It’s a Fritzaversary!!!

Posted: January 18, 2011 in Uncategorized
That’s right… 5 years ago today I left work, hopped on the metro and headed off to the Montreal SPCA where I found the crazy that is my Snicklefritz!
He’s watching youuuuuuu

I had everything ready at home, I had stopped in to get all the info on adoption already so it was just a matter of the right cat/right time and I would be a pet owner! I admit I did have my heart set on a kitten, and often there just aren’t any so when I went that night I was fully intending NOT to leave with anything, but I lucked out!

Teeny tiny baby Fritz!

Walking into those little shelter rooms is intimidating, but right away I saw my Fritz in all his annoying glory. I grabbed his card and headed to the desk. After speaking with the volunteer I was told I could take him out and play with him a bit to be 100%… He was super tiny, taken from his momma cat too early, very shy, timid, but hey, when you know you know.

He still hides.... Just not well

While I was filling out the paper work 2 or 3 other people came looking to adopt “that little black and white kitten with no card”… sorry folks, the brat is mine, back off! After a ton of paperwork, handing over the adoption fee I got to go get MY fritz. After a quick stop in with the vet for a shot and to have him microchipped we were on our way home!

A home he quickly made "his"

He was a little terror as a kitten…. I don’t deny that AT ALL. Terrible twos are not just for toddlers, trust me! He was a monster, but he was my monster. No matter how crappy my day was, what boy was being a jerk, how homesick I was I knew that when I opened that door at the end of the day he’d be there waiting for me (usually to just be fed, but hey, at least I’m needed!)

He shares my love for the Habs... what more could I ask for?

There was a few medical snags along the way unfortunately. It turns out he is one in a million (the vet had actually never seen this before!), he’s allergic to surgical glue. I did have him declawed in his front paws and well it was a disaster that ended up with a 3 day vet stay for my poor baby. It should never have got to that point but unfortunately my vet’s assistant was an idiot and wouldn’t believe me when I said something was wrong. Thankfully I was able to just storm in and get him seen and even more thankfully because it was there mistake in not believing me I wasn’t charged a cent, but the best part was my critter was back home with meeeeeeeee.

.... although that means he was back to hogging the bed

Slowly he’s matured (and I DO mean slowly) into the lazy bag of fur that he is now…. He is a male cat after all, growing up is not their gender’s strong point. He’s being a lot less independent and a lot more affectionate and that is something I love. There is nothing like curling up on the couch to watch a movie with the Fritz by my side!

well.. cuddling my foot

And just because you cant have a cat related post without an LOLcat… you know what they say…

...someday someone will understand!

I’ll be back later with a “real” post, but wanted to share my Fritzaversary right away!

Do you have pets? If so, what’s your favorite thing about being a pet owner?

-Mine would clearly be everything. Crazy.cat.lady

Comments
  1. YAY! Happy Fritzaversary, hahah! I have a Roccoversary in May. He’s from Mississppi he too 2 flights to get to me. I love people that love their pets!

    I’ve really been pushing myself at the gym from reading this blog. Thank you so much for posting all of your pre comp excitement…it’s catchy!
    xo
    Mindy

  2. Dotsie says:

    Looooooove this post!!! I’m a crazy cat lady too! I love everything cats! I love animals, but cats are my fave 🙂

  3. Loved snickle. I went to my first orientation to start volunteering at my animal shelter and I want a cat so bad. It’s going to be hard to contain myself and hold back.

  4. marlopnwgirl says:

    LOL!!! A fritzaversary! I want a pet!!!!! I might cave and get a kitty before a dog! HAHAHA!

  5. YAY. Your cat is so cute and continues to amuse me throughout your posts. He really makes me miss my cat back at home. She is actually white with black spots, almost like Fritz’s opposite. ha.

  6. Awww, love this post!

    I have two cats and a dog. When I met my (now) husband, he was allergic to my cat (the only pet I had at the time). I told him either get over it or break up because the cat wasn’t going anywhere 😉

  7. I love people’s pet stories! So glad you found your Fritzy baby!

  8. Jen says:

    Happy Fritzaversary 🙂

    Jen

  9. allieksmith says:

    Happy Fritzaversary!!!!!!!!!! Yay 🙂 I LOVED reading this post 🙂 You love your cat!

  10. Happy Fritzaversary!
    I love my sharpei puppies and find it funny how I know more about their bowel/bladder activities than I do my own, ha!

Leave a Reply

