What’s a Gluten?!

Posted: April 21, 2011 in Uncategorized
I’m considering going gluten free…. for a week… as a mild diet experiment.
 

 
I’ve been having some tummy issues that are driving me nuts and really just curious.

… okay, and a little diet switch up would probably be good for me.

I’ve started doing some research on my own, but thought I would toss this little experiment out there to you readers to see if you could suggest any blogs/sites/resources for me to check out before I fully commit to this idea.

I’d like to have all my ducks in a row so to speak before I give up the love of my life…. or at least go buy the gluten free version.

nom nom oats

So throw whatever you’ve got at me! I can take it!

(it’s also okay if you tell me I’m crazy, I know I am)

Comments
  1. Donloree says:

    I’ve gluten free…but then I am a whole other list of ‘free’ so I don’t have any fabulous resources for you. We have a gluten free bakery called Kinikinik or something like that here, perhaps there is one where you are. There is also a brand of oats that is officially gluten free – Only Oats. If you hit the organic store they should have a ton of gluten free options. Actually Superstore is a great resource for gluten free as well – its in their organic section. Most grocery stores have a ton of gluten free things in their organic section. I like Superstore because they have organic and gluten free in their brand which is more affordable. I like affordable! 🙂 Keep me posted on the sans gluten…that and no green veggies has changed my life for the better!

  2. I have stomach issues too and I’m not sure what it is. I have a few friends that found out they had Celiac Disease so they HAD to go gluten free. I don’t think it’s fun at first but then you get used to it because they made allll sorts of gluten free products that normally have it.

  3. allieksmith says:

    http://www.cottercrunch.com I don’t know if you know Linds. buuut she is GF and loves it 🙂
    I say go for it or try and eliminate some glutens and see how ya feel !

  4. cailen says:

    i feel like my stomach is “off” more often than i would like. now you have me thinking about the gluten thing… hmmm…..

    i’m interested to hear how your experiment goes!

  5. I’ve been Paleo for over a month which is gluten free (it’s actually grain free) and I’ve experienced amazing results. Lately I’ve added 1 treat meal a week, until prep starts (in 7 weeks woot!) and I’ve noticed that the wheat is making me very sick.

    The following are a number of blogs I follow with gluten free and paleo recipes:
    http://www.dietdessertndogs.com/
    http://www.dailybitesblog.com
    http://www.elanaspantry.com
    http://christensenka.squarespace.com
    http://stevepaleo.blogspot.com/
    http://liveprimal.com/LPrecipes.pdf

    Also make sure your oats are gluten free. Most oats are contaminated with gluten, you’ll have to go to a health food store and buy gluten free oats if you are going to continue to eat oats.

    Happy Eating 😀

  6. Kari says:

    Going gluten-free seems like a rather drastic decision. Have you tried eliminating one food at a time to determine if you still have tummy issues? Certain foods work differently for different people, so instead of cutting out all the gluten at once, maybe try removing the oatmeal for a couple days. It’s a tough fiber to digest & I know several people (including me!) who get tummy issues from it. Same with green veggies. Green beans were giving me major issues last week, so we took them out of my diet this week & I feel WORLDS better! Let us know what you decide to do. 🙂

  7. […] back last April I was having some stomach issues and decided to jump on the fad that was gluten free. That lasted about two days. Major fail on my part. Although as it turned out […]

Leave a Reply

