Ask Me Anything… Training and Diet Edition

Posted: February 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s been… eek, a week or more since I put out a call for ask me anything questions. I figured since it’s Friday and I don’t have anything to really ramble about today (Lucky you!) that I’d answer a few of the questions…. Specifically the ones about diet/training.

So without further ado… Here goes nothing!

what exactly is your diet and workout schedule? Also, what do you recommend for someone that hates weight training and feels it bulks them up? Gym weight classes (bodypump), pilates or pure barre (too $$),bootcamp,trainer,or??You’re amazing,btw!

First off. Umm… thank you. I know I’m amazing, but I totally like to hear it (from someone other than my mom).

Secondly I swear I’m not a self centered ego maniac, I’m just in a GREAT very up mood today.

Thirdly… your question! lol

My Training:

I do change up my training every 4-6 weeks and often include new ideas and exercises randomly. I honestly base my workouts on what I know works for me, I’m a fan of supersets, yo-yo sets, and very heavy lifting. Quite honestly, I get bored lifting over 10-12 reps and avoid doing it for the most part. There is a time and place for everything though, right?

yes... a time even for BOSU's

Most of my workouts come from a mish mash of talking with my nutrition coach, friends who compete (or are just smart), old workouts, magazines, googling. I like to switch things up so this allows me variety and the options to keep changing and improving.

My current schedule is this:

 

My cardio is all planned by my coach so I really don’t have *much* say in that. We do discuss it and it was my choice to do it in the mornings, separate from my workouts.

My Diet: I will address with the next question.

As for weight training (and it bulking you up)…. It’s a huge misconception that you’ll get bulky by lifting heavy weights. Women simply don’t have the ability to get big and bulky without *help*… if you know what I mean.  The “bulk” comes from an over consumption of calories in vs. calories out, not how heavy of weight you’re lifting. You’ll actually benefit more from heavier weights, it builds muscle, which burns fat, so you’ll actually lean out in the end assuming diet is in check.

I actually used to say I was the type to bulk up very easily. Sadly this is not true, my diet just wasn’t in check and I was gaining fat over top of muscle…. Which in turn made me look bulky.

With that being said I AM a huge fan of bootcamp classes and took them once a week for over a year. I love the group atmosphere, it’s great for pushing you past your limits and getting a great, intense workout.

Bootcamps are funnnnn!

BUT… keeping all of that in mind, I am a firm believer in doing what you love. If you love to run, do it. If you love to lift weights, do it. Whatever your poison is… pilates, bootcamp, cycling, yoga simply make a plan, stick to it, be consistant, be mindful in your eating habits and making good choices and you will see results.

What are your pre comp macros per day Do they vary depending on your workout? Do they vary as the competition gets closer?

 

My macros are ever changing, and they are meant for me, and I don’t feel like I should give exact numbers because they are what are (currently) working for me.

Generally speaking for my off-season I have an equal ratio of protein to carbs, with moderate fats 6 days a week. On one weekend day I cut out a meal and have a cheat meal. My protein is usually about 1-1.25g per pound of lean body mass.

During prep my carbs are lowered, and early on in prep I will have one re-feed day (on a weekend) that basically doubles my average day carbs to give me a high day. As things go on, if I stop dropping weight my high day will be lowered and we may add a moderate day mid week for a boost.

Again, this is all individual.

Generally speaking for fat loss:

  • your total calories should be about your bodyweight X 12
  • Protein 1-1.5g per pound of lean body mass
  • Fat .4-.5g per pound of lean body mass
  • Carbs make up the remainder of your calories

I personally don’t believe in eliminating foods groups or well… much of anything. I do eat very normal food, but actually prefer healthy foods (I get to eat more ahaha) and general staples in my diet are:

  • Eggs/egg whites
  • Oats
  • Sprouted grain breads/english muffins
  • Chicken
  • Lean beef (either ground or steak)
  • Greek yogurt
  • Peanut butter
  • Any veggie I can get my hands on
  • Fruit on occasion (doesn’t fill me up at alllllll)
  • Sweet potatos
  • Fish
  • Popcorn
  • whey protein (post workout only)
  • COFFFFEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

That’s really the basis of my meals 95% of the time. I do on occasion change things up, but generally eat the same kinds of meals… over… and over.. and over again.

Typical diet staples for me

So there you have it. Hopefully I answered a few questions you had and gave you some more insight into my current diet and training.

Happy Friday everyone!!

What is your Friday night plan?

Do you believe in eliminating food groups when you are trying to lean out?


Comments
  1. allieksmith says:

    What an informative post ! What is a yo-yo set? And my Friday plans = swim practice and going to the sporting goods store LOL. Umm if I was in figure comps. I would probably go easy on certain food groups but not completely eliminate them, you know?! Have a GREAT Friday Miss Awesome 🙂

  2. Going out tonight with friends for dinner! Hoping we don’t have to wait hours on a table.
    I love PB too! Actually just got 7 flavors of PB in the mail today that I ordered from SPREAD in San Diego. Wow, so delicious!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Why do you say whey protein only after workouts?? I never know when I should avoid protein and why…

  4. I never believe in elimating food groups, but I dont think Id ever try to lean out anymore either! But i looove you! 🙂

    Your workout schedule is killer.

  5. Jess says:

    I can’t eliminate food groups, it just makes me obsessive.

  6. I have gone vegan for the week as part of a challenge, so I have eliminated a lot. I have learned that my body wants me to eat everything, balance and moderation 🙂

  7. Jen says:

    First ,you are amazing 🙂

    Second, I don’t believe in elminating food groups (which is probably why I’m as heavy as I am.), but I do believe in limiting things; if that makes sense.

  8. Jessica says:

    Well, I am actually starting to eliminate food groups at this point in my diet. I can’t say that I love the idea, but perhaps its the only way that my body will respond. It was great to see what your diet consists of and gain more insight on what others are doing to prep for competition. Thank you, as always, for sharing.

  9. Great info! I do have a question for you though… I’m trying to add MUSCLE weight, or just strength. I want to be “ripped”… that being said, I bought a BodyMedia thing- that calculates your daily caloric burn. It’s pretty accurate and on average, I’m burning about 2300+ Calories a day. I do not want to gain fat, but am I suppose to be eating at least to maintenance or should I eat less than this?
    I’m a little lost. Eating 2500 calories some days just seems scary.

  10. Hannah says:

    Hi becca, stumbled upon your blog the other day and i LOVE IT!!!:) Very inspiring! I just had a question – what are yo-yo sets?

    Thanks
    Hannah
    🙂

  11. Sera says:

    Can you update this?

Leave a Reply

