Friday Faves… Because You All Want to Know

Posted: April 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

I know I know I know… I make dieting, prep and morning cardio look like a barrel of monkeys when it comes to the fun-o-meter.

I dont beleive it either... april fools?!

But you know what, sometimes it stinks.

I’m hungry this week.

Like, SERIOUSLY hungry.

I fully admit I actually chewed on my own arm to prove this point to a co worker…. And yeah, I DIDN’T have diet changes this week… or in a few weeks.

So what gives?!

Oh what a complicated web prep weaves.

I’ve been filling up on different foods this week, including a lot of ginormous, full of random things, salads. (Which is so not like me this time of year)

The picture doesnt do this huge bowl justice

I even paid 6.37$ for an under-ripe spaghetti squash last night because I “needed” it.

Thankfully spring is here and hopefully that means the prices on produce will start to drop. If I have to eat another 3 months of frozen green beans or broccoli I’m going to lose my marbles. After work today I’m heading to my fav farmers market to scope out the scene and see if the prices are getting any more reasonable. I live for the day the giant box of perfectly ripe, huge spaghetti squash reappears…. With a 3 for 5$ sign attached to it.

Soon... very soon

And don’t even get me started on my baby sized bladder. I drink a ton of water (about TWO GALLONS a day!!!) and well, clearly I drink about “8 cups” of coffee a day.

(the *8 cups* thing on the coffee pot must be for those tiny expresso cups btw… seriously, NOT 8 cups!)

I’d like to think my second cardio session of the day is my bi-hourly walk to the bathroom.

So what’s a girl to do when she can’t drown her sorrows in a boot full of beer or get a bladder transplant?

Classy I know

She takes pleasure in the simple things that makes her life slightly better when dieting and prep is her lifestyle.

Without further ado… here are some of my (new and old) favorite things that make prep just a teeny tiny bit better for me!

Love, Love, Love

Clearly self explanatory as I’ve already professed my love of coffee, my coffee pot and my highly overcaffienated self over and over again.

Cheese?! Yes Please!

My newest grocery store find. I love cheese. I do not however love the serving size of cheese.

For me it’s just not worth it to have a tiny piece of cheese. It just makes me crave it more, so I just don’t eat it (except laughing cow wedges on occasion!). When I found this seasoning claiming 0 carbs and 0 cals I was a little skeptical it would be 100% funk taste but yeah, it’s amazing. Tastes like real parm cheese with an Italian-y seasoning. Heaven. It’s great on eggs, raosted veggies and spaghetti squash (so far!).

... Kind of like mexican?!

I love mexican food. Mexican food is often full of cheese (see point two….), but that doesn’t mean I can’t have Mexican-y taste in my food. Enter taco seasoning. The above picture is lean beef and green beans cooked with taco seasoning (and sweet potato!)

Heaven!

"Frostbitten Hooligans".... Eh?

And last but not least…. GQ magazine’s latest article which listed Montreal Canadiens fans as the eleventh worst fans in the WORLD of sports.

11. Montreal Canadiens
Frostbitten Hooligans

Forget the riots that erupted last May after the Canadiens made it to the Eastern Conference final; they were nothing compared with the hordes of looters who set fire to five police cars during the 2008 playoffs simply because Montreal advanced past the first round. Meanwhile, inside the Bell Centre, the only things people boo more frequently than the U.S. national anthem are their own players. In 2003, team veteran Patrice “Breeze-by” Brisebois was heckled almost every time he touched the puck; the jeering was so intense it likely induced a stress-related irregular heartbeat. How did then GM Bob Gainey feel about his bloodthirsty fan base? “I think they’re a bunch of gutless bastards, to be honest,” he said.

I prefer to think of us as “passionate about the game”.

… But yeah.. playoffs get a little intense around here. But you know what? I wouldnt have it any other way!

(FYI: We are not like this for any of our other sports teams. Our CFL team won the Grey Cup the last two years and honestly, could care less. We win the Stanley cup and it’ll be a natioanl holiday)

So I leave you with that. Somethings that just rock my world today (and this week). Happy Friday to all!

…. and to all a good night!

What are you loving this second?!

Comments
  1. Jess says:

    Great article! I prefer passionate, too! Can’t wait:)

  2. Amanda says:

    Oh man, I need to find that “parmesan”!! That really does sound too amazing to be true. And I hate it when I have “hungry” weeks for no logical reason. So frustrating. I’m glad you are focusing on the positive and staying with your plan! You already look so amazing!

  3. I’m loving your blog obviously. I cannot wait until produce drops a ton because that is not okay. I have been eating a ton of frozen veggies which are just making me feel sick at this point ha.

  4. allieksmith says:

    YAY for farmers market and cheap produce! I also cannot wait 🙂

  5. lifttorun says:

    I am definitely digging your blog. I just came across it.

  6. Calorie free cheese?!?!?!? OMFG!!!!!

  7. Lisa says:

    Okay, let me tell YOU what I’m loving. Damn you! Cheeseburger salad! Yes, I made it the other night though I was skeptical about the whole ketchup/mustard dressing. Oh my God, best salad EVER! I’ll be eating this like every night. Thank you =)

Leave a Reply

