And the Award For Biggest Gym Jerk Goes To….

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

So no confirmation on my plan of attack…. BUT the dates for the shows I was waiting for were confirmed so things are looking pretty solid. Eek! Shit’s gonna get real fast! But hey, I’m excited!

 …. Except for one tiny detail. I may be crazy and totally making this up, but I’m 95% sure I need to have a… routine. Yes, I frickin ROUTINE.

My photographer at my last show was a little slow on capturing my t-walk

But no, in FCPAQ there is a short routine. I’ve been referring it to the t-walk on steroids. For my t-walk I had a very very solid idea of exactly the poses I was going to bust out, BUT depending on time the twalk is often shortened or condensed so you have to be flexible… not so much with this routine.

So once the decision is finalized I will 100% be throwing out song ideas for suggestions because I can’t decide this on my own. And I will pay my posing coach (the fantastic Sylvia Tremblay) to come up with the actual routine to go along with the song. Eeks. Lots to think about!

… At least they eliminated that hideous black pre-judging suit/stiletto combo. That was just not a good look. AND no one pc suit round. Yay for saving money!

That just means I can get a NEW blinged out suit right?! Right?!

... or I could just keep adding to my first suit... but where's the fun in that?!

Oh and posing classes… I’m oddly excited for those to start even if I’m kind of sort of mega fluffy right now and the thought of being half naked in public does not really appeal to me, but I’ll deal with that when the time comes!

ANYWAY!

I was exhausted yesterday. Like fall asleep at my desk tired. This wacked out sleep schedule (or lack of sleep schedule) is getting to me. I need to stop staying up so late! So to counter act this I went home after work. That’s right, didn’t go to the gym, didn’t do my errands. Go directly to the couch, do not collect 200$. 

I got my cuddle on

I set an alarm knowing I wouldn’t nap, but just in case and curled up and dosed while watching 90210. Around 7 I finally got up and made myself some food… and downed three lindt pb chocolate truffles. So much for two perfect macro days in a row. Ugh.

Lesson of the day: When guzzling the last bit of preworkout coffee be sure you grab the still warm tasty preworkout coffee cup…. Not the cup containing the nast leftover breakfast coffee. Blech. Not impressed.

Morning coffee vs pre-workout coffee.... one nast... one delish... which will YOU choose?!

It was leg/cardio day and I planned it so I’d be starting cardio right at the beginning of the third period of the gold medal game (don’t even get me started on the outcome &^%&&… at least we still totally spanked the US. We go home with Silver, they go home with their shame and embarrassment)

  • Deep squats 3 X 5, 2 X8-10
  • Stiff legged deads 3 X 5, 2 X8-10
  • Reverse hack squat 3 x 6-8
  • Seated leg curls 3 x 6-8
  • Leg ext 3 X 6-8
  • Standing calf raises 5 x 15 (various foot positions)

Cardio was 35 minutes of oddly intense/good bike… I was beyond into the game and I think my frustrations were expressed in badass cardio. Hey, I’ll take what I can get.

Enter gym douchebag of the century award winner:

“So I see you checking me out… I bet you want some tips, I see you’re doing a lot of things wrong, I can help you out honey”

A)     Do not call me honey

B)      I was “checking you out” because you were hogging BOTH squat racks (one for wimpy sad and pathetic squats and one for bicep curls), the hack squat machine AND had a bb and dumbbells laying around and would not share. Also you were grunting and making odd sounds.

C)      Oh. And you smell. Really bad

I just raised my eyebrows. I was kind of curious where this was going to go. (I swear it was looking like a train wreck I couldn’t turn away from)

“You’re supposed to put your heels on weight plates while you do squats, it’s not putting your toes on plates while doing deadlifts like you are. You’re going to hurt yourself”

I put my toes on plates while doing deads to work a different muscle group that is a trouble spot for me. What else have you got mr smarty pants.

“When you use the hack squat you’re supposed to face forward, it will me really good for your booty, like real good”

Again, working different muscles. Do you seriously have a point or can I walk away now?

“Be careful when you do squats, you’re going awfully heavy FOR A GIRL and you don’t want to get big bulky legs, it’s not what you want is it?”

 …. Actually….

But yeah. I put my headphones in and walked away at this point. I was ready to slap a bitch.

Stupid people make me want to hide behind the squat rack and scare the bejezus out of them

I love my gym, I love my gym, I love my gym.

Soon enough I'll be back to late night empty gym workouts... soon enough

Do you ever have people offer “advice” in the gym to you? Anything completely redic?!

Comments
  1. Jess says:

    Haha wow- why can’t people mind their own business?

  2. Oh for goodness sake girl. You just need to get in there and show them how its done. I am sure that douche won’t be competing and WINNING like you!

  3. Jen says:

    LMAO! What a douche bag!!!!!

    Jen

  4. Eff that guy, geez!! Maybe its because I’m a big girl, but when I used to do shit tons of weight on the leg press, people would gather round and ooo and ahhh. Then again, it was a small gym in a sheltered part of town, lol 🙂

  5. I WILL be going to beat up that stupid man….grrr he makes me mad!!
    LOVE the blinged out suit, so so so adorable. Girl, you are a huge inspiration to me to start weight training.

  6. Wow. That guy at the gym was ridiculous.

  7. I just peed my pants laughing at your story. It was exactly what I needed at this point.

  8. That’s hilarious and I feel like that guy needs a good bitch-slapping! A routine would probably be so much fun to do (based on the few I’ve seen on TV).

  9. marlopnwgirl says:

    LOL!!!! That guy… oh man.. it would have taken everything in me to not wanna give him the bitchiest look and turn away.. YAY for a new suit.. I hope you get one.. that IS half of the fun!

  10. HA! Something similar happened to me yesterday at the gym. It’s always some jerk that tries to “help you” but instead insults your intelligence, gender, and taste. Smooth buddy, really smooth. LOL! That’s what headphones are made for girl!

    Can’t wait to hear all about your contest prep!!! YEeeeah!

    xo
    Mindy

  11. Lisa says:

    Wow what an ass. Just the sterotypical girls don’t know what they are doing in the gym mentality. SO annoying.

Leave a Reply

