When Is It My Turn?

Posted: December 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

As I mentioned yesterday was Pajama Day at work. Totally random, but whatever. I was comfy in my Pink BF sweats…. And I’m not talking my new ones, I was busting out in my very first pair which are old as dirt and beyond comfy. No shame people, no shame!

If I could dress like this everyday I sooooo would

After work I headed off to attempt to get my new runners. We’re given a gift card for a high end mall every year from work and I was hoping one of the two sports stores there would have something. Ummm…. Foot Locker was just LAME, they had nothing but converse and those damn Reebok toning shoes! WTF?! And Sports Experts? Ummmm… The cheapest pair were 129.99… the only ones I liked were 159.99. Not gonna happen. I’ll hit up the sales after Christmas at a different (non-rich-hood) mall.

So I did what any responsible girl would do.

Pls ignore my rolled up sweats/pasty white knee look going on

I’ve been DYING for just over the knee black leather boots forever…. BUT after trying on 8375678234568 pairs I’ve truly accepted that my legs are WAY too short to pull the look off without looking like ass, so when I tried these on and fell in love I got them! I still have cash left over, but despite trying my damnedest I couldn’t find anything else to buy so I grabbed a coffee and headed to the gym.

It was super late when I finally got there (just after EIGHT!) so I was set on getting the job done.

  • Wide grip pull-ups
  • Wide grip lat pulldowns s/s straight arm press downs
  • Close grip cable row
  • Bent over bb row
  • High cable rope pull

Cardio was 30 minutes decently hard on the bike. I was happy it was done.

Time for me to throw a pity party, table for one… so if you don’t feel like listening to me be a Debbie downer, click next.

I know I don’t really put my personal/dating life out here on the blog, but I think you’ve caught on by now I’m single. And have been for some time. My last relationship ended at the end of May, and well, it did not end well. Live, learn and move on I say.

After that I dated a bit here and there, but really didn’t put much effort into it because well, I was in prep and had other things to occupy my time. Now that it’s offseason I’m not “searching” but I’m not avoiding dating like I had been. Anyway, long story short I’m sick of it. Very very very sick of it.

I’m so sick and tired of hearing “how are you single?! You’re so great!” and feeling absolutely nothing…

I’m sick of hearing how guys want someone “different” than the typical Montreal party girl yet when they find someone “different” it turns out that’s not what they want at all.

I’m sick of the attitude I get for not wanting to get plastered on a first date (or second.. or third…)

I know I know… “somewhere out there” is the “right guy” for me. Yes, it’s all in quotations because who even knows if that person is out there. I’m almost 27 years old and haven’t had a successful relationship in well… a VERY long time. I’m tired of it. EVERYONE now is getting engaged and married, starting families, getting the white picket fence.

 When is it MY turn?

Do I want to get married this second? No. Do I want kids right now? No. Do I want kids ever? I don’t even know. But you know, I’d like for it to at least be an option. (and not in the JLo, backup plan movie type way). It’s kind of hard for that to be an option when I can’t even tolerate a guy past the first 10 minutes of a date. Newsflash, asking me if I’m a prude, talking about buying your ex lingerie and telling me lifting weights will make me big and bulky is not the best way to start off a first date. Kthxbai dude.

As much as I’m looking forward to going home, I’m NOT looking forward to the usual “so why are you single? When are you going to bring a boyfriend home? Why don’t you have a ring on that finger yet?” topics of conversation that always come up. I hate how I get a lot of “but you lost weight, you should have no issues finding a man”

Why is it that we’re trained to think that you lose the weight suddenly your life will be perfect? Because it doesn’t work that way. I always got the stupid “… but you have such a pretty face” comments, and now I apparently have the rest of it to go along with that, but still… now I’m “just the pretty girl”, no one expects me to have an opinion or a personality because of how I look? How is that right?!

Okay… I’m rambling and ranting so I shall shut my yap now… but it actually feels good to blah blah blah that all out there.

Oh, and if anyone knows any fantastic guys who like to eat healthy, workout, don’t party and are single (they never are….. ) in my hood, hook it up! Ha ha… I’m only slightly kidding.

… But I guess until then I’ll stick with being the crazy cat lady. At least fritz doesn’t leave the seat up or eat my cookies.

He only hides from me sometimes... I swear he really DOES love me

Are you single? If not, how did you meet your significant other?

Comments
  1. I am not single, but I could be soon. You know how I met Sean. You are a great girl, and maybe you need to move to the states to get away from all those douchey weird Canadians. 🙂 jk. but seriously, move closer!

  2. I understand completely and you are a beautiful girl. There just hasn’t been someone who is right for you yet. You will find someone who is at least educated about strength training. 😛

  3. What’s funny is I met my current boyfriend at a weight higher than I’d been in a long time. He loves me regardless. I’ve been through some sh!t relationships to get to this one. The dating game suuuuuucks, for real. You rock though, and everything happens for a reason. You being single now serves some purpose in your life that wouldn’t be served by having a mate. I know, my advice sucks.

  4. Tenecia says:

    Oh Becca! Your turn will come! I promise! But in the meantime, pimp some hoes hottie! (as I tell my single friends lol) I think it’s great that at least you know what you want and you’re not going to compromise that just because you want to be with someone.

    As you know, I’m not single. I met my husband 10 years ago when he was a student in a summer program and I worked in the dorm he was staying in. He walked by sporting nothing but a towel and I thought, “Hmm…I think he can occupy my free time this summer!”….10 years, 1 fabulous wedding, 2 kids, 3 dogs, 6 fish later, he’s still occupying my time 🙂

    T.

  5. CUTE boots. I would love a PJ day at work!!! I met my hubby very randomly via my sister’s then boyfriend. I was soooo not ever dating another Jason LOL – 15.5 years later….never say never.

  6. I met my husband in high school and we’ve been together for over 15 years.
    Good luck on the matchmaking!!!
    Merry Christmas 🙂

  7. I’ve always happened on love when I wasn’t looking for it – by just doing the things I like & living life. I’ve NEVER been into partying or drinking so the bar & club scene were out.

    I know it sounds cliche but it’ll happen when you’re not expecting it. There’s someone in this big world for everyone.

  8. OOo love the boots!

    I met my husband first week of grad school.

    My advice is to enjoy being single!

  9. marlopnwgirl says:

    Great post Becs.. I love you to pieces!! And your guy is out there.. I know theres one out there for me too.. And i strongly believe he will make my heart sing, and adore me in every way and love the things i do to!

  10. runrettarun says:

    Your boots are adorbs! I love over the knee boots too but like you, I’m a shortie! It’s hard to find pants. You will meet Mr. Right some day but I suggest having fun w/ the Mr. Right Nows. 😛

    I am married and have been for 7.5 years. I wasn’t looking for love but got set up on a blind date. And here we are!

  11. allieksmith says:

    Wow your pj’s look sooo comfy! Wooo 🙂 Love the boots as well. You are right about losing weight not making your life perfect, I hate when people think that! My big brother is 22. . . 😉 😉

  12. I understand how you feel. I met my now husband when I was 26. It was very hard to see all they pitying looks at how there was no boyfriend. I met my husband on eharmony.com. Believe it or not, even though I was registered on the site, I still wasn’t focused on dating. My husband and I emailed for a couple of months before I wanted to meet him. It will happen. But when you are with someone, all you hear is “when are you getting married?”. And when you get married, all you hear is “when are you having kids?”. It’s like people can never be satisfied with your circumstances as they are now, in the moment. And they expect you to be the same way. It’s important to try to be happy with your present circumstances, as hard as that may be sometimes.

  13. 1st of all, those boots are killer!!! Loves them!

    2ndly, I think you are way more than a (very) pretty face. You are hysterical! I look forward to reading your posts every day.

    3rdTell whoever you are single because you won’t settle for scraps. You deserve the best, girl. Some of the best & craziest times in my life were when I was single. Enjoy it. You have your whole life to “settle down”.

    xo
    Mindy

  14. Heather says:

    Oh girl, I was SO where you are.. I just got married (in Feb) at 38 but met my hubby a bit over 4 years ago…online!!! He actually graduated with my BFF & we’d have never met otherwise. My Mom used to tell me I was too picky but Kevin was everything that I’d wanted in a man. Now all that mush aside, I say enjoy life until “he” comes around. I was all about my Carrie Bradshaw (okay, maybe Samantha-ish) life until he came along.

    It’ll happen, just enjoy what you have until it does!

    Merry Christmas!!!

  15. Jen says:

    The right guy is out there for you, and you’ll find him 🙂 I think you rock if it makes you feel any better!

    Jen

  16. Dotsie says:

    Fritz is so darn cute! Love the pic!!

    I feel the same way- even though I have a boyfriend… Lol will explain, just not from my iPhone 😉

  17. Lisa says:

    I’m going to repeat what everyone else said, there IS someone out there for you and honestly, it will happen when you least expect it. Don’t rush it. Enjoy your life right now, you are still so young.

    I rushed into a crappy marriage at 21 and divorced at 27. Then remarried (this time to the RIGHT guy!) at 28. I met my now hubby at work. I chased him for years. Literally. Oh, and I was still married at the time. Yea, bad girl that I was. I knew he was who I wanted to be with. I finally got him and am NEVER giving him up =)

Leave a Reply

