1000% Inaccuracy

Posted: December 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

Yeahhhhhhhh. This week we were supposed to get “flurries”… which in simple terms means maybe 1-2cm of snow that really wont count for anything. Environment Canada has now admitted to “underforcasting” our first snowfall…. but oh, about 1000%.

Bad.Ass.

I am 95% sure I’m heading just past Quebec City on Sunday to hit up Mont St Anne’s for my first trip of the season!!!!!!!!!!

The scene I may see this weekend?!

I’m going to check their website before committing to a ticket (I go with a company called express ski since I dont have a car.) This mountain was my first of VERY few trips last year and it was a good place to start off so I’m hoping it’ll be the same this year!

Fritz also seemed pretty intrigued by the white stuff this morning which was really weird for him. Usually he hides out or goes back to bed when I get up and start bashing around getting ready in the mornings.

I think he needs a sign that says "wide load" on that behind

I rarely get alot of snow on my balcony, but there was an inch or two this am and I was seriously tempted to toss him out in it for a laugh… but I worry he may suffocate me in my sleep.

Fritzy's single snow experiance.... he was back inside huddling like a baby in 5 seconds flat

In other news, yesterday was a bust. To say I was exhausted would have been the understatement of the century. I fell asleep on the bus, the metro (AFTER downing a rockstar….)…. I walked up to my gym, wanted to cry, so I turned around, got back on the metro and was home on my couch in 25 minutes. I had a nap, watched some How I Met Your Mother and did NOTHING.

I feel 1000% better today (and that’s not an underestimation at all)

I DID get mail yesterday! … and no, not the usual

The usual: Junk mail and bills

Yes… That’s coffee spilt all over my cell bill. I was a slob this morning and I don’t care who knows it!

I got a really nice surprise instead!

A specially bought Christmas card for me!!

I usually get Christmas cards from a few friends who only have my Montreal address… but the family christmas cards usually go to my parents house and are address to them “and rebecca”. My brother isnt included anymore since he’s you know, a grown up, married and has his own family and all that.

So color me surprised to see a Christmas card from my aunt and uncle! Addresssed to JUST me. Sent to MY address. I feel like such an adult!

... Clearly I'm NOT an adult mentally though

Just to prove how 12-year old girl-like I am, here’s a pic I snapped on my way to work this morning. I was AMAZED that I was THIS.CLOSE to a squirrel. That’s not zoom people, that’s iphone real time!

Okay, lame-ness over.

In other news, after my checkin with Joe we switched things up, we pulled back carbs a touch, but added in a higher day mid week and we’re keeping my cheat meal on weekends. This should hopefully get things moving and help me hit my target to have a bit of a cushion of the holidays (his words, not mine). I dont mind the drop and still feel great, so I cant complain! (it’s only 2 1/2 weeks anyway!)

I uploaded ALL my pics from my digital camera today looking for my fritz in snow picture and was shocked (okay, not really) of all the snowboarding pics I had on there… so today I leave you with a simple snow picture… from the GREATEST BLIZZARD EVER. The drifts were taller than me… I was literally SNOWED IN my bf at the time’s house (not the best time since we weren’t talking Oops! lol).

My DREAM

That was four years ago… the year I started boarding. We had So.Much.Snow…. Sadly by the time we got this dumping my season was over due to my busted wrist… but happily that meant I was inside sipping hot chocolate and baking cookies while everyone else shoveled. WIN.

Do you ever take a day off when it’s not planned just BECAUSE?

What’s your faovirte TV show? I’m looking for new series to rent!

Comments
  1. Impromptu rest days can be just what the doctor ordered sometimes! Kudos to you for listening to your body! 😀

  2. Kirstie says:

    Sometimes a day off is just what the doctor ordered (or yourself as the case may be). Enjoy the snow. Our weather forecasters here in Ohio also missed the mark….by a lot. It has been snowing since Saturday night and hasn’t stopped. I think its finally tapering off now though. Almost 5 days straight! I’m not complaining, I love it. I just don’t enjoy the 2 hour car rides to work due to the white stuff though.

    As far as TV goes, hubby and I really don’t watch new TV shows anymore. I can’t get into them. Bring back the sitcoms of the 80’s and 90’s and I will be there but not this new stuff. I have watched EVERY episode of Everyone Loves Raymond at least 1 bazillon times (not exaggerating, ask my hubby).

  3. Lucky you have plenty of snow. Still none on this end. 😦

    Two of my fav shows: Dexter and The Walking Dead.

  4. mindymac says:

    LOL! I like the squirrel pic! I am also a five year old trapped inn a twenty eight year olds body. I’ve never been skiing in Canada. The kitty snowangel is cute = )
    xo
    Mindy

  5. I think your cat and I are both big babies hehe. I spilled coffee all over my homework a semester back…now I have that teacher for two classes and she often writes on my paper some sort of snide joke about it ha.

  6. Jess says:

    I take rest days all the time just because! And I love 30 rock and Private Practice.

  7. Megan says:

    The series Friday Nigh Lights is amazing. I know guys that love it more than girls do, so it’s great for couples to watch together!!

  8. omg! That weather is frightful and I get cold just looking at it! I love taking random days off! I think we all need mental health days to get back in the game for work or school!

  9. tricia says:

    totally lovin the squirrel pic

  10. Genie says:

    Yay for turning around and going home yesterday! Sometimes that is exactly what you need! HOORAY FOR LISTENING!!! 🙂

    Totally feel ya on the 12 year old girl thing (that just sounds wrong, LOL).

    HAPPY WEDNESDAY! 🙂

  11. kathleen says:

    I sometimes wish I was a weatherman. It has to be the only job where you can get it wrong every time and still have job security.

  12. Weather has been cray cray here too, so I can totally relate. It makes you want to laugh and cry at the same time.

    I’m not a big TV watcher, but I love movies! Away We Go is a must watch.

  13. jen says:

    Good job listening to your body and getting some much needed rest! Yay on the Christmas card! I’m such a slacker and don’t send them out, but it’s fun to get them 🙂

    I watch so many TV shows on Netflix, I love it! In my queue right now: Mad Men, True Blood, 90210, Gossip Girl, One Tree Hill.

    Jen

  14. marlopnwgirl says:

    Im so glad you listened to yourself and gave yourself a rest day.. its often a slippery slop if you dont listen and rest.. eventually you wouldve caved and broken down. But its nice when you just give yourself a break anyways!! YAY!!!

    Love all the snow talk! I want more!!

Leave a Reply

