Sometimes We Need a Virtual Hug

Posted: February 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

Last year I did three preps for figure competitions…. Back to back… with my trainer being 1000’s of miles away, no mom close by to give me a hug when I needed it and no friends in the city who “got” what I was doing.

… At all.

Thankfully I had an amazing online “support group” if you will that recieved many (millions???) of emails and texts when I was down (but not out).

It wasn’t easy. I was in a relationship with someone whose first question after I stepped off stage for the first time was “are you finally going to be normal and get fat again now?” …. Sweet I know and honestly it was tough. Really tough.

Going through prep is a rollercoaster for your emotions, especially as you get closer and closer to your show date. You’re tired. You’re hungry. You are just ready to seize the cheeseburger and chow down.

... I still ask people to smell their food... and beer... it's weird, I know

I’ve been following Jessica at fitandlivinit for a few weeks/months/whatever now and she’s currently in her first prep. I hope she doesnt mind me giving her a shout out but she’s been on the rollercoaster for a bit now and I think everyoneeeeeeee out there should go give her a big virutal hug. It’s not an easy ride and she’s got such an amazing story that I think everyone should support her kick ass self!

And with that… I’m going to bed. Early. Again.

Comments
  1. Nighty night!

    I love reading your blog with all your successes. You are going to rock that competition!

  2. Tenecia says:

    I’m heading over to her blog now!

    T.

    P.S. You’re “good people”, Becca. I mean that.

  3. Jessica says:

    You just made my night:) Thank you so much! How completely wonderful of you!!!!!

  4. marlopnwgirl says:

    I think youve managed prep very well missy! Im very proud of you!!! Loves you!

  5. […] from ihearteggs talked about this too so I KNOW I am not alone […]

Leave a Reply

