A Funny Thing Is Happening

Posted: May 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

Last night was my weeknight off from the gym. It was gorgeous, just about 30 degrees, little humidity and sunny.

… Oh so sunny.

I headed directly home after work hoping a package pickup would be needed. Sadly there was no notice so I tossed my veggies in the oven to roast and called mom to chit chat.

Then I emptied and refilled my gym bag for today and like every night since mothers day I have put the days Tupperware in the sink with last nights dinner and the days breakfast dishes.

… And then I washed them.

I have always… And I do mean always… Hated washing dishes. I have no shame in admitting that I would let them sit for 2-3 days before getting to them.

Now? Um no. Every.single.night. On weekends when I eat at home for 95% of my meals ive been knocking out the dishes 2-3 times a day.

What is going on here?

After the dishes I wiped down the counters, set the coffee pot for today and mixed-up some spicy tuna and put it on rice cakes once my veggies were ready. Settling onto the couch I put on an episode of house and had dinner.

Uh oh. That was my last episode. What to do? It’s only 630!!

… So I got up and swept the floor, scrubbed the kitchen, folded towels I washed yesterday to pack away and did the first sweep of my shoe closet resulting in a huge donation bag.

Ever since I made my still half under wraps decision ive noticed big changes in me. Not life changing huge earth shattering changes, but small changes that make me feel good inside.

Doing the dishes, cleaning up my home and downsizing, putting my pennies away in the piggy bank… It all suddenly has a purpose.

Um… I suddenly have a purpose.

I want to better myself, take pride in myself, my home and very importantly the decisions I have made toward my future.

Everything seems so clear and I feel so focused. On one hand it feels odd, like an out of body experience, but on the other hand it feels solid, like every small change I make to my life, to myself now will have a positive effect in nine weeks time.

Ok… Enough heavy stuff!

With all this out of the way and the clock only saying 7:45, I decided it was time to relax.

I clicked on the radio and cooked up my simple last meal of the evening.

20110530-084634.jpg

Oddly loving this… As simple as it is. A slice of garlicy toast topped with egg whites cooked with parm & herb seasoning.

Being the gorgeous night it was, i settled into my comfy wicker chair and kicked my feet up.

20110530-085020.jpg

… And fully enjoyed my last meal of the day in peace knowing I had put myself one more hour closer to being a better me

20110530-085233.jpg

Has summer finally arrived in your neck of the woods?!?

Comments
  1. Loved the girl with the dragon tattoo. Great book! And glad things are looking up :). Always a pleasure to read your blog. Inspiration for me. Darn that piece of toast looks yum! Ps where do you get this parm seasoning?

  2. Summer has hit here with a vengeance, and technically it isn’t even summer yet. Today it is supposed to be 95 degrees (Fahrenheit). Ick!

  3. Sounds like great changes to me! I can’t stand dishes in the sink either :-p

  4. Your hair is looking super cute!

    I need to be motivated by this post. I tend to look at my piles, my dirty kitchen, my mound of dirty laundry, and just sit down at the computer to waste the night away. Augh!

  5. Summer is sort of here. It’s been rather rainy lately but on the sunny days, I’m enjoying daylight until 11pm (I love the north) and sitting out on my deck watching the lake.

  6. I love this post!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =) You are awesome.

  7. marlopnwgirl says:

    Such a great post Becs.. I love where you are at.. Im so very proud of you!

    • Lisa says:

      ditto what marlo says! You are doing great and it sounds like you finally feel good about your life–hence the reasons why you want to make it so much better!

  8. Lisa says:

    I love the positivity here, yay!!

  9. Kari says:

    So happy to hear you’re happy and at peace with the direction of your life!

  10. Love your attitude and your positive outlook and spin on everything!!!
    How do you like that book?

  11. Pittsburgh feels like it went from winter to summer overnight – its been really hot here! I had to work to enjoy each of Stieg Larson’s books.

Leave a Reply

