Becoming a Cougar

Posted: February 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

Happy Valentine’s Day to Meeeeeeeee!

I’m a firm believer in buying gifts for MYSELF for well… pretty much any and all occasions. I mean, who knows ME better than ME?! That way I’m never disappointed, always get exactly what I want and get the instant gratification of shopping.

This year I wasn’t going to do anything for Valentine’s day. Hello. Single, in prep, no family, it’s on a Monday. Why bother?

… Then I started thinking back to LAST valentine’s day when it was the opposite. It was on a weekend, I was in a relationship, it was an all out Valentine’s day blowout.

Winter Carnival in Quebec City... it rocks btw

Honestly, totally NOT my thing. It was fun, but the pressure to make everything perfect and wonderful was kind of lame and ruined a lot of it. Plus there was underlying issues in the relationship, but that’s a whole other story. Decisions were made that weekend that greatly impacted the next few months, which I don’t regret… but somehow wish I could go back and slap myself in the face to smarten up before it happened.

Sooooo wish I could have stayed here... at the ICE HOTEL

BUT ANYWAY…. Because of all of this, I figured I would have a normal weekend, hit the gym,  get groceries, prep my meals, watch some hockey and relax. Nothing big.

Then last Saturday we got a “surprise” blizzard (hey, it’s Canada, what do you expect?)…. “less than 1cm” of snow turned into a foot. So I checked the weather for the week, snow, snow, more snow, slightly warmer temps… hmmmm.

So then and there I decided to change my views on V-day for the year, went online, booked a ticket and I’m FINALLY going to hit up Mont Sutton Sunday!

Yessssssssss!

I’ve never been, have been DYING to go for years, it was cheap, the bus doesn’t leave until 7am so I can avoid taking a 20$ cab ride…. The only drawback is it’s a university trip so I am finally realizing my dream of becoming a cougar.

(Totally okay with that for the record)

So Sunday I FINALLY am boarding again! It’s been far too long and I’m MEGA excited!!!!

Woohooooooo!

 

Do you buy yourself gifts for any occasions?

Any other single ladies treating themselves this weekend?

Comments
  1. how long has it been since you have boarded? i went first of january and I already miss it. I finally had that clicking moment and now I want to go all the time.

    I remember ice hotel trip. Sounded pretty sweet. Too bad you couldn’t switch the dude you were with 🙂

  2. oh how fun! Although I’m a pretty bad boarder, I’m a great skier, and would love to be on a mountain right now!
    I think all women should by themselves gifts… we’re pretty special 🙂

  3. Jess says:

    yay! glad you are doing something for you.
    and i DEFINITELY buy myself presents:)

  4. Dotsie says:

    Ohhhhhh you’re gonna have so much fun!!!!! Have fun on the prowl 😉 haha!

    Do I buy myself gifts?!?! ALL THE TIME!!! If I don’t, who else will?! Well, I do have a bf and he buys me stuff all the time–but that doesn’t stop me from buying shoes, purses, earrings/whatever, on the slick!! 🙂 admittedly though, since he does buy me things I want and need, I’ve been able to save a bit-which is awesome.

  5. I totally buy myself gift, I call it retail therapy. And or I buy gifts for myself and I give them to my husband to give to me. It works because I get what I want!
    Have fun boarding this weekend, Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

  6. marlopnwgirl says:

    YAY! I hope you have fun! Im not sure what im doing for Vday.. I work both jobs! So.. nothing exciting.

  7. I buy myself stuff all the time. Hittin the slopes is a perfect v-day!!! I’m doing the same (only a week later) we are hitting up the slopes in Utah. YAY!

  8. Good for you, Becs. Seriously! I love that you’re not sitting at home for Valentine’s Day…I think that while it’s a great day to show people you love them, it’s also so overrated these days. Florists jack up prices, and I don’t know…I feel like it’s hard to make that day special, because it’s not a unique day. Everyone’s doing something. Catch my drift?

    Enjoy boarding! And yes…I buy myself stuff all the time. I’m waiting on my bonus, actually, so that I can go splurge! 🙂

  9. Allie says:

    Yay 🙂 Happy for you doing something that you truly enjoy and you don’t need a man for ;)… for some reason I think you would be a way better snow boarder than any guy you know! Have fun and stay warm 😀

  10. I think everyone should treat themselves. You know yourself better then every single person. I, sadly, am not too sure what I’m doing for Valentines day.

  11. Jen says:

    You are going to have so much fun!!! The husband and I don’t do anything for valentine’s day, thank goodness! I did buy him an iPhone this morning and myself a new heart rate monitor, just because 😉

Leave a Reply

