WHY IS IT RAINING….. Oh, and New Goals.

Posted: December 1, 2010 in Uncategorized
In DECEMBER!??!? Seriously Mother Nature, a little less rain, a lot more SNOW please and thank you. Ten degrees in December is wrong, unnatural and unproductive to snowmaking. Got it!?

Rainfall warning and an advertisement for winter driving.... ummm.... ?

Thank you to everyone for your advice, suggestions and imput on sneaks yesterday! I’ve got a few in mind (namely Asics and Nike Pegasus) but I will be heading to Westmount to hit up the Running Room to try out some shoooooz and possibly may make the trek to the west and check out the Nike store too. We shall see, we shall!

To the lovely (new) commenter who suggested the Asics noosa tri 6’s… Umm… You KNOW me. When I say loud, I mean LOUD… and well… These things are screaming my name….. and not available yet. BOO!

Becca Hearts These Babies

So…. December 1st. Rent check is dropped off, metro pass renewed, Christmas shopping almost done… I think if it wasnt for the rain I’d be a little more ho ho ho, but what can you do? (besides curse Mother Nature…. evil, evil woman!)

I'm impatient and I don't care, I wanna go boarding NOW

Anyway, I digress from my original plan. (shocker, I know I know…). I hope this next big blob makes sense, I’m going to try and get my point across and explain the next 24 days… Yes, there is 24 days until I kiss the fritz goodbye and head off to the ariport. Eeks!

It’s obviously no secret I was the ah… fat kid. There’s no way to sugar coat it. I’ve had my ups and downs, both mentally AND physically. I often feel like a freak becuase well, I love competing, but I do it becuase I think it’s fun. I don’t do it with my only goal as a pro card (hey, it would be nice, I wont lie), I do it becuase I love how I feel when I’m working towards a goal, I love the training, I love planning meals, I even like (… tolerate) the cardio. I won’t lie, agreeing to run a 5 mile race and being able to get up the day after a show, run 5miles at a good pace and say “yup, I can do this, no crazy training needed” was a GREAT feeling.

Times have clearly changed

Ever since my last show I’ve been focused on building, getting bigger, stronger, pushing my limits…. But I did not want to gain more than 10lbs. This was not a number given to me by Joe or anyone else. It was only in my head. In fact, Joe and I never discussed numbers, plans, anything more than adding back in food, getting my metabolism going and seeing what changes we could make.

After several emails back and forth this week and alot of thinking on my part, mostly the latter, there is a new plan in town and I’m actually really excited for it. I don’t want to discuss/focus on or make a huge deal out of numbers. I am still within ten pounds of my stage weight, but…. I was never lean enough. That is a known fact and my biggest goal for next season is to come in leaner.

Mission: Leanerrrrrrr

While I think it would be GREAT to have a crap load more size and fullness, I think my main problem is not even know what’s there to start with. Why gain another 10-20 lbs in the offseason when I know I need to come in 10lbs leaner next season which leaves me at ANOTHER 30 lbs loss to pull off?

Ummm… That just gives me flash backs of double cardio and long ass days. No thank you. No thank you one bit.

Saturday was cardio, bootcamp, cardio... ummmm. I like sleeping in thanks.

Where was I going with this again…? Ugh.

Okay, so the plan. After talking with Joe, we agreed on a number range we’d like to hit by the end of the year, and a short term goal (for this week/next week) which will be my weight cap to stay under. This is actually not that far off my original plan, but I liked hearing it from a higher power, not just my brain ya know?

So yesterday marked day 1 of 25. I’m hoping to hit my maintenance range by the 24th when I leave for home and that way I’ll have 3-4 to play with on vacation, not to go crazy, but to be comfortable.

I really plan on just eating a ton of lobster instead of cookies anyway

To hit my range I’ve got 5 lbs to go. Not bad? In 3 1/2 weeks? Welllll….. that could be a bit tricky.

The plan:

  • One “long” run per week, about 45-60 minutes
  • Two 30-45 minute cardio sessions, half intervals, half steady state
  • Workouts as per plan
  • No unplanned weekends where I just play it by ear.
  • Keeping it to ONE reasonable cheat meal per week
  • No booze

And the biggest TWO.

  • No pregaming dinner with cookies. No matter how tasty, chewy, delicious they are.
  • No negative self talk

Okay, no cookie dough either.

So there you have it. Yesterday was day numero uno in the books.

Workout- shoulders:

  • DB shoulder press 4 x 10-12
  • Upright row s/s db lateral raise 4 x 8-10
  • Bent over cable raise 4 x 8-10
  • BB front raise 3 X 10
  • Hammer strength shoulder press 3 X10

Cardio: 20 minutes upright bike intervals, 15 minutes steady state. (this was great… but painful, there wasnt even a crappy hockey game like Toronto on… RDS was playing a katate tournament?! WTF?!)

Hockey > men in pjs

Oh, and I’m also partaking in Lisa’s 20 salads in December challenge. This is scary, but I can do it!

So there you have it. My plan, my goals, my blah blah blah. One last thing to round it out though….

.... except about the weather. &^$%&^%& Rain

Any big goals for YOU this holiday season?

Comments
  1. Those shoes are freakin sweet!!!

  2. Aneta says:

    hey! cool blog!
    new reader over here. thnx for stopping by my blog!
    another canadian blogger, yay!!

  3. Tenecia says:

    If I see those shoes in the store, I may be forced to buy a pair 🙂

    T.

  4. I’d like to get back into running regularly. I am sort-of contemplating doing the Resolution Run with a friend (it’s at 6 pm on New Year’s Eve, and comes with a sweet running jacket). Not totally decided on that one, but any kind of regular running would be cool.

    • ihearteggs says:

      The Resolution 5K is actually my next race! 🙂 As my sister in law said, we may be dragging our wine and cookie hangovers across the finish line, but at least we get a jacket out of it! ahaha

  5. The Asic Noosa Tri 6’s are pretty darn sharp. May need to try them when they’re available.

  6. marlopnwgirl says:

    I agree! No negitive self talk! You need to keep the positive vibes going!!! You can do it!

  7. Your body is rocking…holy cow woman!! I love the no negative self talk..so important. Good luck with your goals, you are so dedicated I know you will achieve them. My biggest goal this month is to get my knee better!
    Why no cake on your birthday, was it because of training? I am all about celebrating my birthday for as long as possible.

  8. mindymac says:

    You’ve come such a long way! Soooo inspiring. I want to get a peek at what your leaning out diet looks like! How tall are you? Just curious. Those girls on stage look super tall. Making me super jealous. I’m 5’2″. Awesome post. Thanks!
    xo
    Mindy
    http://fisilis.wordpress.com

  9. runrettarun says:

    Those sneaks are adorable. Though I’m not a fan of Asics, I could get down w/ those!

    Leaner or not, your bod is rockin’! Your haircut is so cute. 🙂

  10. jen says:

    Shoes= Awesome!!!

    Good luck with your december goals 🙂

    jen

  11. Love the shoes! And your motivation! But brrr those are some cold temps. It’s like 50 degrees here in VA!

  12. 5 lbs! easy scheemzy!

    Hey, you should add BEANS to your salad. Try chickpeas! yum!

  13. No booze for the month of Dec? Well wine isn’t booze so that must be okay 😉

  14. lisa says:

    I love your blog Becca.

    It’s one of my favourites. Lovin all the pics!!

  15. I think your goals are great! I love the “no negative self talk” rule! And I really agree that a change in the no-planning at all weekends will help! It did for me! Oh and let me know if you like the Nike Pegasus sneaks!

  16. Allie says:

    Sounds like a solid plan 🙂 best of luck to you! I can’t wait to hit the slopes too! Canada is making Pittsburgh seem warm haha I thought 23 degrees was cold 😡

  17. Kelsey says:

    im not a fan of pink but id totally love to see those shoes in person and try them on and possibly get a pair. i mean theyre pretty killer huh!
    woohoo another fan of the weather network app on the computer! haha, its pretty fun waking up and turning on the computer, then having it pop up and be a personal weather man 😉

    soon enough u’ll be hitting the slopes..hang in there ❤

Leave a Reply

