I Swear I Didn’t Die….

Posted: January 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

….. I just thought I was going to there for a few days!

Let’s just say my vacation didn’t go exactly as planned. Christmas was great, my flight was great and once I stop being so lazy I will upload photos and do the whole recap thing, but I wanted to get back to blogging and well, this is the easy way to do it since there is no photos.

Monday I went boxing day shopping with my brother, gillian and Griffin. We had lunch and then I headed home for a nap before Gillian picked me up and I went to her Monday night boxing class with her.

LOVED it. It was a great class even though I clearly had NO Idea what I was doing! When I got home I had a small bowl of fro-yo and felt a bit queasy… I assumed I had too much dairy and curled up on the couch to sleep.

Well…. so began 24 hours of the flu. As much as I love to overshare, I wont. It wasnt pretty. I woke up feeling much better on wednesday, but still like a total slug. No appetite, no energy. Just LAME.

Why cant I lose my appetite during prep?! ahahaha

Anyway, I laid around and Wednesday night we went out for my parents christmas gift… the big secret, I arranged to have a new family photo taken. I think it was a hit and hope I didnt look too much like death!!!

Thursday was a bit better, but I had zero focus. I had lunch with a friend and couldnt even finish half (um… that’s clearly not like me!!!). I had packed my gym bag, i had brought clothes to return. I did nothing. After lunch I dropped her off, drove to the mall and didnt even car out of the car. i went home and right back to bed. I felt like a ZOMBIE.

Friday I woke up feeling a bit better, I headed in town way too early (before SEVEN!!!) to have breakfast with my dad (and the mayor… yeah, I’m kind of a big deal ahahah um no), I hit the gym for a full upper body workout that felt AMAZING and did some last minute errands.

After a short nap I got myself ready and it was run time (shoot me now)

Ummm... I look a hot mess here

It was very relaxed and easy, no chips, no clock, no nothing. It was warm outside, a couple of degrees above zero and I was definitly over dressed. Ugh!!!

I told myself the faster I ran, the faster I would be done. I was sucking wind back with my bum lungs, but I kept repeating Jenae’s saying over and over in my head “it’s not nice to count people as you pass them…. out loud”.

Why did they put the start/finish at the top of a hill?!?!

I used my nike+ and I finished in around 26 minutes…. clearly not my usual self, but it was a nice start to my night. Gillian finished just after me making her totally cool becuase while I was still not feeling great from the flu, she ALSO had the flu, plus all the fun that comes with the big news in their family.

…. That’s right. Next Christmas I’ll have another baby to compete with for the baby of the family. I’ll need to bring my A-game!

It's overrrrrrrr. where's my wine?!

After the race I headed home to shower before going to the Seadogs game with my parents and off for a night with the girls. Was definitly great!

Anyway! There is my race recap…. I’ve got some big things coming up in the next week, some big decisions were made after some long conversations and I’m excited for whats to come!

But for now…. I need to get off the couch and get myself moving… Step one in the new year, make more mistakes. Today may mark mistake one, but I’m ready for it.

And with that, I leave you with my New Years Resolution…. Happy new year, merry b-lated christmas and I’ll catch you all from the big city tomorrow!

Hey... everyone's gotta have one!

Comments
  1. Awe that sucks! Good job on the race tho! Happy belated Christmas and New Years 🙂

  2. allieksmith says:

    Happy New Year!!! Glad you are feeling better 🙂 🙂 I think you did good on the race !

  3. Dotsie says:

    Glad you’re feeling better! Sorry you were so sick though :-/

    Happy New Year!

  4. Welcome back, and glad you’re feeling better!! Happy new year!

  5. Jess says:

    good that you’re feeling better! we missed you:)

  6. I just posted for the first time in like a week too. No worries girl! Congrats on the frigid run! I’d be suckin wind with these asthmatic lungs of mine! Good work.
    xo
    Mindy

  7. Lisa says:

    Of COURSE you get sick on vacation, right? Jeez! I had it twice in two weeks, it sucks. I’m glad you’re feeling better and getting back into the swing of things!

  8. Jen says:

    Welcome back 🙂

    Jen

  9. marlopnwgirl says:

    Cant wait to here whats to come!!

Leave a Reply

