Addicted to Orange???

Posted: November 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

Wow… what a BUSY weekend!

Friday night started off with a trip to Lululemon to pick up a touque for running! I knew exactly what one I wanted but the store downtown didnt have, so I had to make the trek to Westmount…. which involved some detours.

We often joke that we have four seasons here in Canada, almost winter, winter, still winter and construction. Can you guess where we are right now?

Ahhhh construction season!

Luckily my search ended when I found my touque! yay! I don’t give good hat head, so I’m very picky with hates! Luckily this one is cute, styling…. and on sale! What can I say, I’m thrifty!

After running some errands I headed home to eat a quick preworkout meal, make me a diet friendly peppermint mocha and head off to try out a new gym! My membership at your typical chains tyle gym is up in January and I NEED a change. The first gym I ever joined here is under new management, renovated and umm… dirt cheap. I’m trying it out for a week to see if it’s a good fit. So far so good!

... except that the mirrors must have been installed by a VERY tall man. I'm on the tip of my toes here!

Saturday morning I got up…. not very early at all. I slept in until ten and it was fabulous! I had what should have been my pre-run meal… but got sucked into the couch so I had ANOTHER meal before my run.

Pumpkin oats and 2 egg whites? Yes please!

Oh… and heaven forbid I be un-caffinated!

Peppermint mocha with a spoonful of cool whip! ... in a tacky, possibly 8 year old Christmas mug

Then it was time to hit the road! It was a BEAUTIFUL day outside, sunny, no heavy wind, about 5 degrees. Dare I say I was almost excited to run??? I stated in my blog last week (Was it just last week???) that my goal for my race is 28 minutes. I decided to be ambitious and set a 25 minute 5k goal for Saturday’s run.

So full of ambition! To run! .... Scary!

I programmed my Nike+, hit my Far East Movement playlist and off I went. At the halfway point I was at 12:49… a little behind what my pace should have been for a 25 minute finish so I tried to pick it up. Sadly on the way back there was a bit of a wind in my face, but I pulled my hood up and tried to keep my pace at least the same as the first half.

Finally the countdown started… 500 m left… 400 m left… 300 m left… 200 m left… I didn’t look at my time, I just kept running. The last 100m i picked up the pace and pushed it. I just wanted the run OVER with.

Final 5k time: 24:58. Ummmm. I’ll take that!

Now I need to rethink my race goal time. I’m thinking 23 minutes. We shall see.

As soon as I got home I got to work in the kitchen! I had this “idea” in my head all week and wanted to try it out. So here goes me pretending to be a food blogger again!

Cook up some veggies.... 1/2 red pepper, 1/2 green pepper, an onion

 

Add in some cooked ground turkey, a ton of taco seasoning and some water and mix it all up

... and then a triple serving of spaghetti squash!

Smoosh into an almost too small baking dish and toss it in the pre-heated oven

I let it bake for about 20 minutes, added some shredded cheese and stuck it under the broiler for another 2 or 3 minutes

Final product! ..... not pretty, but very very tasty. Especially after I added salsa!

After this massive preworkout meal I hit the gym for LEG day. I was trying out a workout Sarah suggested that involved a diagram from her explaining to me how to do one exercise.

Intimidated? I sure was

The leg workout from hell:

  • Leg press. Reps: 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, burnout. Increasing weight
  • Leg extension. 10X3sets, finish with a 3X dropset.
  • Reverse Hack Squat. 4X12
  • Lying DB Hamstring curl (see above!) 4X 10-15
  • Lying hamstring curl. 3X10
  • Stiff Leg Deads. 2 X10
  • Front Squat (added by me). 2X10

Yes. It was a sweaty and grunty and tough workout. I loved it. (And I’m having trouble walking today!)

Sunday morning I was up bright and early and off to a couple of different stores for the bulk of my groceries. It was a GORGEOUS morning so I took the long way to the stores.

Love this time of year!

After all my errands, I had some more pumpkin oats and a bowl of greek yogurt before showering up and heading off to meet a friend for my cheat meal!

Yes! More pumpkin oats!

The details on my cheat meal? Gourmet Burger! I have previously been to Mbrgr which is a similar concept and was VERY excited to try Gourmet burger… mostly due to the website telling me they had spicy mayo and sweet potato fries!

Cosy little shop

I ended up with a medium rare burger with montery jack, bacon, lettuce, carmelized onion and spicey mayo with sweet potato fries… I have zero pictures becuase I was too busy yapping with my friend but trust me, it hit the spot! I will definitly be going back!

After parting ways I headed off to the Jean Talon Market. One of my favorite places ever.

Seasonal fruits, veggies, local fish, beef, eggs... ANYTHING and everything. YUM

I have a mild addiction to spaghetti squash and at almost 2$ a pound in grocery stores right now it’s a bit pricey. So it’s worth the trip to the market for squash at 3 for 5$! yum yum! Addiction sufficiently fed!

After the market it was home for a preworkout meal, and then back downtown to makeup a workout that I will miss tomorrow night for HOCKEY, and then back home after to pop in the first episode of season 5 of Dexter (another addiction of mine!)

MORE pumpkin oats pre-workout! I am addicted!

Wow… I can’t beleive I actually did SO much this weekend. No wonder I’m tired this morning!

Oh... And I also picked up a new coffee up AND painted my nails matte silver!

Do you do anything exciting this weekend? Or do enough relaxing for both of us?!

Comments
  1. you are really fast! I dont think I could imagine running the 5k in that time!

    • ihearteggs says:

      I’m actually a little shocked since I barely did any running or sprints last prep… it was mostly walking on an incline lol I think the cold motivates me. the faster I run, the faster I’m in a hot shower lol

  2. ausaryn says:

    Apparently I’m super spoiled in SW Ontario… spaghetti squash is $1 a squash at the farmers market. So delicious…. I highly recommend to top it with turkey sausage.

    Good job on the run!

  3. Sarah says:

    Far east movement! WOooo! AND a killer leg workout WITH a cool diagram.

    Great weekend 🙂

  4. Fantastic timing on the 5K, Bec! That’s ten minutes faster than my first one I ran…I haven’t really timed myself recently, but I think I’m at 30 mins. 🙂 PS: You look super cute as a runner. Just sayin’. 🙂

  5. Marlo says:

    Your oats and punkin look like refried beans! LOL!

  6. […] … I clearly got over my fear of orange foods. […]

Leave a Reply

