Jumping on the Challenge Bandwagon

Posted: January 26, 2011 in Uncategorized
Soooo…. Two late nights in a row. I am a wildchild. To the EXTREMEEEEEEEEEE

3am.... clearly tipsy... walking home barefoot. We've all been there?!

Yeah, not so much anymore. Drinking diet coke and watching hockey is a little different than 2 years ago (when there would have been double jack in said diet coke… and we might have been winning at hockey, but I digress)

The ghosts of hockey games past

After work I went and hit the gym for back and bis. It was fairly busy, but knowing I had to be in and out fairly fast I put on my serious face and I’m pretty sure that kept people from annoying me or stealing my stuff.

  • Bent over BB rows 5×5
  • Close grip cable rows 4 x 6-8
  • Wide grip lat pulldowns s/s straight arm pressdowns 3 X 5, 2 x 10-12
  • High rope pull 4 x 6-8
  • Rope cable hammer curls 4 x 6-8
  • BB curls 3 x 8-10
  • Seated curls 3 x 8-10

After my workout I plowed through my post workout meal, changed back into my SUPER fancy work clothes and headed off to a pub to catch the game.

More goals, less stupid penalties PLEASE

Epic fail on the Habs part. Fustrating. Stupid penalties, key players out hurt and well… just being stupid and seemingly forgetting how to play hockey. Doh.

After the game I was actually a rebel and stayed out a bit later to grab a cup of tea. It was a cold night and I wanted something warm! I finally was home around midnight and by the time I ate again it was 12:30. After an email to sarah she assures me I wouldn’t die if I reset my alarm for non-cardio day time and make it up on Friday.

(It was still brutal waking up to a 6:30 alarm.. but better than 5am… especially since I had NOTHING ready for the day)

Since I’m finding my blah blah prep blogging a bit lame, I decided to jump on the blog bandwagon and do a challenge!

It’ll give me something to talk about other than prep and tell you even MORE stuff about me you never ever wanted to or needed to know!

So without further ado!

Day 1: Your current relationship… if single, discuss how single life is.

I’m pretty sure you all by now catch on I’m the wild and crazy single girl.

This time last year I was in the throws of a new relationship that well…. In all honesty I knew was wrong. Very very wrong. I had been single for over a year before this and well, he was SO SURE it was meant to be I wanted to believe it. I wanted something real.

Gettin' crazyyyyyyy

 

Around Valentine’s day he mentioned that my gift was in the house. I thought he got me a new lululemon gym bag so I of course being me, snooped. What I found left me in a panic. Literally.

Diamonds.... not always a girl's best friend

Yeah, you can see what I got in this photo. Yes, it’s pretty. But I felt stuck after this. By April things were going downhill and well, by the end of May things were o-v-e-r in a slightly messy fashion.

After this relationship I thought about dating, I even tried for a bit but umm… I was in the middle of prep… with zero self esteem left… and no idea how to explain no drinking, dieting, my clear stripper shoes to a new boy so I kind of just shut down the idea and got on with my life.

… got on with my life by being a dirty pirate hooker

Clearly the best thing I could have done. I competed two more times after the breakup, I went camping twice with my parents, I went on vacation, I spent time with friends and on ME.

Lots of time spent here... with the Fritz

Every now and then I would go on a date, nothing ever came of it and I was okay with it. I was happy with ME and my life. I admit the questions, the comments, the blah blah blah from family, co workers, friends about why I don’t date more is hard, but eventually you just get used to it and let it roll off your back.

While I’ve loved almost everything about being single again, there are some negatives.

Because I compete and have done (ONE) photoshoot I find guys expect me to be show lean and that done up every day.

I obviously wake up looking like this... dont you?

Um, hell no. That’s not me. I’m a bum. When I meet guys now I refuse to let them see my facebook, I don’t let them know I’ve done a photoshoot, I go slowly with comp info. Honestly, it seems to be working for me. I LIKE feeling like a guy has earned my trust enough to know these things about me.

There is the third wheel syndrome I constantly suffer from.That gets old fast.

In general I can’t complain. I’m an overly independent person anyway, so I love my alone time… but with that being said I AM still (trying) to date and not closing myself off just because of prep and a difficult lifestyle.

So what about you? Married? Single? “it’s complicated”?

Comments
  1. Married for 12 1/2 years already. Long time I know. But I’ve been with my husband since I was basically 15 years old. Blah Blah Blah!
    He is the greatest though 🙂

  2. Recently single, as you know. I am mostly enjoying it so far – flirting with whoever I want at all times? Okay! What is this third-wheel syndrome you are referring to?

  3. I’m super independed which makes being married hard sometimes, but luckily we make it work.

    Enjoy singledom!

  4. Dotsie says:

    I missed the ring thing! Omg! Haha!

    I have the ole boyfriend, but he’s cool, fun, and it’s the easiest and most fun relationship I’ve been in!

  5. Easy. It’s complicated.

    I’d be weary if I were you as well–between Cheatser and how-dog. You’ll find a good one when you want to and when it’s the right time!

  6. i’ve been linked with the ol’ ball and chain now for almost….10 years (what the???) been married for 3 of those although it feels like just yesterday (that must be a good sign…right?) i like what you said about guys “earning” your trust. i think that’s a good thing. 😉

  7. Oh my god. Just like the movies my makeup is always done while I’m sleeping? Have you ever noticed they go to bed with perfect makeup? Bahaha. Anywho-you are a strong and beautiful woman and shabamm. Seriously, can I just live your life?

  8. I’m a happy newlywed. I enjoyed my single life, but it was time to settle down! We also spend lots of time with our puppy!

  9. marlopnwgirl says:

    Sinlge and its Complicated.. You know me.. theres always someone becs.. HAHAHA!! You do look smokin in your photoshoot pictures.. and im sorry.. but ive seen you in person.. your skin is JUST as amazing, hair just as perfect and make up just as fab. So dont give me any of this “i dont really look like this crap” Because you kinda do.. 😛

  10. Ohh I might jump on the wagon too, cuz honestly my creative juices are NOT flowing lately 😀

  11. Jen says:

    Good for you for not staying in the relationship, even when a diamond was involved, I’m sure that was hard!

    I am married, we are going to celebrate 10 years in August. Good freaking grief when did I get so old?!

  12. Married and loving it. 🙂 And WHOA! I missed the ring part,
    just like Dots!!!! I had no idea!!!!! Congrats on getting one and a
    double congrats on being strong and knowing it wasn’t time. Rock
    on, Bec. 🙂 PS: Um, yes, I wake up looking like that…oh how I kid
    myself. Shit, I don’t look like that when I’m done up. LOL

  13. allieksmith says:

    Aww, I’m sorry it didn’t work out with the guy but at least you didn’t get married and then realize that it wasn’t going to work!

  14. such a good blog; I really enjoyed reading!

  15. Gillian says:

    lordy! that beer looks good!

Leave a Reply

