Running Made Me Cry

Posted: November 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

…. In a good way I swear!

First off, yes, blogging on a weekend! While spending some quality time alone in the waiting room of a walk in clinic yeterday I updated my Itunes so now I can tether my phone! How FANCY am I? (clearly not very consideing I don’t have real internet at home!)

8 hours in a waiting room for a 2 minute talk to get a prescription. UGH

I did see these GORGEOUS Jonathan Sanders booties in…. the November 2009 issue of Lou Lou. HOT. WANT. NEED.

Last season booties means I can get them cheap now right???

Anyway… Back to the title of my post. I slept in today. Hardcore. It was delicious. While sitting around eating pancakes and drinking coffee I used my highly vintage itunes playlist on my laptop to update my Ipod. I could list songs, but let’s just say it was hilariously embarassing, think bad man hating country, Canadian rock and high school pop.

With my playlist all sync’d I got dressed and decided my “training run” today would be open ended. Technically I only had 20 minutes of cardio to do, but I said I would set out and see how I felt since it was a¬†beautiful¬†day.

A smile on my face before running?! Shocking!

Side note: Isn’t my slouchy new lululemon running touque cute?!

ANYWAY, off I went, new playlist blasting, sunny skies, no wind. Perfect. I just…. ran. I think I may have sung along to my ipod. I have no shame. Whatever. I passed other runners, runners passed me. It didn’t matter.

When I finally got close to home and hit end workout on the Nike+ I had covered 5miles in 41 minutes with the average pace being 8:17. Definitly not my fastest 5miler, but that wasnt the goal. It was just to RUN. And I did 5 mile EASY. If I wasn’t hungry I could have gone further. The last 1/2 mile of my run a cheesey, girlie pop song came on my ipod and well…. It got me ALL sorts of emotional.

I think we’ve all had that relationship that ended not so smoothly. Hurtful things are said or done and you never really forget it. I was once told I’d never be more than average. I’d never be the person I wanted to be. Exercise would always be a challenge, a struggle. Staying on track would never be easy to me. But you know what, for 41 minutes today it WAS easy, I felt like eveything was falling into place and it felt GOOD. The kind of good that results in this….

Yup, sweat and tears.... HAPPY Tears

No, I didn’t run a crazy distance or a crazy time, but I didn’t have to FORCE myself to do it. I WANTED to run. This isn’t just about the 5 minutes on stage, this is about health and a lifestyle and that’s finally clicking for me. It’s been a long time coming, but I finally feel GOOD about where I am in life.

And on that note, time to dry this mop of hair and head out for my cheat meal. Yum yum. Where and what I don’t know, but I know I can’t wait for it!

Have you ever gotten all sorts of emotional over a GOOD workout?

Comments
  1. I love and live for those type of running moments. When everything clicks and feels right. I cried the first time I broke 9 miles when my previous long distance was only 6 miles. I felt strong. I felt proud. I loved every minute of it. Congrats on experiencing such a positive run.

  2. I had a really run a couple weeks ago and I felt awesome. I started tearing up, because I had finally broken through a plateau. Great Work! I hope your cheat meal was amazing.

  3. lisaou11 says:

    Girl, not to sound bad but you amaze me your speed. I’m shocked your little legs and petite self can carry you that stuff. You’d blow me out of the water!

  4. marlopnwgirl says:

    LOL! im with lisa! You are fast missy!! I dont think i could ever DREAM of running an easy mile at that pace. Let alone 5! Good job!!

    Ps. I tthink i totally have that hat!

  5. I am so happy for you!! I always get emotional after a long run! Maybe you could email me your playlist.. it sounds interesting! You have gorgeous eyes by the way:)

  6. Are my comments going to spam because I never see them after I post them!

  7. […] This is despite telling myself I could run a race¬†, and well… there was the crying incident. […]

Leave a Reply

