My Bff… That I’ve Never Met

Posted: November 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

…. Sounds a little wacko, I know! But it’s true!

Having a support system is a HUGE thing when you’re preparing for a competition…. Okay, for anything in life, but when you’re prepping (especially for your first show!) it’s scary and nerve wracking. When I began prep in January I had zero friends in real life who competed and that was a bit… daunting.

We're more tequila and tacos than water and egg whites... and that's A-ok with me!

 I’ve always been active in online health and fitness forms and have met some amazing friends there, I even took off to NYC to meet up with Lisa and Marlo! That was honestly one of the best experiences of my life and I’m SO glad I had the opportunity to go! 

With Lisa and Marlo.... at MARTHA STEWART!

On that same forum I started reading the contest prep journal of a lovely chick named Sarah who was working towards her first figure show. (which she rocked by the way)

What what!

Through following each other’s journals we slowly got to know each other better and better and began to lean on each other as we both dieted and trained in separate countries. As I began prep and she started with her new trainer in her quest to get ready to hit the stage again, we became closer and soon began emailing and texting… a lot. Having someone to talk to that was going through the same diet, the same cardio, had DONE a show before was more valuable than I can even begin to express. 

Support on show day earns a big thumbs up!

Let’s be honest here, my first show was not exactly the best experience, my boyfriend at the time backed out on traveling with me last  minute, I ended up taking a very long bus ride to Toronto alone, sleeping on a friend’s couch, I turned green (yes, GREEN), I got eyelash glue in my eyes, I was alone and had NO idea what to expect…. But at the same time I wasn’t alone. Even though Sarah was sitting poolside in California (Probably anyway), she was texting me constantly, telling me to relax, sharing in my joy when I got called for top 5 in the transformation challenge, and drooling over my post show whole foods turtle brownie. 

So worth running all over Toronto to find the Whole Foods!

 Since that first show back in May she’s been there through TWO more preps (what was I thinking?!), family vacations, a tricky breakup, attempting to date again, cheat meals, food breakdowns, we even text each other to get through long cardio sessions… If that’s not a best friend, I don’t know what is.  We send random goofy pictures back and forth to cheer each other up, a brief look through my email inbox shows some interesting subject lines to our emails:

  • Daily LOLZ
  • Nom, nom, nom
  • I’m going to throttle her
  • Srsly?
  • This is what I get for multitasking
  • Yes. This is a pic of my boobs (Or similarily. Yes, it’s my ass, just open the email)

 Yeah… Random much?

Yeah... I'm not the only one taking fun cell phone pictures.... THANKFULLY!

"I'm wearing sweats and hooker heels on a friday morning in the gym... please reassure me this is normal"

But despite our joking around and great friendship, she is someone I can reach out to when I’m down, angry, upset, happy, ANYTHING and I know she will be there. When I started slipping into my funk last week she was the one urging me to take some time off, and after a particularly bad afternoon on the weekend I received a long email that yes, made me sob like a baby, but also made me feel ten times better. The subject was simply “I hate”

“That you’re in the funk that I was in 2 weeks ago
That you’re amazing and yet sad
That boys are stupid.
That we work so hard and yet it feels like its never going to be good enough
That I’m not a millionare and could just fly you out here and we could live in a mansion on the beach together
That you’re not a millionaire and you could fly me out there and live in the arctic together hehe
That we dont live closer
That boys are stupid
That the Nanny isnt on replay 24/7
That greek yogurt doesnt fill me up
That boys are stupid and they cause 50% of all down ness
That TOM is stupid and it causes 50% of the rest of the stupidness.

 BUT I LOVEEE
YOU
THE FACT THAT YOU’RE SUCH AN IMPORTANT PART OF MY LIFE
THAT BOTH OF US GO THROUGH THE SAME SHIT AND WE CAN PULL EACHOTHER OUT
THAT YOU CAN PUT A SMILE ON MY FACE
LOLCATZ
TEXTS FROM LAST NIGHT
THE NANNY
MY MORNING EMAILS FROM YOU. ITS THE FIRST THING I DO WHEN I WAKEUP.
PANCAKES
THE FACT THAT IF WE DID LIVE CLOSER 90% OF OUR PROBLEMS WOULD BE SOLVED”

I edited it down, but wanted to share (after ok-ing it with the lady herself) because sometimes it’s hard to tell a friend how much they mean to you, but you should never take a true friendship for granted. Even though I have met other competitor friends here, and have lots of friends who support me, I will be forever grateful for my long distance bff who is fantastic and wonderful! … and is the reason I’m mildly addicted to garlic salt, spaghetti squash and French toast. Nom nom nom

Mmmmmmm Garlic Salt!

So Sarah, for all of the emails, the texts, the cards that made me cry; for always being there, supporting me and being my best friend, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. Always know that even if I can’t get out the words, I love you and all you’ve done for me this past year and if I could I’d be the first in line to take you out for your first cheat meal! loveyoumeanit!

 

 

Have you ever met someone you knew online in real life?

How important do you think a support system is to reaching your goals?

Comments
  1. Marlo says:

    Tear! That was great!! Loved it!

  2. lisaou11 says:

    beautiful! Im so glad that you and Sarah got close! I know that we are close, but I could not provide near the same support that she did bc she had been through and was still going through! Me on the other hand was trying to not do any of those things!

    haha 🙂

    I still lurk around in 02 on her journal!

  3. Sarah says:

    loveyoumeanittoo!!

    Man, my boob pic email couldnt have come on a better day! LOL
    You rock and I love my long distance bff ❤ ❤ xo ❤ ❤

  4. Tina says:

    Sarah is a cool chick! That’s so awesome the two of you became so close. 🙂

  5. Tenecia says:

    Sarah is kick ass!!! Love her!!! And I completely understand meeting someone on a forum and having a connection to them that isn’t limited by the fact that you’ve never met face-to-face….gotta love the internet 🙂

Leave a Reply

