Checkin Update, Haircuts and My Ziploc Baggie

Posted: May 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

Can you tell from the title what today is?

That’s right, triple tangent Tuesday. It’s kind of good in a way, it helps me get the “bits and pieces” that may or may not warrant their own post out without having a lame and boring post?

… or something like that. Let’s just pretend I’m making sense.

So before I make myself sound any crazier than usual… here we go!

1. The checkin

While you all heard about my 6 weeks out progress yesterday and I sent my email to Joe before noon it was some sort of holiday in the States on the weekend so I had a feeling I wouldn’t be getting my usual Tuesday morning response.

Honestly, I’m not really expecting any huge changes.

may 7-may 30 side

Hormonal bloat, still a small drop, feeling good, feeling leaner. All signs point to “keep pushing forward, good job”… but I still wish I GOT that email. Waiting another 24 hours is really no big deal in the grand scheme of it.

… But yeah, I’m kind of impatient. (as if you didn’t know that by now")

2. The haircut

Umm… Really NOT feeling my hair right now.

hairnow

Pls ignore my massive roots and frizziness. My laziness shows.

But regardless, the last two times I’ve got for a trim I’ve cut minimal off hte front and just kept cutting the back shorter thinking I wanted a longer angled bob.

Yeah. Over it. Summer is here, my hair is thick, it’s hot. I cant put it in a ponytail. It’s annoying.

And the kicker.

I just don’t feel…. sassy … with it. I feel like “stage Becca” isn’t going to come up because I’m not going to be loving my hair. That may sound crazy, but yeah, it is what it is. I’m a shy person, getting on stage and rocking a 30 second routine (omfg I cant believe I have to do that this year) is going to take all the help I can get.

So alas, it won’t be until before my show, but I will be chopping the hair.

forreal

I’m going back to my October hair, short, fun, much more Becca.

3. My Ziploc Baggie

… You know, the one with my stash?

Okay, the stash isn’t the typical “stash”.

I’ve already detailed my money saving method which is a little sad and shameful for a 27 year old who has been on her own since she was 18.

 piggy

Hey, it helped me save almost 300$ in May…. if it works it WORKS people.

So on top of this saving method, plus the “traditional” bank savings account I have began one other savings plan.

(… maybe a career as a financial planner is in my future?!")

After all of my shows I like to “treat” myself to something that isn’t food related. I really tend to get right back on plan after one or two treats and don’t like rewarding with food, so I splurge on something I normally wouldn’t splurge on.

After show 1… I splurged on Joe for more time ahaha

After show 2… I splurged on some new clothes for summer since NOTHING fit

After show 3… my photoshoot! Money WELL spent.

rebecca (104 of 351)

It was a big time confidence boost that was MUCH needed after my negative feedback.

None of my splurges has been uber crazy, 100-150$ total for each but when you’ve got as much going on right now as I do and savings is everything that kind of seems like… a lot.

Enter a ziploc baggie in my sock drawer. I don’t put a lot, but 5$ bills and toonies mostly. Just loose change, I’ll put half in the pig, half in the bag and however much is there in the last two weeks of July I plan to spend at Lululemon! I’ve been dying for a pair of wunder under crops forever but can’t justify the cost… so this is how I’m justifying it! My reward!

———————–

So there you have it. Another week of random crazies.

What’s your thoughts on my hair? grow it or chop it?!

And most importantly! How do YOU reward yourself for reaching your goals? What’s the last splurge you made!?

Comments
  1. Nice job on the saving! Something different works for everyone. Now I’m tempted to post about what I do.

    Hair – It’s super cute short. But I don’t think that angle or the look on your face is a good representation of how it looks now. I need a better pic. I do love the hair in the second pic you want to go back to though.

    I never reward myself when I reach goals. I just buy what I want when I want it. Not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

  2. cookinghealthyforme says:

    Everyone in a while it’s good to splurge. My splurge is a fountain diet soda….love the stuff!

  3. lifttorun says:

    None of your summer clothes fit? Is that a good thing or bad thing?

  4. allieksmith says:

    Your hair will look great either way 🙂 I think you are ready for it to be short though!

    What a good idea to splurge a little bit on things that YOU like/want!

    When I want to treat myself I go to the coffee shop or book store 😀

  5. I love you way of saving extra money! I do the same thing…but I use my money to alter existing clothes!

    I found a fabulous seamstress who has been able to help me keep my closet and not make me go into debt.

    I also love thrifting so thats what I spend on

    and this year after the competition I am going to MIAMI!!! Thats my ultimate splurge!

    Then back to training and dieting….Ive worked too hard to give up on food though I will splurge a bit on the night of the show!

    and I like the photoshoot hair! the cropped look is fantastic on you. Sassy indeed.

  6. I just bought myself more running spandex and short short. I’m a hooker don’t judge me. Anywho-I like your hair shorter actually. It’s so fun and showlike.

  7. I think your hair is cute! Not many people can pull off that length, but you totally do 🙂

  8. BrittFit says:

    love your blog! Lookin great in those pics girl. I just recently chopped my hair…it’s so liberating ( and takes alot less time to get ready in the morning) … i say CHOP IT!

  9. You def look leaner. You can really see it in your arms & legs. I need to start saving change for a splurge asap. Thanks for always inspiring, Becs
    xo
    Mindy

  10. I hate when the haircut is a bummer. The last few trims I’ve had have only made me more bored…. it’s something with my bangs I’m not liking.

    I agree with your thoughts- your hair from October is cute as hell. 🙂

  11. Pam says:

    I love a random post! Your hair looks really cute, but I totally understand needing for it to feel “right” for you.

    My husband and I have a similar savings strategy! Well, along with a traditional automatic transfer all official and banking-like 😉

  12. I love your October hair…short and spunky. I’m not usually a fan of short hair…especially when it’s all plastered up and spikey and just…weird. But I love yours. It’s not too short, it’s got spunk, and it compliments your facial features perfectly. (I like my sister’s too…it’s a stacked cut.)

  13. marlopnwgirl says:

    Cant wait for you to go back to your sexy Becs hair! That hair blows my mind.. So HOTT!!

  14. Lori says:

    Becca,
    I really love the color of your hair. I swear I read somewhere on your blog that you color it yourself. What brand and shade do you use? I’m looking to get away from the highlighted look. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

