Is the Damage Done?

Posted: February 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

Like I mentioned Friday I just don’t feel like normal blogging. Let’s be honest, I eat the same 6 meals everyday (except this week since I CANT FIND GREEK YOGURT), I do the same workouts, and well, cardio is lame and filled with angry birds and twitter (tweet meeeeeeee! Ahaha Shameless…. I am so shameless)

But oddly enough, yesterday when I actually had something that mega annoyed me was on my mind it was really easy to get going and enjoy blogging.

So let’s just say for the sake of it all, yesterday I got up at 5, went to the gym for cardio, ate some food, did some work, didn’t kill the annoying guy who wouldn’t sell me a French press and trained chest and tris (and got a new PR on flat bench!)… And then I woke up at 5am again today and started it all over again.

I HAVE been a rebel sneaking food at my desk though!

(Cardio actually FLEW by today. Badass)

Anyway! So I came across this picture a few weeks ago (maybe even longer???) and saved it because it interested me. It’s a body scan comparing that of an overweight woman with that of an “average” woman.

Hmm... Interesting no?

I’m not one to whine and complain (okay okay, stop laughing. Please. Enough!!!) but I do have joint aches and pains. A lot of them.

There is rarely a day that goes by that I don’t moan about my “bum hip”, or silently curse an achy knee or my stupid wrist. It’s never enough to force me to a doctor or physio, but just enough to annoy me and cause discomfort while doing certain things. For example, I’m just now building my squats back up to where I once was after avoiding them for weeks because my hip was so tight and sore.

(FYI: Hot yoga actually helps this issue a lot… unless I over do it and then it makes it worse. Way to overachieve Becca… way to overachieve!)

Wow, do I ever have trouble sticking to the topic at hand. I should make lists. (and follow those lists… but let’s be honest, I know that won’t happen so why waste the post it?)

Looking at the photo you can see how curved and deformed the joints of the overweight woman is.

Umm… it’s no secret here I used to be ah… large and in charge.

The olden days

I often wonder if the strain I put on my body for being so overweight for so long effected me the same way. I wish I had access to a body scanner (that didn’t involve fritz running up my side in the middle of the night) just out of sheer curiosity.

On the other hand, now that I’m “in shape” I do put a lot of stress on my body, double cardio days when needed, 6 days a week cardio when I’m being “normal”. I often switch it up, power walking on an incline, the upright bike, step mill, treadmill, etc etc… but I do go through phases where I do A LOT of treadmill sprints and pavement pounding.

… and I do mean pounding. I run like an elephant on speed. It’s not pretty.

Pls note: My ears are not this big in real life

But regardless of how much I switch it up, enjoy my rest days, take it easy when I hurt, I put A LOT of stress on my body day in day out (I’m not even factoring in weight training here.)

Just becuase I love it.

BASICALLY what I’m getting at here is just me expressing random curiosity of the lasting effects of being overweight for most of my young life and then yo-yoing for years after. While changing my lifestyle has IMPROVED a lot of my “health issues” like asthma, bad immune system, etc etc I feel the physical shift in my body is maybe not the same?

ANYWAY! Thoughts? Feelings? Concerns?

If you’ve lost a significant amount of weight do you feel it’s impacted you?

Comments
  1. Jess says:

    This is really interesting, and I didn’t know you used to be overweight at all! I’ve never heard of being overweight being hard on your joints, but I suppose it is a reasonable possibility and it makes sense. Running also is probably really hard on your knees. Eggbeater in synchronized swimming kiled mine!

  2. I wouldn’t say I gained a significant amount or lost it. The heaviest I ever was, was in college at 144. Now I hover at 115lbs. Hmm, I guess that is a 30lb difference, but it was only for like 1-2 years at that weight. Silly Freshman 15 turned into Freshmen 30!

  3. Sarah says:

    HAHHAHA I just had to comment on the lovely drawing 🙂
    I was showing Tim all the funny LOL catz that you’ve sent and I’ve saved on my desktop at work and I saw “schematic for becca” and HAD to show him that. He got a good laugh at it (or rather me?) hahaha.

  4. Dotsie says:

    Interesting post 🙂 I do wonder about the effects if yo-yo ing and being overweight… And that body scan. The pic makes me wanna be super good to my body!

  5. Gillian says:

    Rebecca. I am devastated that you put that picture of me and you up, me on the left you on the right, you know, the body scan one. Haha, jj. I would love, ok maybe hate, to get a body scan image done. I read somewhere though that after losing the weight that made you over weight in the first place, you body ‘fixes’ it self quite fast. A bit like a smoker can regain a lot of their lost health once they quite, sometimes in just two weeks.

  6. Woah! That scan is scary. I’ve been getting back in shape (I’m about 7 pounds shy of where I’d like to be and a bit jigglier than I’d like to be in the thigh depot). I wonder what my scan would look like. I like reading about your contest prep diet. I’m curious as to what your macro #’s are. You are 5’2″ right? Everyone has good moods & bad moods. Keep it real & people will appreciate the post. I’d tweet ya but I’m not on twitter lol!
    xo
    Mindy

  7. Kat says:

    I don’t know that my joints feel better, but I definitely find running to be SO MUCH easier.

  8. marlopnwgirl says:

    That body scan pic made me think WOW.. i was amazed at not only the FORM of the body.. but also the difference in size of the internal organs cavity. I went to a nutrition seminar lastnight and i learned alot.. I feel for overweight people now.. Its a daily battle.

Leave a Reply

