Cardio Entertainment

Posted: February 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

So I think it’s (painfully) obvious that I do cardio six days a week.

We've all been here

Two of my sessions are only 20 minutes long and “higher intensity”, aka intervals, sweat your face off, I want to cry intensity.

I literally DO sweat my face off most of the time during these sessions. The mascara running down my face is proof of that. No, I won’t take a picture of that to prove it.

Disclaimer: I fully admit to wearing 837 coats of mascara so this probably aids in the “sweating my face off” department.

The other four sessions are at 6am Monday-Thursday mornings. Anyone who is awake at this time (like a crazy person) probably sees that I tweet out of boredom since these sessions are “easier”.

I'm not too smart in the mornings

I usually power walk on an incline or split it between that and the upright bike depending on my mood/attention span.

TV at 6am is well, fairly lame. I usually split my time between TSN and RDS highlights with a bit of Vermont news thrown in.

(I avoid “la canal vie”, the life channel at all costs. Wednesday morning is John and Kate Plus Eight… season one… in French. Ugh)

While I tend to zone into hockey highlights, daydream or just sing along to my ipod I’m always looking for new ideas to entertain me.

I was SUPER excited to find this out today!!!

Can anyone suggest any podcasts to download? Comedians? Health info? Books!? I’m kind of clueless on them! (it’s okay if you just tell me to google. I won’t be offended!)

Also! When I downloaded the twitter app for my phone I got the straight up one. But when I went to download something else this morning I saw all these other options… hoot? Tweetdeck? Huh?! Can anyone fill me in or suggest a better option for tweeting from the treadmill?!

Anyway! I shall return later with something  a bit more intelligent! I promise!

How technologically savvy are you?

-Everyone always thinks I’m a mega geek but I am CLUELESS!!!

Any tips/hints/tricks to entertain me during cardio?!

Comments
  1. Genie says:

    Netflix on iPad/iTouch/iPhone = happy cardio. Seriously.

    And I need to start wearing mascara… or something. I’m just a slob.

    • ihearteggs says:

      I never even thought of netflix on my phone! I only wear mascara and tinted moiturizer. Mascara is my security blanket! lol I’m a bum and anything to get showered and to work faster is A-OK for me.

  2. Faith Keith says:

    Netflix is a fab idea – I usually go unplugged, but if I do cardio at home then I usually watch a movie since the machine faces a wall/tv instead of a window or the gym floor.

    Another idea – BLOG! haha it’s hard to type if you’re running but stairmill and bike is totally doable. Sometimes I start a post using the iphone wordpress app

    Another idea – memorize a series of quotes and chant them

    I still think the netflix is the best idea…and I think it was @LilFitPrincess who told me about scary movie cardio – gets your heart pumpin before the cardio does! eek!

  3. I’m not technology savvy at all..god knows how I blog for real.

    I sweat the 20 layers of makeup off on my face too because I go straight from class to the gym. The weekends are nice since I don’t have raccoon eyes from the mascara melting…

  4. Julia says:

    I guess there is no eye candy at your gym then 😉 Luckily for me I just stare at good looking men lol

  5. Jess says:

    Thanks for sharing about the app!!

  6. I have a Kindle and absolutely love using it during cardio because you can change the fonts sizes. It makes 9 miles on the treadmill fly by. 🙂

  7. bikiniorbust says:

    I ‘favorite’ tons of tweets with links to blog posts and other articles that I want to read and then read them while doing cardio. I just use the Twitter app for iphone and like that well enough! I usually tweet, blog, or read articles while doing cardio which can lead to some interesting tweets!
    I used to try reading a book, but that was just way too hard. And after nearly decapitating a man when it flew out of my hand I stopped. No need to cause others bodily harm despite my daily cardio requirements! 🙂

  8. MAGAZINES! I’ve bribed myself to actually do cardio by stopping at the store to buy two fresh ones.

    I also love the podcast “Q” its arts and entertainment but its Canadian so not sure if its available in the states

  9. Do you like CBC radio? I love the CBC and all of their programming is available as podcasts. If you aren’t into Stewart McLean already you should be. Download his Vinyl Cafe stories they are a blissful distraction and a great laugh. I also love Q with Jian Ghomeshi.

Leave a Reply

