Organization Is Scary… but Refreshing

Posted: May 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

So as you know, I’m working on simplifying, cleaning up and downsizing the crap in my house. It’s kind of scary.

Scratch that, REALLLY scary.

Sunday morning it was pouring rain (again…) so I decided to start small and just get to work.  I plopped myself on the bathroom floor in front of the cabinet and opened the door.

may 15 003

Um yeah.

I am the QUEEN of trying out new products, hating them, tossing them under the sink thinking I’ll magically pull them out someday and BAM… Be in love.

Yeah. Right. I know, seriously Becca?!

While having access to things like the L’Oreal sample sale is great in theory, it makes me buy a lot of stupid stuff.

I told myself flat out, toss anything I don’t like, don’t use, is pretty much empty or just totally pointless to own.

…. and if the purchase date is questionable, it’s gotta go.

may 15 004

I don’t even want to know how old this is. Seriously. It would probably turn my skin purple or something if I used it.

may 15 005

How many “free with purchase” makeup bags does a girl who wears cover up and mascara only on a daily basis really need?

… The correct answer is none, I have more than enough Betsey Johnson makeup bags to fill up as it is.

The outcome was very very refreshing.

may 15 006

Simple, to the point. Self tanners, sunscreen, hairspray, lotion and cleaning products. Easy enough and I should be able to use up most of this stuff before I even have to think about packing it.

Score!

Since that was so… refreshing and oddly entertaining I decided to tackle a bigger job next.

Which required some food. I downed some blueberry french toast before starting because well… I knew this next venture was going to be… interesting.

may 15 010

Oh Yes. The kitchen cupboards.

may 15 011

The main problems with the crap in here is… I’m too short to really REACH my cupboards. The lower shelf I can reach (except for the back) and the top shelf I need to either climb on the counter or pull up a chair.

… I wish I was joking.

So because of this stuff gets pushed to the back, forgetten, ignored and never seen again.

I began by just simply emptying out EVERYTHING.

may 15 013

…I mean EVERYTHING

may 15 014

… and then wiping down the inside of the cupboards.

Then I got to tossing. I had FOUR 99% empty peanut butter jars. Sure overnight oats in a jar sounds logical, but when you spend 80% of the year dieting and in prep you need to measure your pb, you can’t just “enjoy”. So those got tossed.

may 15 015

Two boxes of table salt? um… I don’t EAT salt. I know I use it for baking, but two boxes worth?

(in my defense one was wayyyyy in the top back shelf never to be found if I hadn’t gotten out the chair)

may 15 012

Do you know when I last had fish? Ummm. My last apartment? 6 1/2 years ago? Maybe 7? Yeah. Pretty sure if I DID still have a goldfish and fed them this they would die instantly.

In the end… some form of order, lots of expired, horrible old stuff tossed, only the good stuff remaining.

may 15 018

Slightly less overwhelming that the before photo no?

FYI: all those little white boxes? Sugar free jello. My obsession from last prep. I think I may have to revisit that. It was looking pretttttty tasty!

After this I fully admit I made some fajitas and chilled on the couch watching season 2 of Dawson’s creek before hitting the gym for my workout.

I needed a BREAK.

How often do you clean out your kitchen cupboards? What’s the weirdest thing you’ve found?
(please tell me someone else has something as random as goldfish food!)

Comments
  1. You are making me want to clean out my cupboards seriously. They look lovely. I am starting to pack and reorganize for leaving school which is a pain in the butt.

  2. I just cleaned ours out a few months ago and it felt awesome!

    I found some weird dried fruit/jam from an Italian cooking class we had over a year ago. I have no idea why I kept that goop especially since it wasn’t covered.

  3. Good for you! I need to re-organize my bedroom in the worst way. My fiance’ said he’d rather throw all of my stuff away and buy me all new things than move all the crap I’ve accumulated.

  4. allieksmith says:

    I am short as well and I sadly have to use a chair when I clean out my cupboards 😦
    I found cinnamon candies that were like 10 years old… I kept them hahaha

  5. Your cabinets look great! I do that periodically and it feels so good to have everything neat and clean to get rid of all the old stuff. I know I have hummingbird food in my pantry – some people might think that is weird!

  6. I find these posts amusing…maybe because I never hold on to anything. I’m what some would call OCD and a complete neat freak. Or maybe because all my family and friends are the exact opposite so I know exactly how it is to clean things out and find odd old things that crack me up. Oh how many interesting and hilarious things I found when I helped my sister clean out her “junk room” (yes she had an entire room for junk). 😀

  7. Lisa says:

    I am super impressed! I do it way too rarely!

  8. marlopnwgirl says:

    I actually really enjoy cleaning like that.. When i have time of course.. Its kinda therapeutic to toss out the old and organize.. makes life a bit easier anyways!

Leave a Reply

