Food Blogger For a Day

Posted: February 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

Clearly I’m not a food blogger. Nor am I a fancy photographer. Nor does my food usually even look edible most of the time.

I’m in prep. I have strange cravings, strange meals and well, I’m just strange. But that’s a whole other post.

Who's crazy!? She's crazy!

When I blogged Saturday about craving fish tacos…. Despite never having ever eaten one before I knew I was a little crazy.

But, in my defense, ignorance is bliss! Since I’m in prep I was going to have to “healthify” any recipe I found to make it work with my macros so maybe the taste wouldn’t be 100%…. But hey, I’d never know!

After checking out your recipe suggestions, googling and quizzing several friends I picked up all the ingredients I thought I would need. 

  • White fish (tilapia was on sale, so I went with that being the cheap girl I am)
  • Whole wheat tortillas
  • Cabbage
  • Cilantro
  • Lime
  • Taco seasoning
  • Hot sauce
  • Corn

 Once I got home I sat down to doodle my macros. Normally I do all my meal plans in excel. It’s simple. It’s easy. It does the math for me. I do NOT enjoy doing it by hand, but desperate times…

Math... not my strong suit

I was really basing my “epic idea” on several recipes and just assumed I’d go with tasting as I went and hoping for the best.

Because that always works right???

I started by chopping up a big bunch of cilantro. I had NO Idea how much I would need so I just chopped chopped chopped.

mmmm fresh herbs

The I put a fair amount of hot sauce along with the juice from half a lime and some cilantro in a dish and mixed it all up. I tossed the fish in there to marinate for a bit while I figured the rest of my idea out.

it's like a bubble bath for fish?!

For my “sauce” I used about 2oz of non-fat greek yogurt, the juice from the other half of the lime, a couple of (generous) splashes of hot sauce, about 1/2tbsp taco seasoning and about a tbsp of the cilantro.

Time to mix it all up

I mixed it all up and honestly was a bit afraid of it. I had NO idea what to expect. I figured there was only one way to find out so I stuck my finger in and took a lick. Um yeah… I have no idea if this was “right” but it sure tasted right to me.

With that I tossed the tilapia in the heated pan to grill up, warmed up some corn, measured my cabbage out and threw the tortillas in the oven to get warm.

Mmmmm... Fish

It was A LOT of food. But I started assembling my tacos.

The goods

And um yeah. I don’t know if they were “real fish tacos” but they sure fixed my craving… and will very possibly become a staple on my high days. YUM.

Nom nom nom time

…. Just to show I DO enjoy my veggies too, I had a big bowl of roasted zucchini and onions with the rest of the corn on the side. Nom nom nom.

Yeah... I was also craving onion... Random

Who knew I’d like veggies after all those years?!

Now it’s time to head off to buy my ticket for my VALENTINE’S DAY gift to myself, hit the gym and then possibly join Fritz where I KNOW he’s currently sleeping

 

Ahhh.. the life of a lazy, fat cat

 

What was your last “great meal idea?”

…. In other words, please tell me I’m not craving for having random food cravings!

Do you have any big valentine’s day plans? Or is it just another day for you?

Comments
  1. If I liked fish at all, I would say well done, these look good 😉

    I have weird cravings all the time as well..usually I try to figure out how many things I can put hot sauce in!

  2. Dotsie says:

    What do you do with the crazy food cravings if it’s not something you can really eat on prep? Or do you only crave healthy stuff? I don’t know if I’m verbalizing my curiosity properly but uh, if you can, tell me a bit more!

    Never cared for Valentines Day, so who knows!

  3. Those look like damn good fish tacos to me! 🙂

  4. Jess says:

    fish tacos look great!
    my boyfriend and i are making dinner for vday and watching a movie, but it will be pretty relaxed:)

  5. Stephanie says:

    Well now I crave fish tacos, that’s for sure!

  6. My last “great” meal? It wouldn’t be that bag of popcorn I just downed when I got home from work at 8pm would it? It was light microwave popcorn, so it was okay.

    As far as Valentine’s plans, it’s not a huge holiday here. I don’t go all out decorating or anything. We are going out to dinner with friends on Friday night and Sunday night to celebrate 🙂

    PS, the fish tacos look scrumptious. It was just as well that you made up your own recipe!

  7. I think a lot of fish tacos have tilapia in them! nice going. and i love cilantro. good choice!

Leave a Reply

