Comforts of Home

Posted: May 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

Last Sunday I made my grandmothers banana bread for a friend. It smelled like… Home.

20110505-055520.jpg

Yesterday Shanna posted this: http://shannalikebanana.wordpress.com/2011/05/04/how-can-something-so-gross-turn-into-something-so-good/
(excuse the ghetto, I don’t know how to link on my phone… Help?!)
She also made my muffins… With butterscotch chips. Yum.

This got me thinking about the comforts of home, things I take for granted when I’m home, but miss dearly when I’m here.

It all began with the muffins, then my brother sent me his old iPhone.

The phone box was wrapped in paper courtesy of my nephew.

20110505-055747.jpg
Seriously melt my heart.

… And FYI I’ve never been a “kid person”. I think that has changed?!?

This got me thinking about the other things that make “home” (clearly leaving out family/friends)

20110505-060706.jpg
My old ladies. I got fat cat and black cat in 6th grade. They had real names back then… Now?

20110505-060905.jpg
… Not so much.

The local businesses that actually care.

20110505-061101.jpg
I won’t even begin about my love for JavaMoose. I think it’s been covered.

20110505-061339.jpg
Um yeah… It’s beautiful. The beaches, the parks… Hell, even the fog we get 75% of the year has a spooky romantic feel.

… When it’s not annoyingly making my hair frizzy.

20110505-061959.jpg
Fresh seafood! Hello, lobster capital of the world! Nom nom!

Now excuse me while I go text home… Feeling a little homesick!

If you’ve flown from the nest, what do you miss most besides the obvious?

Comments
  1. Gonna sound strange (if you’ve ever read my blog-I’m a bit on the funky side…tattoos and such), but I miss the cows and the smell of silage. I miss the traffic and familiarity of a small/farm town.
    I don’t miss the southern cooking!!

    I’m still not a kid person…but I fake it for my nieces and nephews.

  2. allieksmith says:

    Aww your nephew sounds so adorable 🙂 Glad you are a kid person! It takes time to grow on people haha.

    Java Moose… I seriously might order from them! I hear you talk about your love for their coffee and their love of coffee!

    When I go away I think I will miss my dogs and my kitchen.. and my bed.. and my sister… maybe 😉

  3. ilovefetacheese says:

    What an adorable kitty!!!!

  4. The muffins were oh so good — I nommed the muffin top off the last one yesterady. YUM!

    I miss my various homes for sure…not necessarily a food, but just chillin’ and catching up. Once per year is NOT enough..boo

  5. Lisa says:

    =( I miss home more the older I get! Left for the military at 18 and haven’t lived back there since. My parents and brothers still live there and it’s about a 7-8 hour drive for me to get home. I just know they won’t be around forever and my kids are missing out on their grandparents. And of course, I miss everything about my hometown too!

  6. Cute wrapping paper!! I have 3 kids and still don’t think of myself as a kid person 😉

  7. I miss hanging out with my mom regularly the most. In fact, that is probably the only thing I really miss about “home”.

  8. Heather says:

    I miss hanging out with the family on a warm Sunday afternoon on the porch. Something so comforting about it.

  9. I recognize the giant lobster from Shediac! Were you an NB gal? I’m from Moncton originally and moved to ON for university many moons ago. Luckily my immediate family moved here a few years ago so I’m not so homesick anymore. But I do miss the connection with my little cousins who I never really got to know, and definitely miss my grand parents. And fresh lobster of course!

Leave a Reply

