Just As Joe Giveth the Carbs…. He Takeths Away?

Posted: November 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

Yup. It’s a cruel harsh world.

Yesterday was all sorts of crazy, mostly when I lack sleep I get forgetful. I mean. REALLY forgetful. I lucked out and remembered halfway to the metro I did not pack a sports bra in my bag so I was able to turn around and run back home for that. Somehow I don’t think I very low cut, t-back tank top would look so great over my bright blue zebra bra…. Nor do I think that bra would have been particularly comfortable for cardio. (But really, I could have just used it as an excuse to NOT do cardio. Damn!)

Regardless… Upon arriving at work and inspecting my lunch bag I noticed something missing… something very very important.

Noooooooo. I want my apple!

Well that sucks. Big time. Although really in the grand scheme of things, NOT an issue, but when you’re tired and cranky forgetting a tasty, tasty part of your lunch kind of stinks. I did some quick rearranging, and checked out what foods I have stashed here around my desk and came up with a couple of baggies of 20g of oats left over from peak week (my meals change constantly that week according to feedback so I always have stuff like this laying around…. Anyway, I digress). I grabbed that and tossed it in with the 40G oats and pumpkin I had already planned on having pre workout.

This is the kind of meal that contest prep dreams are made up of. Carbs, carbs, carbs…. And a random chunk of roast beef on the side. I really need to get groceries. Like. REALLY.

This will be simply a dream in 3 or 4 months time

Despite the way my day was going I managed to leave work and get to the gym without exploding my coffee, stepping in puddles, falling down any stairs, etc etc. I guess you could consider that a win?

I don’t know what it was (the giant spoonful of instant coffee I added to my machine coffee??!) but when I walked into the gym I was ON. I had energy, my 3pm energy slump was over and I was in the mood to kill a workout. On the plan was back and bis.

  • Wide grip pull-ups 4 X as many as possible (with negatives)
  • Wide grip pull downs s/s straight arm press downs 4 X 8-10 (for both)
  • Close grip low row drop sets 4 X 8-10, drop 30 lbs down and rep out
  • High rope pulls 4 X 8-10
  • Reverse grip BB rows 3 X 8 -10
  • EZ Bar curls 4 X 8-10
  • Seated curls 4 X 8-10
  • Cable rope hammer curls 4 X 8-10

Unfortunately attempted reverse grip rows was a bad idea. I think deep down I knew it, but I wanted to give it a shot. After the last set I could feel the tightness and pain in my left forearm. This is something I deal with every time I push a little too hard on exercises that put my wrist in a non-neutral position. My physio said I’ll always have some pain but yeah, after two sets of seated curls I couldn’t take the pain so I called it quits. Great.

Still paying for this... Doesn't 7 weeks in a cast heal everything 100%?!

Frustrating to say the least especially since I was having a GREAT workout to that point. Oh well I guess, I grabbed my phone from my locker for some entertainment and hit the treadmill for some easy cardio and hockey watching.

3-0 Habs! WOO! .... Side note: Isn't Cammalleri manpretty?!

After settling in, seeing a really great goal by Cammalleri and putting on some new music I checked my email on my phone…. There was my checkin response from Joe. While it was positive (it always is, that’s why I ♥ him) he did say what I was kind of secretly hoping to hear, we’re going to drop carbs back down a bit since my weight has been steadily climbing. I’m still comfortably under the 10lb gain I’m “planning” on for this offseason, but the jump last week was a bit much. So much for my giant pumpkin oat bowls….. but hello still fitting in my skinny jeans for another few weeks! (And not doing hours of cardio to make that possible)

I'd like to avoid resorting to baggy sweats everyday to hide my expanding behind

On that note I knocked out 30 minutes of power walking on an incline and hit the road. As previously stated I needed groceries. Bad. Am I the only one who absolutely hates when you get to the store and they have NOTHING you need? NOTHING?! Okay. Maybe I’m exaggerating, they did have my spaghetti squash, but no almond milk, no sandwich thins, no greek yogurt… Yeah, you get my drift.

Confession time.

I have an irrational fear of running out of eggs. So much so that if I have less than four dozen (yes, DOZEN) eggs in my fridge I consider myself in the “out of eggs, life is crap, go on without me” stage. I knew I only had TWO dozen eggs at home so I grabbed…. Four more dozen. What?! They were on sale! I couldn’t help myself! It’s not like I won’t eat them!

Ahhh... All is now right in the world

Also, since the store was out of sandwich thins I had to make a switch since this store doesn’t carry Ezekiel bread either. I ended up with some whole wheat English muffins. I haven’t had one in forever and couldn’t even remember if I was a fan or not.

So boring... but so tasty!

So I toasted one up for breakfast this morning and it was a win! I really just think you can’t go wrong with a bread product. You may also notice the spray butter/cinnamon combo on the top half of my sandwich. Does it make a taste difference? Honestly? Not really, but it makes me feel fancy using spices at 6:30 in the morning.

To finish it up today a couple people have asked for my running playlist from the weekend. It’s way too long to list everything (and embarrassing), so here’s ten of the best that I was rocking out to on my 5mile run this weekend:

  1. Thrash Unreal, Against Me
  2. In Day Club, 50 cent
  3. Whiskey Girl, Toby Keith
  4. Get Over Yourself, Eden’s Crush
  5. There’s More to Me Than You, Jessica Andrews
  6. Vindicated, Dashboard Confessional
  7. Lose My Breath, Destiny’s Child
  8. Almost Easy, Avenged Sevenfold
  9. Work It (Remixed) Nelly and JT
  10. Session One, Eminem

Yeahhhhhhhhh. Told you. Random. I’d also like to Thank miss Lisa for hooking me up with the new GirlTalk! Album yesterday. HUGE fan, I highly suggest them to anyone who ever does cardio… like ever.

What’s the most random song on your playlist?

Do you have any irrational food fears like my egg habit?

Comments
  1. mindymac says:

    Hi! I really like your blog! I am on the Oxygen forum and this is the type of journal I’d lurk in. Can you post how much weight you are using in your workouts? I’m not sure if you already did, but can you share your pumpkin oatmeal recipe? It looks so perfect for November breakfasts. Oh yeah, by the way, you look awesome. Keep it up!
    xo
    Mindy@FindingSilverLinings
    http://fisilis.wordpress.com

    • ihearteggs says:

      Hey Mindy! I actually used to have a journal on O2 but slowly decided to make the switch to a blog. 🙂

      I’ll post some of my weights next time around for you! And the pumpkin oats is really just oats cooked with cinnamon in water, i add in a bit of almond milk, 1/2c pumpkin, mix it all up and enjoy!

  2. Tenecia says:

    The most random song on my playlist is “What Hurts the Most” by Rascal Flatts! On a playlist of P!nk, Linkin Park, Tupac, Jay-Z, Metallica, Kanye West, and the Black Eyed Peas….Rascal Flatts just seem to be out of place 🙂

    T.

  3. I would be pissed if I had forgotten my apple…I am so dramatic like that! Good for you to go back and get your sports bra!! That is a lot of eggs and your egg sandwich looks so good. Thanks for the playlist I love it. You are looking great:)

  4. Oh Beccs, only you would be “secretly” happy that your carbs were reduced haha!

    • ihearteggs says:

      LOL Lisa! Seriously, when he bumped them up last week I think I actually muttered a few choice words under my breath, I feel STUFFED alot of times! it’s a weird feeling! haha

  5. When I get tired (like yesterday) all I crave are carbs as well!

    I think I have an irrational fear with pancakes. My blog should be named-I’m creepily obsessed with them and every flavor. I always have a fear I won’t be able to make them or they will turn out badly…

  6. marlopnwgirl says:

    I get angry when the store doesnt have stuff too.. Wouldnt be surprised if i cursed horrible words in my head when they dont have it. Luckily the US is getting on the greek yogurt band wagon and we have like 6 different brands in every store!! So thats never an issue anymore..

    Irrational fear.. Huh..dont know that i do..

  7. Mallory says:

    Haha you’re wicked funny! Love your blog!!

  8. hahah you are too funny! i have a fear of running out of peanut butter and oatmeal so I ALWAYS have back ups in my cabinet ( i may or may not also have a container of oatmeal in my car ya know ‘just in case’…)

    lose my breath by destinys child is AWESOME! love it!

  9. thanks for sharing your workout tunes! for running, i mostly listen to cheese. there’s just something about the two that go hand-in-hand, no? 🙂

    oh – and my fear is running out of cereal and milk.:p

  10. Hannah says:

    Oh my heavens, I’m the opposite! I almost *never* have eggs in my house, which is why so many of my baked goods end up vegan because I have to use flax eggs 😀 BUT I feel freaked out if I have less than 15 blocks of chocolate in my room. so I do understand where you’re coming from 😉

  11. Lisa says:

    Okay, I have tried and tried to download that album but no luck. LOVE that music. Of course it’s not on itunes. HELP ME!!! =)

Leave a Reply

