Goodbye Off-Season….

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

… and HELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLO to prep!

Shredded chicken... more water... food scale... everything I need

I am *officially* 23 weeks out as of tomorrow and BEYOND excited. I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me, but I’m ready for it. I feel great mentally and well… as of today it’s looking like CDO Becca is back. CDO you ask?

LOL cats say it all

This will last about a week or two then I’ll settle into prep and plod along like normal and then the last few weeks (ESPECIALLY peak week) I will become CDO to the max.

I’ve got lists, plans, calendars, the whole 9 yards going on right now. I’m setting goals, making meal plans (even though I don’t have any changes as of right now ahaha) and getting myself organized. The mental shift to prep was like flicking on a switch, the actually shift to prep takes a lot of effort.

Food prep anyone?!

… and a giant costco trip tomorrow. If my grandmother knew what a blog was (she DOES however know what eharmony is and firmly believes I will find my future husband online) and read this I’d send a big shout out to her right about now for the costco gift card she gave me for Christmas. She’s fueling my competing and doesn’t even know it (and probably wouldn’t approve of it if she did know).

Winter costco trips without a car? yeah.... Only I would be so foolish... and Cheap

Honestly there isn’t a BIG change in my meals from offseason to prep… maybe carb amounts, but that’s about it. I think once we set the plan in motion Monday that the biggest shift will be in cardio.

Yuck. (Yes Janae, I loath cardio 90% of the time. You can have it ALL)

But we shall see. I’m sure Monday I’ll do a big photo filled “look at me I went to costco and actually cooked for once” post, but until then… moving on.

A big fairwell to yummy desserts... See you in AUGUST.

After work I desperately tried to find SF syrups for my coffee, specifically hazelnut. I usually drink hazelnut when I buy at Café Depot or drink instant, but I want the syrup for my new machine…. But unfortunately I could only find vanilla in the sugar free and they held little interest to me. I’m REALLY trying to avoid ordering online because of shipping, so I may or may not be mapping out every coffee shop on the island of Montreal to find it!

…. I need a hobby…. And maybe to be a little less caffeinated… but that’s beside the point

I braved the directly after work Resolutioner crowd at the gym last night so I could get home at a decent hour. It wasn’t AWFUL, but there was a lot of people just being weight hogs and I don’t like that. SHARING IS GOOD PEOPLE!

  • Flat BB bench. 12, 8, 6, 6, 8, 12 reps
  • Incline DB press 3 x 6-8
  • Incline flies 3 x 10-15
  • Cable cross overs 3 X 8
  • Straight bar tricep pressdowns 3 x 5, 2 x 12
  • Weighted dips s/s skull crushers 2 x fail / 2 X 6-8
  • Skull crushers s/s close grip pushups 2 X 8-10, 2 x 10-15

I actually did cardio (I got the prep confirmation email right before I started so I felt I HAD to). 40 minutes of intense steady state watching the Habs game (we FINALLY pulled out a win… in a shoot out… with the Pens best player and star goalie on the bench. Whatever. It’s a win)

... I stand by my statement

After that it was a quick grocery run, home for more food and bed.

I have to admit I’m 99% sure I’m feeling like most of the Resolutioners out there this week. I am f-ing SORE. Not like regular sore, but like I can’t move sore. Mostly in my legs, but also my upper body. It’s a bitch if I ever saw one. I guess all my “I’m almost in prep” excitement made me push it that much harder…. Or the fact I took most of last week off and spent it not eating on the couch.

Either way. Ouch.

... if you need me I'll be here... with fritz... resting my achy muscles watching How I Met Your Mother... Becuase I'm THAT cool

I’ve got a busy weekend planned, but couldn’t be happier. I’m ready to get at this and get my goals ACCOMPLISHED.

What’s your big weekend plan?

Do you tend to plan out every little detail or just hope for the best?

Comments
  1. You are a huge inspiration to my gym motivation & carb cutting Becca! I’m excited for you! Take a hot bath, stretch, & pop an ibuprophen. It’s always the random grandma gift that doesn’t sound exciting to most people that rock my sox!
    xo
    Mindy

  2. I’m such the planner! BUT when it comes to working out, I haven’t ever been able to stick to a detailed schedule. Yes I work out 4-5 times per week, but I never have a list of things I want to accomplish. Being that I’m so goal oriented, perhaps I should try!

  3. allieksmith says:

    Woo hoo! I LOVE planning for big events… you should have seen me making my training plan for a marathon.. obsessive haha. I am so excited for you and I can’t wait to hear all about your journey 😀 I’ll be eating lots of desserts for ya until August LOL sorry girl!

  4. Jen says:

    You are such a huge inspiration! I can’t wait to follow along while you prep!!!!

    Jen

  5. Lisa says:

    It’ll be fun being in prep together!

    How I met your mother? Make you cry too? Didn’t see that one coming! It’s not supposed to be sad!!

  6. Genie says:

    WEEeeee prep! 23 weeks out, holy moly! You are a better woman than me! LMFAO!

    I am a planner, too. I had calendars flying this week trying to get a new plan set up. Now that it’s done, I can chillax and let’er roll stress-free! 🙂

    Here’s to 2011! Let’s make it a great one !YEEHAW!

  7. Tenecia says:

    23 weeks!!! Woo hoo!!!

    T.

  8. I like to have alot of the details planned out for whatever I am going to do. Because I always know of the way I want it to go or the things I want to do.

    My weekend plans include going to an NFL playoff game, giving my puppies showers and cleaning!

    Good luck to you and your new plan of action!

  9. laura says:

    Looks like you have a great plan!
    i do plan, but dont always stick to them.
    Thank-you for your gift! so sweet of you 🙂
    i hope you got yours!

  10. I can’t wait to hear all about your training! Good luck girl. You’ll be awesome!!

  11. runrettarun says:

    I’m really interested in your eats! Just started Body for Life and would love more ideas on non-meat protein. 🙂

  12. Yikes! I can’t believe you are already to prep again! You know how to do it well though. 🙂

  13. You’ve so got this girl!! You’re a prep machine!

  14. Jess says:

    Good luck with the prep!

  15. Abby says:

    Good luck with your prep!! I’m taking this year off, but I will have fun following everyone else’s journey to the stage!!

  16. marlopnwgirl says:

    Look at you getting down to the grind. Im sure all the hardwork will pay off like it always does!!

Leave a Reply

