Lumbering Along Like an Elephant

Posted: April 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

I woke up feeling better today.

Going home last night and having to eat three meals in 5 hours was nice. Food food food.

In bed by 9:30 and slept… decently.

Rereading all your AMAZING comments on last night’s post while I had my breakfast (sans candles today) which instantly brightened my mood.

Then while I was walking to the gym through the inside walkways I looked outside. The ground was wet. I knew it was about 8 degrees and ALMOST thought about going home to run outside.

Yeah like THAT would happen.

But then I got to the gym. Wanting to, needing to, switch up my cardio.

Of course, the stepmill was still on the fritz

No no... not THAT fritz

So I hopped on a treadmill thinking about doing my usual fav incline power walking… but instead I decided I would run. For five to ten minutes.

Just a little shake up ya know? I set the incline at 1.5% and got to it. I eased into it and increased the speed when I felt comfortable.

I still run like an angry elephant. It’s so not pretty. At all.

Before I knew it 35 minutes was done, I was a SWEATY, tired beast and I had covered four miles.

Hot.Mess.

WHA?!?!?!?

Yeah. I don’t even know who I am anymore.

I finished my 40 minutes with power walking on a higher incline then did a longer cool down and doubled my usual stretching time. I don’t want to be hurting from this.

I had sweaty knees. THAT’S how great of a cardio it was.

Ewwwwwww

I loved my new sneakers. They were comfy and fab. I had no shin splint pains, no feet pain, no HIP pain. All major plusses in my books! I guess it was time to try them out!

I jokingly asked a friend if he needed a buddy for his first half marathon in 2 months. He was bummed to tell me it was sold out. I just can’t believe he thought I was serious! Me! 13.1 miles. Yeah no.

Will I be running more? Who knows. Who really knows. It’s all up in the air. It DID feel good, it was good to switch up the cardio routine.

While I’m still feeling a bit down over the “situation” I am still determined and I will get past this. Joe is going over my weekly check in sheet… as well as my daily meals. I don’t think he’s seen a daily meal sheet from me in a year or more so I was a little nervous (why I don’t know!) sending it to him!

So at this point I have NO idea what the plan will be, but I’m excited to see where we go with this one.

Until then, I’m moving forward with my current plan, hitting it hard, staying on track and staying focused as best I can. Chest and tris tonight and to bed early. A girl needs her rest and recovery you know!

How do you feel about running?

Treadmill or outside?

Comments
  1. Jess says:

    Glad you are feeling better, and definitely outside!

  2. allieksmith says:

    Aww no candles in the bfast today?! This is your week though! LOL 😉
    Fritz. So cute 🙂
    Yay little runner girl 🙂 SO proud of you doing 4 MILES!!!!!
    I like running on the treadmill and outside.. doesn’t bother me either way!

  3. LegallyBalanced says:

    Outside seems easier (at least mentally) but I like the treadmill so I note my pace and distance. New sneakers are always awesome!

    • ihearteggs says:

      I think that’s why I like the treadmill, I see how far/fast I’m going… I have the Nike+ for outside, but it’s not the same, if i want to push myself on the TM i jsut increase the speed and hope I dont fallo ff! ahaha

  4. I hate running on the treadmill because it goes by so much slower. I do, however, like that it gives you a direct pace to follow. Always lovely.

  5. I effing hate running. I used to actually semi-enjoy it years ago. I would even do sprints on the beach (I used to live on the beach). I always feel more hardcore after I do it. I just hate it as I am doing it.

    Aaaah, knee sweat. Yep, I used to sweat out of my knees when I did bikram yoga. Thats a good sweat!

  6. chelsea says:

    I detest running! I do like doing insanity dvd workouts though!

  7. Sarah says:

    I’m glad to hear that you are feeling better today! Keep a smile on a push through girl, you’re awesome 🙂

  8. marlopnwgirl says:

    Good job missy!! Your sweet running skills always impress me.. Im always thrilled if i can last 20 min on the TM. HAHAHA!

  9. I can’t run, I want to, but I feel like an elephant running in the jungle. It’s not pretty.

  10. Lisa says:

    I am a runner at heart and love it but I’d take outside over treadmill any day. So much more to look at, fresh air, time goes by faster. On the treadmill I find myself watching the time a lot. I do love HIIT on the treadmill though, and time flies that way!

Leave a Reply

