Eternal Struggle

Posted: June 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

All through high school I was on a club (… And my school) rowing team. My charming coach thought putting a weight bar in the rafters and making us do pullups would make us super athletes.

… Or something like that.

Even with him boosting I could never do even 1/4 of one.

Sad I know.

I used to call them the eternal struggle.

Over the years ive managed to work my butt off and pull off a few, but like with everything in fitness, if you don’t use it, you lose it.

… Which is exactly what happened to me.

Being “that chick” at my gym I’ve been afraid to try them again thinking I couldn’t do it and people would look at my different. Crazy right!?!

Well Sunday mornings at my gym are slower, so I told myself while eating breakfast today was the day. I mean I’ve been doing lat pulldowns with more than my body weight! Even though actual pullups are much different I decided to give it a go.

I got to the gym and pulled a stool up to the bar… Grabbed ahold and… Knocked out FIVE with a wide grip!!!

Ummm. Damn! I did 5 sets to failure, after I failed I slipped a band under a knee and did a few more reps to build on.

Turns out my eternal struggle isn’t so eternal afterall!

… And this time I’m not giving up and losing them!

My goal, I have 8 weeks to do ten in a row. Lofty, but something to work for!

Now back to my couch! I’m beat!

20110605-035501.jpg

Well for a bit! Meal prep and laundry awaits!

How is your weekend going?
What is your biggest fitness goal right now?

Comments
  1. Kimmy says:

    Holy cow you can lat pull more than your own body weight? I have a lot of work ahead of me! I can’t wait to be able to do a chin up. You are my hero now. 🙂

  2. My biggest fitness goal is to break 19 minutes in the 5k but it is kind of like an all summer goal ha. I do agree though, I have to start teaching weight aerobics again and god knows my body does not know how to lift free weights right now. bahaha.

  3. Allie says:

    Impressive Becca!!! A wide grip is so hard! Way to conquer the eternal struggle 😉

  4. This is SO AWESOME!! 🙂 I am still AMAZED that at this stage in your contest prep you have the energy to knock ’em out. I bet you you’ll hit your goal during that fabled post-contest rebound! 🙂

  5. lifttorun says:

    For awhile I tried doing pullups daily at the gym and I could only do like two good ones. I forgot about my challenge.

  6. uhmm I am JEALOUS lol. I can maybe do two….and that was one at home that my brother has in his doorway…I don’t know if it counts and I don’t think I made it all the way up : )

    great personal challenge 🙂

  7. cookinghealthyforme says:

    Congratulations! I bet it felt great!

  8. I have shyed away from even attempting pull-ups too. I should just try. My lat pull down is my body weight & I bang out 3 sets of 8. You’ve just inspired me to give it a shot! Thanks

  9. Lisa says:

    I had the same issue with pullups until last prep. I can do 5, 6 on a really good day but that’s it. maybe i’ll join you on this quest….

Leave a Reply

