I Knew It!

Posted: January 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

I knew I preferred morning workouts… I knew it I knew it I knew it.

After work yesterday I ran a few errands, picked up a new insulated mug for this morning, grabbed an RTD shake for my post workout meal since I flaked and forgot my protein powder at home and hit the gym. It wasn’t AS busy, but still a bit annoying.

FYIL this is the nastiest shake I have ever had in my life. I tossed 75% of it and I NEVER toss anything!

I need to keep reminding myself it WILL get better.

  • Push press 3 x 5-6, 2 x 8-10
  • Upright row 4 x 8-10
  • Leaning cable lateral raises 3 x 5-6, 2 x 8-10
  • Arnold press 4 x 5-6
  • Bent over lateral raises s/s front plate raise 3 x 8-10
  • Lying leg raises 3 x fail (not many ahaha my abs suck)
  • Weight ball crunches

Felt good to stick to my goal of at LEAST one ab workout per week. Hey, I had 20 minutes to kill waiting for the first period to start, so yeah, why not knock out abs!

Cardio was 40 minutes of power walking on an incline. I am officially o-v-e-r the upright bike which suits me fine. I go through phases. Cardio was a bit rough, it just felt HARD. I was sweating like a pig. Yuck. But it was done, it was over and the hockey game was decent! (at least for the first)

(what’s your take on the “carey price statue pose?” lol who rocks it better? … *hint* the correct answer is carey price, Fleury is just a douche)

ANYWAY. After I finished up I headed home and decided I would actually take photos and explain how I get ready for morning workouts. If anything this helped me not forget a SINGLE THING

…. Okay, I forgot a hair clip to clip the top layer of my hair up while I blowdry. Clearly not the end of the world.

So as soon as I busted in the door at 9:15 I got to work… First I prepped my meals. Yeah, plain and boring.

Like Lisa said, my food isnt pretty, but at least it's tasty?

My fancy new coffee mug all ready to fill up this morning, greek yogurt with peanut butter mixed in, baggie of oats, cooked egg whites, post workout shake/popcorn, baggie of creatine and the greek yogurt container actually is stuffed with roasted veggies and crock pot chicken.

Then it was bag packing time…

Seriously thinking about renting a small locker at the gym to keep shampoo and stuff...

Nothing fancy, shower towel, shower flip flops, cardio towel, work clothes, second set of non-sweaty gym clothes for tonight, hair goop, condensed makeup bag. I’m pretty low maintenance and that REALLY helps getting ready at the gym in the morning!

Once that was (eerily) neatly packed away in my gym bag I went and grabbed my gym clothes for cardio and laid them out.

Simple and to the point. It's 5 am, I dont CARE what I look like

Pretty simple. But makes my life SO much easier! When I got up today I immediately threw on my cardio clothes, stuck the coffee mug in the best coffee maker ever, cooked my egg and English muffin and actually had time to sit down for breakfast, brush my teeth and still be out the door in 21 minutes flat… the perfect time to walk indoors to the metro and catch the 5:30 train out to the city!

Best invention EVERRRRRRR

Because I’m a keener I was at the gym EARLY… yeah, not even open.

Dark and scary?!

Once they finally opened (at 6) I was feeling REALLY motivated. A friend had sent me a FB message the night before with a youtube link for an unknown video with the caption “I think Michael jackson is my new motivation hero” (or something like that)…. I was really confused. MJ? So while I was waiting for the doors to open I clicked the link on my phone and found this.

Yeah, he meant Michael Jordan. (good job kyle. Hi! I know you’re blog stalking!) Honestly LOVED this video and it got me going more than enough to tackle…

deathmill

EEKS. What was I thinking! Jumping into morning cardio with THAT?!?!  … I lasted 10 minutes before dragging my dead legs over to the treadmill for some incline walking and sportcenter. Ahhh… how I missed catching up on my sports in the mornings!

All in all it was a FANTASTIC cardio, I had such a great session and I knew I would, I just needed that little nudge to actually start getting up early and getting it done with. So I finally got it and couldn’t be happier! WOO WOO!

I’m feeling really great this week, I know it’s the first week of prep de-bloat, rah rah rah attitude, but I don’t care. I’m taking it, running with it and not making excuses!

So that’s my little victory this week… what’s yours?!

Comments
  1. You rock… I can’t focus that early in the morning and I am definitely at optimum workout time in the afternoon/evening! 🙂

  2. My victory this week was an 800 backstroke. I almost had a heart attack at practice yesterday.

    I don’t normally toss things either and it takes a lot for me to toss. I don’t buy protein shakes, I normally make them myself with milk and protein. Although when I want to make a smoothie, I add yogurt and pumpkin and some sweetener.

  3. I know I love morning workouts too!`

  4. allieksmith says:

    I appreciate morning work outs after they are done 😉 I love your names for cardio equipment ;P haha. It is too funny to see how much you hate the Pens! I hardly follow them (sad, since I live in Pittsburgh) but I hear a lot of teams hate them !

  5. Jen says:

    I love early AM workouts! I’m up at 4:30am every day so I can workout and have a little me time before the troops wake up.

    Have a great weekend 🙂

    Jen

Leave a Reply

