What Do You Aspire To Be?

Posted: January 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

… What a loaded question… and really, there are so many different answers 

  • Good daughter/sister/friend/aunt
  • Hard worker, dedicated
  • Good momma to my Fritz           
  • Happy and healthy
  • A role model for family and friends who want to be healthy
  • Someone who takes chances and isn’t afraid to live life
  • A kickass figure competitor

Clearly a bit vague, I won’t go into crazy detail, but I’m sure you can fill in the blanks.

I rambled that list off as things popped into my head. Notice where figure competitor came out?

I'm clearly more into fitting my butt into a mini hummer

Yeah. It’s important to me, it’s a huge part of me, but there is also a hell of a lot more to me than a blinged out bikini and clear stripper shoes (… and a fake tan, ghetto nails and dirty pirate hooker makeup… you know)

I still love me some ghetto nails and orange-y glow though!

Saturday I was informed that my “only aspiration in life is to look good in a bikini”.

Pardon?

Say what now?!

There was also a few other not so nice negative words thrown in there too (mean, judgmental, self centered bitch to name a few) which oddly didn’t bother me in the slightest. But being told my only aspiration in life is to rock a bikini? Ouch. Kick a girl where it hurts!

Let me backtrack and explain that this was said because… I was honest and simply told someone who asked me out that while I was flattered, I just wasn’t interested in him romantically or for friendship. He has a VERY negative, woe is me attitude and would constantly guilt me for not being able to hang out and do stuff. That kind of negativity is not something I need, nor do I want in my life so I chose to be honest.

Look where THAT got me.

Yup... about ready to pull out my hair... or cry. Nice

Let’s just look at IF “looking good in a bikini” was my only aspiration in life (which it clearly isn’t).

Since I started competing I have completely changed my life. I have taken control of my life and my HEALTH first and foremost. I have never felt better physically or mentally and I think it shows. I am able to run races, keep up with my nephew, go snowboarding with friends, help my mom around the house. LIVING doesn’t leave me miserable anymore, it leaves me excited and happy.

Go me!

Being a competitor means I needed to learn to manage my time VERY wisely, this taught me to multitask, dedicate myself 100% to certain things and know when to delegate to be more productive instead of insisting on doing everything myself. Because I’m often *so* busy I started to crave going home to visit family because the pace of life is so much more relaxed and laid back on the east coast. Going back home more often has allowed me to share my lifestyle with my family, run races with my sister in law, see my nephew grow up, spend time with old friends and make new ones. Sometimes it’s hard to feel a part of my family being the only one far away, but the older I get the more I realize how important family is and making time for the small things is so important.

Camping with my parents at the beach? Yes PLEASE

Don’t even get me started on the “taking chances” thing. Getting over my fears, not being shy, pushing myself out of my comfort zone every time I get on stage has crossed into my personal life on so many occasions. Traveling to new cities with new friends, trying out boxing and hot yoga, even taking chances in my relationships that normally I would have never agreed to.

One of the craziest, but best decisions ever!

Hell, it’s even helped me spend more time with fritz. A weekend spent relaxing on the couch after a long week of training means more cuddle time, more play time, more lovin for the beast!

What we did allllllll weekend long!

So hey… if I’m accomplishing all my life’s aspirations WHILE looking good in a bikini, who am I to complain!?

Hey, if you got it..... haha

 

What do YOU aspire to be?

Comments
  1. Dotsie says:

    Love it-glad you were honest with that guy!

    As far as what I aspire to be… I need to think on it a lot, but similar to your aspirations, minus the fitness competitor 😉 but maybe…a Crossfit competitor one day, when I get great at this!

  2. It’s so much better to be honest with someone. I aspire to be an awesome teacher, coach and all around fitness advocator.

  3. I aspire to be the best massage therapist I can be and truly be able to change the lives of others for the better! And good for you for being honest with homeboy, that’s all you can do!

  4. Kristen says:

    HEY! I just came across your blog and I love this post.
    I couldnt agree more that you can do WHATEVER you want, and to just look good in a bikini…that wasnt very nice to say.
    Anyway, I love your haircut!

  5. great great great great x 10 post 🙂

  6. Taking chances & going outside of your comfort zone is the only way to grow! I’m with you 100%. I need to work on my time management……

  7. Jen says:

    You are awesome, don’t worry about some dirty doucher trying to bring you down!

  8. marlopnwgirl says:

    Awww.. Great post becs! I think you have come such a long ways.. Youve grown up so much in the last two years. You are so strong now and can take on the world!

  9. allieksmith says:

    You go girl! Glad you were honest 🙂 You are such an awesome person and a good mother to Fritz 😉

  10. Kirstie says:

    Awesome post. I love that because you rejected him, he came back at you with someone negative. What a jerk! Good for you for not taking it personally.

    PS-you DO rock that bikini!

  11. Gillian says:

    Dearest Becca,
    You are the bestest Auntie in the world.
    Lots of love,
    Griffin XOX

  12. […] post on who I want to be was surprisingly popular. It’s a huge misconception that being a figure competitor makes you […]

  13. […] back in January I wrote a post on what I aspire to be. This post was prompted by being told my only goal in life was to look good in a bikini. Lame, but […]

Leave a Reply

