Rebounding and Off Season Goodies

Posted: October 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

The rebound effect is a very real and scary fact of competing that many people fall prey to. Stepping off stage and not having a plan is the biggest issue (in my eyes). Lucky for me I did have a photo shoot booked for the day after my show so despite feeling down I wasn’t able to give into emotional eating and gorge myself on carbs and cheese.  Even after my photo shoot I had a few bites of a protein bar and it just “wasn’t worth it” to me to finish it. I had set up a plan with my coach after my show to slowly back out of my diet, and gradually reintroduce higher levels of carbs (and lower levels of cardio) back into my life. It’s been a week and a half at a fairly moderate level and I’m proud to say I’ve only gained about three pounds and I’m feeling fantastic.

My life during prep.... chicken, a food scale and lots of water

Life After Prep??? ... Whole Foods turtle brownie anyone?

 

I admit I was very afraid of rebounding myself, especially with past disordered eating I have suffered from. Often one cookie leads to 16. Not cool. Reminding myself that all of the cookies in the world are NOT going to disappear tomorrow helps, I mean… it’s not like I’ll never get to make or eat cookies again, so why stuff my face and feel like garbage right?

There really is an LOLcat for every occassion...

While I admit to being fairly strict with my diet coming out of prep with the guidance of my coach, I do fully confess to enjoy a few treats here and there and thought I should share some of my goodies with you.

Mmmm Lindt Truffles. Heaven!

Honeycrisp Apple cobbler... for one!

Banana oat pancakes... with chocolate chips!

Clearly my foody blogging photos need a TON of work… Hey, this blog is all about the improvements to myself, body and otherwise, so I’ll add better photos to my to do list! 🙂

What’s one treat you drool over everytime?

Comments
  1. lisaou11 says:

    I’m really proud of you. You have come a long way in your mental thinking when it comes to food etc.

    Check out my elvis sandwich today. thatll make you drool.

  2. A chocolate dessert like most brownies or cookies… Especially fresh from the oven.

    Sounds like you’ve got a pretty good hold on post show food and your goal of adding foods back in slowly.

  3. Ok, seriously I have not seen this brownie at WF’s before….this thing sounds fab!

    What a great accomplishment today doll 🙂

    xxoo

Leave a Reply

