I’m Cranky, Let Me Tell You Why

Posted: February 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

Normally I like to think I’m a pretty happy-go-lucky positive person. This week… well.

Your daily LOLCat

Despite having a GREAT week… my training is on, my meals are delicious, my cardio is rocking… I am cranky.

And I mean CRANKY.

Please tell me I’m not alone in having these weeks. My life and training is going great, but every little thing annoys me. I guess you could say my patience is wearing thin and I really have no good reason as to why this is happening, and knowing me I’ll be fine in a day or two…. But until then I’d advise avoiding me because yeah, I’m cranky.

Normally I would blame this shift in mood to drop in carbs, added cardio, my weight stalling, exhaustion but ummm… None of that applies. My carbs are the same as day one of prep, I have the option to do shorter cardio sessions if I’m tired, I’m on track to drop a bit on the scale by Saturday.

So what gives? Well since you ASKED…. Let me tell you.

ONE: I take public transit. Apparently the Societe de Transport de Montreal won the 2010 outstanding public transit for North America award. Well good for you, who were you up against? Pocalogan, New Brunswick?

(FYI: that IS a real place, and they do not even have public transit)

Rarely does a day go by without a delay for a jammed door, electrical problems, smoke, etc etc.

Oh… and don’t even get me started on people who crowd the doors when the train stops. I can’t get out to make room for you if you stand in front of the damn door people! Logic! Use it!

TWO: I finally put on my big girl pants and made an eye exam appointment for last night. Without insurance (and a starting out salary that didn’t include health insurance) I couldn’t afford glasses so why save up for the exam if I couldn’t do anything ABOUT it? Well I have insurance, I can scrounge up the money for new glasses if needed. Let’s do it.

Me wearing my glasses... a rare sight

65$ for a 5 minute exam…. The 15 minute lecture I got on neglecting my health that made me feel like I was 5 and being scolded for stealing cookies? … That was free.

Yes I know I should have my eyes tested more often, but sometimes things aren’t perfect. Making 10$ an hour, paying rent and bills doesn’t exactly leave a lot of room to buy new glasses that umm… I only need for driving… which I also don’t do anymore. (see point number one)

THREE: After my morning cardio I leave my stinky cardio clothes in my gym locker with my evening gym clothes/towel/makeup and such. Yesterday my lock was cut (by mistake) and my stuff was left there. Open to the public. Thankfully nothing was taken but for real? Ugh.

My home away from home

FOUR: 23 minutes into my cardio today I felt a blister forming on my left heel. It’s a feeling I know well from my love of 5 inch heels, but have no recollection of ever getting a blister from gym sneaks. I hopped off the treadmill and switched to the upright bike after adjusting my sock/sneaker combo but regardless… mild blister. No biggie, but painful and annoying.

FIVE:  Mother Nature. She’s a snotface.

Srsly?

Winter storm warning? 30cm of snow by Friday night? Sure. Why not. Oh look at that, it’s supposed to be 5 degrees and 10-15mm of rain AND 10-15cm snow on Monday. This time of year blows. I am officially over winter, so should you be mother nature. Make up your mind, commit to a season and stick to that please and thanks.

SIX: Vampire books/tv shows/movies. Anyone with access to a tv or the internet knows these are HUGE. I admit I’ve read the Twilight books and that I loved the True Blood books (and tv show), so when I was out of options at the videostore Sunday I picked up the Vampire Diaries.

Vampire story writers need to get together to write a list of set in stone “vampire rules” so people can actually follow this stuff. These vampires can’t go out in the sun, these ones can but they sparkle, oh and these ones can, but only if they have a ring, otherwise they burn. Seriously?

It took me a good 4 or 5 episodes before I could figure out what was going on and what the “rules” are. Confusing. And annoying.

SEVEN: Why is it ALL OF MY SOCKS seem to have a hole in the heel all of a sudden?! I’m seriously buying out every pair of socks I can find at costco and zellers this weekend. No joke.

FYI: NOT the cause of my blister this morning

Honestly I’m sure I could go on.. and on.. and on.. But I think seven reasons why I’m cranky is more than enough.

And with this post I am here by choosing to consciously try to shift my crankiness away from me. All of this stuff is stupid, it’s silly, it’s really pointless to get upset and annoyed by it, so you know what…. I’m going to ignore it. I’m going to TRY to zone in on the positive side of the situation because there ARE positives.

ONE: My four long (early morning) cardio sessions are DONE for the week. I get to sleep in tomorrow! YAY!

... if this thing allows it

TWO: VACATIONNNNNNNNNNNNNN! Two weeks from TODAY I am on my way to the East Coast! (by train, but I don’t even care!)

I will be buying every flavored coffee from here to bring back to Montreal. YUM

THREE: Fritz always keeping me on my toes. While he generally cuddles in at night and doesn’t move an inch, when I woke up the other night he was missing… I assumed he was on the couch… I assumed wrong. He was drinking from the toilet and scared the &*^&*^ out of me when I just saw a shadow moving in the dark bathroom while I was half asleep

Normal behavior for him

FOUR: Fitting into old clothes, rocking out in my size 0 jeans and actually WANTING to dress up a bit again instead of hiding out in my jeans and big hoodies.

FIVE: Ahhh… Saturday is my high day. I’m planning something delicious. Possibly of the French toast variety. Stay tuned. Plus breakfast. I love breakfast any day of the week. Hellllllllo toast!

Hmmm... I like the looks of this!

SIX: My dad not having time to reply to my text today, but finding the time in his “busy schedule” to call me THREE TIMES yesterday to be sure I saw the video he forwarded to me of a dog eating a sandwich and then putting the cat on the plate to take the blame. Cute video, but really? THREE PHONE CALLS!? Oh my family rocks

SEVEN: The slow period at work ending. With Chinese New Year over, our offices are back open, the factories and dye houses are once again producing again and packages are slowly starting to arrive. Ahhh… to be crazy busy again!

Welcome to my crazy

So there you have it. Equal number of reasons to be happy as there are to be cranky. Today I’m choosing to be positive. And that’s all I have to say on THAT.

What is making you cranky this week?

… and what is making you look on the bright side?

Comments
  1. Jess says:

    It seems like you have plenty of understandable reasons to be a little cranky! Hope it all gets better. Honestly, my printer not working is driving me CRAZY.

  2. Well, my achilles in my feet are acting up so I can’t run. My brother has created a world of drama in my families life…but that isn’t new. There is a lot on my plate this week, but I’m just glad to be able to even work out ya know?

    You always inspire me with your blog and being able to overcome small little things that people say or do against you.

  3. Genie says:

    I have been in serious bitch mode this week! EEP! I feel all PMSy, but it’s the wrong week. LOL!

  4. Dotsie says:

    Work makes me cranky but reading your blog puts me in a good mood!! The boy cub co-worker makes me cranky but pandora and earbuds make me happy.

    Crossfit after work rocks my world 😀

  5. Amanda says:

    There has been much under-breath muttering and on-the-sly eye rolling from this girl lately, too. I loved your list, so understandable. Sometimes it’s the small things that are the most annoying. And I put holes in all of my socks too, I have no idea how! It drives me nuts! I hope you have a happier rest of the week 🙂

  6. I was cranky because I strained my back during my last back workout, which resulted in my traps spasming and causing me tear welling pain. This stupid injury rendered me useless and I hate not being able to do anything and I dislike hurting while doing nothing. I was also frustrated because I don’t have the money to afford massages or physio (I buckled for the massage because drugs were not working and I couldn’t take the pain anymore).

    p.s. Don’t feel bad about avoiding the eye doctor. I have been wearing glasses since I was twelve and I avoid the $75 eye exam plus the $500 dollars I have to cough out for new glasses after every eye exam as much as I can.

  7. allieksmith says:

    Awww you poor girl! I hope you feel less cranky for the weekend 😉 Glad to hear that your training is going well though :)!! I can’t believe they left your gym stuff out in the open. I would complain hard core haha

  8. Jessica says:

    I hope more things start happening that make you smile. Go find something that makes you happy like-fritz. My dog always makes me laugh and smile, especially when she is hopping around at 4am:)

  9. marlopnwgirl says:

    ahh id be very frustrated with a lot of those things too.. The gym locker thing? Are you joking me.. Id be pissed.. Id probably walk out there and rage.. Like WTF! I had a LULU sweat shirt in there bitches! Somoene coulda stole that! HAHAhAHAA!

    Hm.. Im going snowshoeing on sunday with the boy.. Thats making me look on the bright side.. I cant wait to show him a love of mine!

  10. […] I’m Cranky, Let Me Tell You Why […]

Leave a Reply

