Mild Identity Crisis… Or Possible Quarter Life Crisis?

Posted: April 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’ve been struggling with something lately.

No, it’s not my workouts.

No, it’s (surprisingly) not my cardio.

No, it’s not my diet.

It’s my “blogger identity”.

Does that even exist?

Regardless, I don’t feel like I “fit” in any blog category.

I admittedly have a lot of blogs in my google reader and they all have very clear visions and I feel like mine doesn’t. At all.

Sure, I ran a few races, do some treadmill sprints and the occasional outdoor run. But do I consider myself a running blogger?

5miles

Um, hells no.

I like to bake. I mean who doesn’t?

dec15 006

But I don’t own cookie scoops or a kitchenaid, I didn’t even know what a vitamix was until I started reading blogs and well, I clearly don’t do it anywhere near enough to fit into a baking recipe style blog world.

Ohhh… I do love to cook and create. But with my umm… “special” recipes I don’t think I’d ever fit into a chef blog world.

dec8 013

…. Don’t even get me going on why I don’t feel like I’m a “healthy living blogger”. I’m pretty sure any one of those out there would laugh in my face at my “diet” and lifestyle.

jan 31 007

Dirty pirate hooker makeup and all.

So clearly that firmly puts me into the “competitor blogger” category right?

nightshow

Well…. that’s the thing. I don’t feel like this is the place for me.

At all.

Admittedly I’ve actually been having a hard time reading competitor blogs lately. I don’t even know why.

I don’t feel comfortable giving out advice (unless you want me to tell you exactly how to make your tan turn green… because I’m and expert there!) , I don’t feel like I have any crazy habits (that I wouldn’t have if I didn’t compete), I don’t feel like it consumes my life, even though it’s a huge PART of my life.

Basically I don’t think being a figure competitor defines me… and honestly I don’t think it SHOULD.

Do I love competing? Yes I most certainly do, and fully intend to keep competing until it’s no longer fun for me… BUT… I feel like I’m so much more than a competitor.

Sunday night I went out for coffee. For those two hours I wasn’t Becca the figure competitor, I was Becca the personality.

… and I kind of really liked it. Yes, I mentioned I compete, but it was a very brief mention. I also mentioned my love for cooking and baking, my on again off again relationship with running, my friends, my family, my job.

In the whole grand scheme of things I’m really a lot more than a competitor. When I go to family dinners I do bring my own food and carefully select restaurants in the off season, but I don’t feel the need or the desire to make a big deal out of it. I quietly take my food out and it’s accepted. Making a big deal out of me having to cook my own food or how I’m so deprived kind of turns me off.

I CHOOSE my lifestyle and don’t feel the need to force it on anyone or point out that I’m “different” from most people. I don’t understand why people compete when they are miserable with their diet 90% of the time or feel the need to make big public announcements about their way of life.

You can be healthy, active and in great shape without ever stepping on stage.

bootcamp4

Who knows, maybe this “blog identity crisis” is more of a quarter life crisis than a blogging issue,but regardless I felt the need to get this out there.

So I’m hereby admitting I don’t know where i fit in the big world that is the interwebs. I guess until I do figure it out I’ll keep bouncing around and trying out different ideas and methods.

… and I hope in turn you can all accept me for what I am (… and what I’m not).

Comments
  1. Can’t it just be a “you” blog? Nothing wrong with that. When I first started my blog, I had a friend email me to tell me a post wasn’t about “eating,” “watching,” or “running.” I’m like, thanks but I DO do other things that just that and I like to talk about that to.

    If what you write interests you, it will interest other people. 🙂

  2. lifttorun says:

    It’s your blog. You are who you are. Write what you want, eat what you want, run whenever you want, etc. I love your blog. I read blogs because I find them interesting or funny; not because they fit under a category.

  3. Lori Ploch says:

    I have been following you since your days on O2. I love your blogs because they are so random and real. I never know what you are going to talk about on a particular day and I find them fun to read. It’s like getting a surprise every day!! Hope you will continue.

  4. I love your blog. I actually was just having this really indepth conversation because I feel the same way. I was worried because I wouldn’t have any good eats while traveling to blog about and no one would read and then I would have no friends and be homeless blah blah blah. Anywho-it is your blog and blog of what you feel.

  5. Girl, I love your blog. You don’t need a category! Who wants to be categorized anyways!?!?

  6. My blog is very much the same. It’s not about one thing, not even mostly about one thing. It’s just about what is going on with me. Some people can relate, so they enjoy reading it. Others can’t relate, so they don’t. There ya go.

  7. I feel that way about my blog too. It’s not anything in particular, but I don’t care. It wouldn’t be fun if I tried to fit into a niche.

  8. who says you have to be in a category? be in becca’s category and just do you!

  9. I feel the same way. I just started a blog and put it off for so long because I didnt know what was really my direction. I just knew I wanted to do it. Then I decided why does it matter? Im doing it for me. You can be just more of a “life” blog. Some days I will talk about food and fitness because those are passions of mine, some days I will talk about how being 25 is so confusing..because it is..and some days I will talk about how my boyfriend drove me nuts like I may very well do today 🙂 Be your own genre.

  10. rebecca says:

    yes Becca, please keep blogging.
    I ‘choose’ to only read about 5 blogs.

    Yours is one I choose.
    It is real, funny, never fake or contrived.
    I love that you are a ‘normal’ girl competeing in figure .

    Plus I HATE blogs where someone posts abut 10 pictures of their breakfast. Then the next day….. 10 pictures of their stupid lunch LOL. fekkin hell LOL!!!!!!!
    Trust me….. NO ONE reads that.

    So, yes. Just being honest. I also like that your blog posts are a bit longer, and contain many pictures too.

    Just giving you feedback… I think thats what you wanted… right LOL.

    Your blog is great.

  11. Tenecia says:

    I don’t feel like I fit into any “category” either! I don’t cook…I’m not terribly fashionable…I don’t have great parenting tips to share….my house decorating skills are nil…I’m still figuring out this whole competitor thing…

    Maybe I just need to be happy with the “Hot Mess” category I often feel comfortable in! 🙂

    T.

  12. I read your blog because who you are comes through- which is all of those things! Don’t worry about it, my blog is SO all over the place, too.

  13. Erin says:

    I agree with all the other comments. Just do you! Your blog is fun, quirky and interesting! Enough said. I started my blog to journal my road to my first figure competition. That was fun and I enjoyed blogging so I just kept it going after. I’m like you though, no real “category”. I think our category could be “life” – descriptive enough for me! Just keep doing your thang. It’s great the way it is!!

Leave a Reply

