Mini Flashback Friday: The First Competition

Posted: April 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

Last May I did something I had dreamed about doing for so many years.

I never thought that it could be me, that I could train, diet, push myself to the limits of “the girls in the magazines”. In a way I actually believe (I’m so self absorbed!) that I have to push myself and go even farther than some people because I was so overweight and my genetics well…. Not so stellar.

So May 15, 2010, 5 months after I started working with Dr Joe I stepped on the stage for the first time.

poster

I chose the novice classic as my first because well, it’s for novices. It’ll be a small show, lots of new people? You know, it’ll be an EASY one to break me into the idea of competing.

Yeah um… it was the bigger/most competitive show I would end up doing. To qualify to compete you can just never have come top five before. A lot of the girls had been competing for YEARS. It was scary as hell walking into the athlete meeting being a total newb with no coach present, no family, no friends. Nothing.

Terror. Complete and utter terror.

… and I hadn’t even turned green yet.

Yeah, when something on your skin (or in my case the laundry soap on my tshirt) reacts with the tan, you turn green… I couldn’t make this stuff up.

The time leading up to this show was a hard point in my life for me. My live in relationship was not going so hot (hence why he bailed on me at the last minute), I was full of self doubt, my relationship left me broken and I was afraid.

But you know what? I did it. I got up on that stage and I nailed my poses, I didn’t trip over my heels, I didn’t cry, I felt like I fit in and honestly for my first show I just didn’t want to stand out as not fitting in with everyone else.

There was a transformation challenge attached to the show and they chose the top five to go on stage for the final “judging”. All day they kept saying they would tell us first thing and since I never heard anything I assumed I wasn’t chose.

Fast forward to the break. I had just come off the stage, I was elated and ready to relax. There was a short intermission between pre judging and the awards so I pulled on my sweats and settled into a chair to have my next meal.

Next thing you know there is a woman at the dressing room door calling names. I was up for the top five of the transformation challenge! WTF?!

I of course had sweat pant fleece stuck to my bikini bite, rice hanging off my chin and no idea what to do, but I did it, pulled myself together, lined up and walked on stage when my story was told.

transformation

They decided to judge this by audience applause.

Umm.. problem. Remember earlier where I said I was alone. No coach, no friends, no family?

My name was called. Nothing. You could seriously hear a pin drop in the back row of the highest balcony.

Then it started.

Golf claps.

Yup, I got the pity golf claps.

E-M-B-A-R-A-S-S-I-N-G

But you know what? I walked off stage beaming. I was top five in SOMETHING, and not in my class, but in changing my LIFE. I went from over 200lbs to sporting an itty bitty pink bikini on a stage in a room full of people.

Sure my picture wasn’t in Inside Fitness magazine, but I still won.

The night show went off without a hitch, I had fun, i let the stupid comments from my then boyfriend roll off me, i wiped away the tears when my momma called and told me how proud she was of me.

And then…

brownie

Of yes, I dug into the turtle brownie from Whole Foods I had been DYING to eat since I bought it the day before.

At the end of the day I packed up my stuff and met my friend who was just getting off work, I stepped in the shower and the tan washed away, the fake lashes came off and I went back to just plain old Becca.

I put on my jeans and a tank top and went out to a bbq and… ate diet food. I spent the night wandering the city of Toronto with a good friend and having a blast.

I didn’t place… nor did I come dead last, but stepping on stage for that first time was the best decision I ever made. It changed my life, and it changed me.

I wasn’t blogging back when I started prep for the first time and competing… is competing for the first time/learning the ins and outs of prep something I should blah blah blah about more or are you over it?

Encourage or discourage me! GO!

Comments
  1. Considering I am trying to shape up right now, I’d love to hear about it!

  2. NO YOU SHOULD PICK A COUPLE DAYS A WEEK AND TALK MORE ABOUT IT.

    But that is just my opinion. That is seriously awesome you got top five in transformation. That is such a good feat and I personally think just as good as getting top five overall.

  3. allieksmith says:

    This post is SO awesome! I loved hearing about your background and everything you went through, all of the emotions and everything! Wow you are AWESOME 🙂

  4. Sara says:

    encouraging you!

  5. “I went from over 200lbs to sporting an itty bitty pink bikini on a stage in a room full of people.”

    You are my effin hero. Seriously.

  6. Crystal says:

    I love to hear about other “competition stories”. Thanks for sharing. Goes to show, you should NEVER doubt yourself!

  7. This is a great post. You’ve done amazing things with your body, you should be proud everyday of your amazing progress and commitment. You are a beauty queen.

    p.s. I might have nobody at my first competition too, so I’ll understand what it’s like to go on stage and have nobody cheer. You think that people would just cheer for everyone just to be polite (how Canadian of me to say that!)

    • ihearteggs says:

      I find normally people WILL clapa nd cheer but I guess since the transformation was based on applause no one wanted to supoprt the “other girl?” Your show is in toronto no?

  8. Kerryne says:

    Just came across your blog and what an amazing story! I love it! Keep up the hard work!

  9. Lisa says:

    That is such a great story Becca. I agree with the feeling you get from stepping on stage, it’s like none other. Just from this story alone you make me want to do it again. I love the transformation too- what a great thing, I wish every show included something like that.

  10. Please keep talking about it, I love it!!!!!

  11. Hwasun says:

    I absolutely love this post! You are so brave and that is why I read your blog everyday! Of course you should write more about your competition! I’d love to hear more. I am no where near to competition but I admire people on the stage. Not only because of their amazing looks but because of their hard work and discipline.

  12. Ricki says:

    Is that an engagement ring in your turtle brownie pic??

  13. […] in between show number one and show number two my wonderful sister in law asked me to run a 5mile race with her while I was […]

Leave a Reply

