope at home. Hmm, we really need to do that again. Anyway, good job, that’s great thinking because you know comps can cost a lot!! And I too have a boob job fund =)

  10. Crystal says:

    I think Miss Piggy is adorable and should have a companion to increase the savings. Maybe Mr Pig???
    Good Luck!

  11. Kudos for saving any which way. I’m becoming more and more diligent about it and it feels great!

  12. allieksmith says:

    I have a piggy bank too! I also have a fish bank that I made at church LOL. I taught little kids crafts and made one to show as the example ;) and then kept it!

    Java Moose! I hope you get more soon so you can enjoy it in all of its yummy splendor ;)

  13. Errign says:

    What a great idea! Ms.Piggy is very cute :)

  14. OMG Best piggie bank ever!

  15. [...] that goes hand in hand with living a more simple life (to me anyway) is using Miss Piggy much more [...]

Leave a Reply

