Progress… Or Lack Thereof

Posted: March 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

Hellllllllllllllllllllo plateau.

And a giant welcome to a huge helping side of frustration that comes with that plateau.

I think we’ve all been there. The scale just will.not.move.

Or it does, but up .1, down .1 over and over and over.

That’s where I’m at. I’ve been playing around with the same .3 lbs for the last three weeks and quite honestly I’m at the end of my rope.

Plateau's are lame. Mega lame

I know I’m being highly over-dramatic and whiny, but let’s be real here. This is my sticking point. I was not able to get past this plateau last year, we tried everything, more cardio, less carbs, more carbs, carb cycling, etc etc.

You clearly get the point.

Basically what I’m getting at is this is a very scary place for me mentally. Saturday at posing class I found myself doubting everything. Why was I even TRYING to compete again. I really am just the fat beauty queen and will never be anything more than a pretty face.

Obviously my best reaction to all of this would be to engulf myself in a giant vat of 99cent metro pizza and coldstone. It was clearly the only option I had right?

Wrong. As much as I WANTED to cheat, I did not. Knowing that Monday morning and a check in with Joe was right around the corner kept me on the straight and narrow. I admitted all of my fears to him, fully confessed I didn’t do my cardio yesterday.

That’s right. You didn’t make a mistake. I did not get off the couch yesterday. There was a lot of other factors involved other than just the fat beauty queen self talk going on.

These factors resulted in a lot of tears, a lot of texts/emails with a few very close friends and a very uplifting decision was made.

While I’m not ready to disclose my choices made yesterday on my blog, I will say I am still completely on track. I did not let my emotional eating rear its ugly head yesterday. I am still planning on competing in July and I will NOT be the fat beauty queen.

I do admit I have a lot of work ahead of me and just under 14 weeks to get there. Hopefully after hearing back from Joe today or tomorrow I will have my answers, my revised plan and will break through my plateau as soon as humanly possible.

Why?

Because I want this.

So very very badly.

And I WILL achieve it.

I know this looks like a lot of changes, but keep in mind photo 1 is from valentine’s day and the other is 5 weeks later. There IS changes going on, but nothing major in the last few weeks. But regardless, I wanted to post.

Something is better than nothing... right?!

Sorry for the elusive talk and Debbie downer attitude. I’m actually NOT down, just frustrated, and it will be pushed through. Guaranteed.

How do you deal with setbacks?

Any tips on killing a plateau?

Comments
  1. I feel for ya girl! Major kudos for sticking to your plan though. And your progress is remarkable! Those photos don’t lie!

    Getting over a pleateau? I’d say some HIIT workouts possibly. You’re already doing so much and such a great job to boot!

  2. kathleen says:

    That’s a big change from february until now. Keep up the good work!

  3. Jess says:

    You can get there- a good attitude is the first step!

  4. We all have these moments. We all hate admitting that we have these moments. What matters is that you move forward! Give your self a pat on the back for not buckling and eating that cold stone.

    Your progress pictures are amazing and I think they speak for themselves. Often the scale doesn’t move when your body comp is changing. My trainer says to never look at the scale, so I don’t. In fact if my husband had not bought one, I wouldn’t even own one.

  5. Allie says:

    Sorry about the plateau girl 😦 I wish I knew what to tell you to do! I think you look really, really awesome and I miss work out days all the time 😉 You are SUCH a hard worker I know it is all going to pay off. Go cuddle Fritz now!

  6. Jessica says:

    I always try to remember that even if it seems like a plateau, your body is still working hard and changing. For me there is always this plateau with weight and then suddenly with persistence it drops– its the patience thats so difficult. Keep it up:)

  7. Marlo says:

    Ow Ow! looking good missy!! I see changes in your pics.. that lower belly is getting leaner and leaner.. so are the arms..

    Love you tons! And i support you in your decisions.. Just wish i was there to give you a giant hug a long with my support!!

  8. Lisa says:

    I say you need a cheat meal and/or carb up day to trick your body. Also like Shanna suggested, some HIIT, unless you are already doing that.

    Hang in there, I completely understand and hate plateau’s. You’re doing awesome, keep up the great work!!!

Leave a Reply

