What a Day

Posted: March 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

Crazy busy to say the least. Sadly it’s not the wonderful kind of crazy busy where everything goes perfectly as planned.

It’s the crazy busy where everything palced on your desk is a problem.

… like a BIG one. *le sigh*

But alas, the day is over, only FOUR MORE WORK DAYS until vacation.

FOUR PEOPLE…. FOUR!!!!!!!

Needless to say it’s been a bit insane today, I’m still not feeling too hot… well, I am, but that’s more due to a fever than my general health. So I’m going to keep this short and sweet. It’s looking like a busy weekend and sometimes when you’re in prep you need to prioritize and plan every last detail so you can feel normal and sane.

(when we all know the last thing I am is normal or sane)

Stripper shoes in the weight room? totally normal!

So without further ado…. Here is the game plan.

Friday:

  • Stop at grocery store and get necessities for tonight and tomorrow morning
  • Relax, nap if needed
  • Cardio. Even if it’s a crap session, it’s cardio.
  • Revise meal plan for new “high day”

Saturday:

  • Clean house
  • Gym for shoulders/back, 20 minutes cardio
  • Go buy train ticket, check baggage check in times
  • Dig out suitcase and cooler for trip
  • Make lists/pack anything already clean and ready to go
  • Plan out meals/workout schedule for the week

 

Time to dig this back out!

Sunday:

  • Leg day, 20 minutes cardio (FIRST THING)
  • Groceries, errands, fun stuff
  • Pack meals for Monday-Thursday at work
  • Prep and label all meals for Thursday night/Friday on train
  • Laundry and packing

 

I.Hate.Packing

It seems like A LOT but if I set out what to do on each day at least I’m not leaving it all til Sunday and overwhelming myself.

Since I’m working Monday-Thursday and have to be at the train station by 5:30-6 pm Thursday I want to have everything ready to go. With cardio every morning and my usual evening workouts I’m not going to have time (or the desire) to run around/pack/organize. I want it to be done and over with.

It’s going to be a crazy busy weekend (and week) but I’m excited for it and SO READY for vacation… so if getting home to relax means a lot of planning and prepping I’m 100% okay with that!

Happy Weekend Everyone!

Any big packing tips/tricks for this hopeless over-packer?!?

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    Hey, just found your blog recently! Love the name, very cute. I used to be an over-packer too, til I backpacked in Europe. Then I packed JUST the essentials. I made a list, asked myself the purpose of each item, and if its purpose was already covered by another item, I took it out. Even workout wear doubled as sleepwear. If your trip’s not that long, you can be more lenient, but 4 weeks living out of a 64L backpack will turn you into an extreme minimalist. Even for weekend excursions a few hours away from home, I’ll limit myself to one duffel bag and my laptop. It’s very freeing!

  2. I suck major ass at packing. 🙂

  3. Katie says:

    Good luck with your weekend and packing! I LOVEEEE making lists. I am nerdy and a type-A perfectionist. I love to plan, plan, plan. I can’t wait to compete in the next year or so! I think I will be good at the whole meal plan/workout thing because I practically already act like I am in prep (with the exception that I eat more carbs and calories and do less cardio, of course). 😀

    Oh, by the way, I love your blog and I think it’s great to find someone else out there who loves lifting like I do. And, I look up to you for competing and being your own trainer! I am currently doing New Rules of Lifting program, but in about 4 or 5 months I will start training with a trainer so that I can compete sometime in the near future! I am psyched!

  4. You are so organized!!! Very impressive!

    I’m a totally overpacker and I can’t see doing it any other way. You never know what you might need spur of the moment. Good to be over-prepared than be stuck scramblin’.

    Have a fantastic weekend!

  5. I overpack like it’s my job. I ask myself if I have worn it in the last month then it can be packed. If not then no. Then I ask myself about five times if I will really wear it. I honestly end up trying to cut my clothes in half when I pack.

  6. Katie says:

    I really enjoy your blog. It’s inspirational to me because you compete and you train YOURSELF! I am wanting to compete in the near future. Just saving up my money for some training. In the meantine I am doing New Rules of Lifting to build some muscles!!! I am like you and like to eat the SAME thing all the time, so I don’t think comp prep will be too bad, other than the low low carb days. 😀

  7. I’m a super light packer because I’ve travelled lots and I like to make sure everything I pack goes into a carry on because you should always assume your luggage will be lost. I only ever pack 1 pair of pants (because lets get real, they don’t need to be washed every wear), multiple tops, workout clothes and comfy travel clothes. Remember you can always wash clothes while you are away and lot of times you buy new clothes on vacation so packing less is a way to save room for the stuff you will bring back. Overpack socks and undies and don’t overdo the toiletries. Yes, use the hotel stuff (that’s what it is for), if you are staying with family they will have tooth paste, shampoo, etc., just bring meds, makeup and any other essential items. I hope this helps. I have packing down to a science.

  8. Jessica says:

    I am also hopeless at packing. I just went to San Fran and I believe that I probably packed for a month. I always bring tons of outfits because I never know what I will feel good in:)

  9. Jen says:

    Hope you were able to get everything done and that you are feeling better! It’s almost your vacation time 🙂

  10. marlopnwgirl says:

    I love the way you plan and layed out what needs to be done on which days.. Sounds like me.. I think when you have so much stuff going on you kind of HAVE to be like that, or stuff just gets missed or you end up crazy! So jealous of your vacation!

Leave a Reply

