Why Do I Do This to Myself?!?

Posted: March 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

I hurt. A lot.

Sure it’s my own fault, but that’s not the point.

I’m in pain and want to curl up and umm.. nap and be lazy?

Bed... book... Fritz... Sounds good right about now.

That sounds about right.

After my epic training week on vacation and living with DOMS I wanted to keep that feeling going. (… yes, I’m sick I know). So I decided to try out a shoulder workout Sarah had sent me, with a few modifications due to my gym being dumb and crazy busy last night.

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted up a workout since they are relatively the same, I just change number of sets/reps and the order, add in here and there, but you know. Similar.

While last night was nothing “new”, it was VERY different and after only the first exercise I was sending a quick tweet to sarah (on one of my many bathroom breaks) to tell her I was in pain.

Seated DB Shoulder Press:

  • Warm up set, 30 reps, easy-ish weight
  • 2nd set: 25 reps, slightly heavier
  • 3rd set: 20 reps, again heavier
  • 4th -6th sets, 10 reps, increasing weights
  • 7th set: 10-15 reps, slightly less weight
  • 8th set: 10-15 reps, then drop lighter, rep out, lighter still, rep out to fail

 Seated Military Press (Machine):

  • 3 sets, 15 reps each

 Side Lateral Raises, superset w/ front raises:

  • 3 triple drop set (10 reps each) for side laterals, then superset 10 reps front raises

 Upright Row, superset w/ High Rope Pulls:

  • 3 sets, 10 reps (both exercises)

 Bent Over Rear Delt Raises:

  • 3 sets, 10 reps

 Ummm yeah, understand my pain. Ouch. Just ouch.

I woke up with heavy arms. My chest and tris were a bit sore from Tuesday night’s workout, and I could tell my shoulders weren’t… Right.

I rarely get sore shoulders… and by rarely I mean never.

They’re sore. It’s just starting now so I have a feeling it will get worse as the day goes on and washing my hair and blow drying may be very painful tomorrow.

… or at least I hope.

Totally okay with a bad hair day if it means I get shoulder caps someday!

Thankfully I had something epic waiting for me.

Clearly I’m cheap. I make absolutely NO excuses for that, I am who I am. Normally I buy my protein powder at GNC. I had my ex’s gold card and when it is about 3 months from expiring they put protein on mega mark down, so I’d often get 2lb tubs for 12-15$. I got to have a wide range of flavors and brands and it saved me money.

I was happy.

Then the end of February came… bringing with it the expiring of said Gold card (and my costco card… must renew!) so I began watching the emails I get from supplement companies knowing I would soon be out and in need of a good deal.

Enter Popeye’s. I knew they had 5lb tubs of Gaspari Myofusion on sale for 49.99$… normally it’s MUCH more. So after a long twitter discussion on flavors I settled on banana and went to buy last night.

PERFECTION

Ummm… mixed in water it was the thickest shake I’ve EVER had, no fake banana taste. Absolute heaven. Like beyond words perfection. I want to eat it for every.single.meal.

You must try this if you like (or even if you don’t!) banana!

After that I was a total bum and went home to chit chat with the parental and watch an episode of 90210. I’m cool like that.

I’ve got a couple of heavier posts floating around in my head that I keep meaning to type up… so if you don’t see anything more important than *yay banana!!!* in a few days, someone slap me.

Happy Mini Friday!

Do you use protein powder? Favorite brand/flavors?

Comments
  1. Katie says:

    I have the pb chocolate from myofusion. i agree, it’s thick! i am skeptical to try the banana. I am afraid it would be too overpowering. I can’t wait to try mine in oats though! I bet it will be super creamy!

  2. allieksmith says:

    Yay banana !!! Yum 🙂 I love being sore… enjoy those shoulder caps- you earned em!

  3. Kari says:

    Banana Myofusion is the shiz-nit! Wish I could have it on my diet. My bf uses it every day.

  4. I use Allmax Isoflex, it’s kind of expensive but highly recommended by my trainer. I just purchased it at GNC for the first time so that I could by a 5lb can instead of 2lbs at a time. I always get Chocolate or vanilla, boring I know but I find most flavoured proteins too sweet.

    You make this Myofusion sound like a dream come true! and whoa I had no idea they mark down protein at GNC before it’s going to expire, heck I need to start trolling for those deals.

  5. I love optimum nutrition in cake batter. Seriously it is the best protein powder I have ever (and will ever try).

  6. Sarah says:

    I use optimum in rich chocolate, dymatize whey/casein blend in the peanut butter, and muscle gauge cinnamon! Obviously I swap them up, usually only use them once a day – pwo 🙂

    SOunds like a good night with reading, Fritz and BED!!!!

  7. Lisa says:

    I think I’ve tried every one of them out there! I usually use Dymatize Elite- I like the chocolate mint or cafe mocha. I have tons of Myofusion samples i need to try though!

Leave a Reply

