We Call This Weather “Wednesday”

Posted: February 3, 2011 in Uncategorized
I don’t know why but I love the city before all the snow is cleared away and dumped into huge parking lots/the river/wherever they dump it to melt come spring.

Snowbanks more than twice my height... yes please!

As long as the sidewalks are relatively cleared. I’m happy. And I say relatively because clearly I only walk from the bus to my office which is like a block. I’m obviously not hauling on my kicks to go for a run. HAHAHA no.

Yeah no... just NO

In response to all the Americans (no offence! Ahaha) yesterday a comedian joked on twitter “I’m from Montreal, we call this kind of weather Wednesday”. It’s sad, but it’s true. We just roll with it.

But back to hauling…  I didn’t want to haul anything out of bed or on this morning. At all. I just was not feeling it. But I did it. I got up, I ate, got on the metro and knocked out my 40 minutes of cardio.

Was it earth shattering? Um no.

Was it record breaking? Um definitely no.

Was it done and over with? Hells yes.

What kind of attitude is this to have you ask? Um, a totally NORMAL one for prep. For ME anyway. Let’s be honest, there is good days… there is bad days… and there are days that just are. They aren’t good, they aren’t bad. They happen. You shake your head. You don’t really understand it, but you accept it and move on.

How do I feel about tonight’s leg workout? Meh.

Honestly how do I feel about tonight’s leg workout? …. I’ve been dreading it since I started thinking about it this morning. I just DON’T WANT TO DO IT.

Because of my odd Wednesday off cardio I have now done 8 days of cardio in a row. 7 or those 8 days were AMAZING. Today totally sucked. I dreaded my workout last night, but it was shoulders and I knew I would get into it. And I did.

Legs? Um yeah, I don’t see me “getting into it”. With my hip and lower back pain I’ve been working with for a few months now that worries me. These are the days when injuries occur. I DO have a second leg workout this week on Sunday so I have chosen to be proactive (I’m choosing that word over lazy) and will head to the gym after work…. To collect my stuff I left this morning and then will promptly head home.

I wish I could blame this feeling on lack of sleep, but I was in bed at 8:30 last night and sleep right away… and the rest of the week? Yeah, about the same. I just feel worn out completely so tonight and tomorrow (as scheduled) will be rest. I may or may not go to my hot yoga class tomorrow, it really depends on how I’m feeling.

Saturday marks 21 weeks out for me. Four weeks of prep on paper and executed. I need to listen to my body NOW or risk burn out down the line.

I know this isn’t as big of a topic as the rest of my blogs this week, but I really think it’s just as important.

And with that being said I want to thank you all a MILLION times over for all your kind words on my last few posts. I’m trying to branch out and just dump out my thoughts and emotions here. I know it’s not pretty, but it is what it is and it’s nice to see I’m not totally alone in my crazy thoughts. 🙂

And just becuase… Some girl seriously had this scary lookign stuffed dog in her bag on the metro last night. You cant see it in the pic, but it had rapid drool built in. CREEPY!

Ummm.. WTF?!

How do you feel about an unplanned rest day?

If you’re training today, what’s the plan!?

Comments
  1. Unplanned rest days are how I roll. I don’t plan rest days, unless it’s a big event: ie meet the next day, race ect. So when I need one, I’m okay with it.

    That is the creepiest thing I have ever seen!

  2. Tenecia says:

    Definitely listen to your body! There’s so much time left in your prep that you don’t want to burn out now!

    T.

    P.S. I totally feel you on the days where you’re like “Yep…I made it through today..and it was just another day…”

  3. Jess says:

    Today’s an unplanned rest day for me…I need it, so I’m OK with it.
    And I agree with you on the “wednesday” comment, im from buffalo- snow isnt anything new:)

  4. Okay, now I totally want to get a creepy dog to hang out of my purse too! 😀

  5. allieksmith says:

    Creepy dog haha… that is so strange!!! I ,3 unplanned rest days.. especially when I need them soo bad haha

  6. Jen says:

    If my road ever got plowed and I could drive sooner than 3 days after a snow storm, I would be happy with snow!!! As it is, I have been stuck in this house for 3 days because our road JUST got plowed out last night. I have never been so happy!

  7. Lisa says:

    That dog picture is nasty. What the hell! Anyway, yeah, I have had those “meh” days at the gym too. but you know you gotta get it done, and you do. Good job!

Leave a Reply

