Quick Tuesday PSA

Posted: March 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

This is something I’ve noticed a lot at my gym lately.

Why? Umm.. who knows.

  • It could be the times I come and go from the gym…
  • It could be my shrinking size means I’m more observant of other people…
  • It could be the slightly less intense new year’s crowd so more room to observe…
  • It could be my irritated, cranky about the lingering “extra” people in my gym…
  • It could be my job in fashion, previously working in the FIT department…
  • It could be the large number of (screaming) spin class attendees at my gym…
  • It could just be I’m crazy and need to get it off my chest…

But regardless.

Here it is flat out people.

If you choose to wear spandex, BUY THE PROPER SIZE.

That’s right. The proper size. The size you are right this second. Not the size you *hope* to be or even *plan* to be in 3 months time. Buying clothing with the intentions of fitting into it *eventually*…. But still WEARING IT in the meantime is just wrong.

Just because it’s spandex and spretchy doesn’t mean you can put a size 10 behind into a size 4 and call it a day. Muffin top isn’t just for jeans anymore people. At all.

I know I’m guilty of wearing my fair share of spandex. Hello, I was a rower for years. Have you ever worn a spandex “unisuit”? I certainly have. (Oh there is pictures… just not pretty ones)

No shame in checking out your own booty... if you want others to check it out too!

While I do generally choose to wear my baggy Victoria’s Secret BF sweats most nights to train (best sweats ever BTW), I do still sport the spandex for cardio. Hello, I work my butt off to do so. Whatever.

I live in these sweats... or any of the 3 or 4 pairs I have

But even when I was bigger I did the logical thing. I bought it in a bigger size!

So simple. So logical.

But people at my gym clearly never got that memo. Ugh.

End rant!

How do you feel about the way clothes fit?

Is the fit of gym clothes just as important as regular clothing?

Comments
  1. allieksmith says:

    L O L . That is all I have to say 😉

  2. Oh.My.God.

    I was seriously just having this conversation today. There was some girl running on the treadmill and her ass was literally hanging out. I could see her butt cheeks like for realz (with the knee high socks..blah blah blah…). She was wearing XS and honestly she was size M. But anywho-i told her that her butt was hanging out and that the meat heads couldn’t see unless she lifted weights…

    She didn’t take too kindly to it.

  3. Dotsie says:

    Ummm can you discretely take a pic of the spandex ofdenders 😛

  4. my personal favourite is the thong hanging out of the workout clothes! so classy!

  5. marlopnwgirl says:

    We were just talking about this the other day at Lulu.. My co-worker looked irritated and i go “whats up” shes like “i hate how people think they are smaller sizes.. when i was trying to fit this girl i asked her what size she is and she said 00.. I looked at her and she is CLEARLY not a 00.. shes like a 4-6.. Yet she refused to try on 4’s.. She wanted the XXS”… HAHAHHA!! We laughed for awhile about that.. People are nutty.. They think if i can squeez into it i must be that size right? Um.. no. it makes you look fat and you arent fat..

  6. I feel the same way. Not just for gym clothes, for ALL clothes. Especially jeans. Nobody can see the damn tag, so just buy the next size up. Clothes actually make you look smaller if you buy them a tiny bit bigger. UGH!

  7. Sarah says:

    I AGREE! I swear there are some people (both men and women) at my gym that legit think it’s okay to wear really tiny spandex when they really should not be wearing it at all! If they must, can they atleast pass on the “shorts” version? I’m okay with leggings here people 😉 I’m not going to say I don’t wear spandez, because personally I love my nike pro little booty shorts, then again they actually fit me correctly! Hahah awesome rant!

Leave a Reply

