Smells Like Home

Posted: April 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

Growing up we all had those family meals that as we grow up and move away and move on become your comfort foods when you’re sick, when you’re tired, or when you’re just missing home.

For me mixing ground beef with a can of tomato soup, and having some whipped potatoes and corn on the side is my childhood.

A gooey grilled cheese sandwich with soup is another smashing hit.

Same with my grandmother’s recipes for oatmeal chocolate chip cookies or banana bread.

She used to make me mini banana bread loafs and ALWAYS had some in the freezer to give me when I’d go visit. So tasty and wonderful covered in butter or peanut butter. mmmm…

I’ve even passed my love for this banana bread onto my friend Nicole and for her birthday I gave her an IOU for some of this in muffin form when lent was over (since she gave up sweets).

Since it was (obviously) Easter weekend I promised she’d have them Monday morning.

So after waking up Sunday morning and having my breakfast I realized I had no bananas for the muffins… or meal two.

Clearly unshowered, in my hobo clothes off I went to the grocery store. It wasn’t until I ran into an older man I always say hi to in the hallway that I realized how crazy I must have looked.

april 25 003

Broke out the self timer for this. Hood up to hide the badddddd bedhead, no makeup, ipod in and clutching my bananas.

Wow I’m ghetto.

Anyway, I went about my day. Watched tv, did meal prep, went to the gym. After having my badass easter dinner for one I broke out the cookbook and got to work.

april 25 004

A couple of years ago I went through a major baking phase (… and yes, I was 20 lbs heavier to show for it) and asked my mom to get my favorite recipes from my grandmother.

Instead of emailing them to me, she went old school and mailed me the actual recipes. I love seeing them in my book with her overly descriptive instructions.

april 25 005

A simple recipe… dumbed down.

I guess she forgot that I spent my childhood standing on chairs in her kitchen baking?

… or she only remembers the one one story she tells over and over again about when I scooped a cup of flour and she told me to use my hand to level it off.

What does a ten year old do? I smashed my hand onto that cup and flour went everywhere.

… Just ask her.

ANYWAY. It’s a super simple and fast recipe that takes no time to put together, even including my SECRET ingredient.

Shhhh….

Start out, sugar and shortening.
april 25 006

Mix, mix, mix.

Add in two eggs.

april 25 007

All the flour and other dry ingredients.

… and the COLD water. (her instructions, not mine!)

Mix, mix, mix that up.

april 25 008

Then mush up your bananas.

april 25 009

I won’t judge however you choose to do this. I won’t disclose how I mashed them, but it was ghetto.

This next step is VERY important.

april 25 011

Ignore the feline pawing at your leg (… and my dirty floor, I was doing meal prep before!)

Mix your bananas in with the rest of the batter.

april 25 013

… and resist licking the beaters… Oh prep diet how you majorly SUCK sometimes.

Then add in the secret ingredient. Chips of your choice. I have four bags of white chocolate chips left over from a baking experiment so I used those. Peanut butter and milk or dark chocolate are great too!

april 25 014

Grease and flour your muffin pans (or loaf pan) and toss it in the 350 degree over until a toothpick comes out clean… about 25-30 minutes. My oven is ghetto so watch them!

april 25 015

The smell… wow.

april 25 016

Wait for them to cool, then quickly place them in a container and out of sight… because sitting there eyeballing tasty muffins you can’t eat really stinks!

april 25 017

My Nanny’s Banana Bread:

  • 1cup white sugar
  • 1/2cup shortening

Mix these two ingredients

Add in:

  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup COLD water

Mash up 3 medium sized bananas and add in.

Add any “secret ingredients” you wish, chocolate, nuts, etc.

Bake at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes (for a loaf)

Simple, easy and oh so tasty!

Do you have meals or baked goods that remind you of your childhood?

Comments
  1. My mom makes a mean cinnamon bun. I haven’t had a decent one in probably a decade which feels so strange to me. Those muffins look so good.

  2. My mom used to make pancakes and undercook them,,LOL! She’s not know for her culinary skills! My sister used to call dibs on the creamy ones! HAHAH!

    • ihearteggs says:

      AHAHAHAH It’s so funny things we all have from growing up! Back then I used to whine when we’d get the same meals over and over now I request them when I’m home!

  3. Lisa says:

    MMM, that sounds yummy. My kiddos would love those, I’ll have to make them!!

  4. These look heavenly..oh boy! I have 3 bananas that may just be ripe enough to make these!

  5. Allie says:

    Aww, how nice of you to bake! I love family recipes 🙂
    the smell of my childhood is probably peanut butter cookies 🙂

  6. “home” is spaghetti and garlic bread. I used to hate eating it all the time as a kid, but now I know why we did; it’s a cheap meal!!!

  7. I love having my grandma’s old recipes. You know they’re good if they’ve stood the test of time like that!

    And I look like a hobo every other time I make a trip to the grocery store. No shame!

  8. […] I was reading Becca at I heart eggs and she shared a recipe from her grandmother for banana bread and it was just too good to pass up.  […]

  9. […] Becca’s Banana Bread (CANADA ONLY!) […]

  10. […] Becca’s Banana Bread (CANADA ONLY!) […]

Leave a Reply

