Someone Is Watching Over Me

Posted: June 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

Yesterday i left the office at noon and was home eating lunch by 1pm… After which i promptly fell asleep for an hour long nap. Oops!!

As soon as i woke up i headed back to the city for eggs and veggies. It was a quick trip and by 4:30 i was out of the metro and walking home.

Walking up towards the back of my building i see this.

20110611-080548.jpg
Immediate reaction?

“ugh! Another false alarm?! Im hungry!! Boo!”

… Then i got closer and saw the smoke
… Coming from a window on my floor
… And then it hit me… fritz is inside

I immediately tried to get in but was stopped. I paced and started to panic while the people came flooding out.

More firetrucks arrived on scene, a ladder trucks to the front and one at the back.

20110611-081044.jpg
While yes, i am a single chick who loves young hot firemen as much as thr next girl shit was getting a bit too real for me.

I walked across the street and sat on the grass to call my parents. Explaining i knew nothing i could feel the silent tears under my sunglasses.

I honestly could care less about anything in my home…

20110611-082356.jpg
… Except fritz who had been calmly napping on a box when i left.

If anything happened to him i dont know what i would do.

After almost two hours they finally started what seemed to be the end of the job.

I walked around to the front of the building where i found even more firetrucks…

But looking up at my windows it seemed to be ok. Still we were being told nothing and after another 45 minutes we were finally allowed in.

I got to my floor and came out of the fire escape to the excessive smell of smoke.

… And then i saw my neighbours door.

20110611-083420.jpg

A quick glance down the hall showed a similar scene for almost every door…. Except mine.

I unlocked my door and took a deep breath… I smelled my mixed berry candle, not smoke.

Everything looked shiny and wonderful, moreso than ever before. Walking into the living room there was the fritz, stretched out on the couch like nothing happened.

Ive never been much for miracles or luck… But yesterday someone or something was definitly looking out for me.

… And i can without a doubt say i have never been happpier to see this monster as i was in that moment.

20110611-084151.jpg

Have you ever had to deal with fire or a bad situation out of your control?

Comments
  1. Ah so glad everything was okay!!! ❤

  2. I am so glad everything is ok! It really puts everything into perspective :)Glad Fritz was not hurt in the end that all the matters

  3. lifttorun says:

    Oh my god! That is beyond scary. I’m glad nothing terrible happened. Poor kitty. He was probably frightened.

  4. Oh my God! I’m so glad you and Fritz are okay. I can only imagine how terrifying that was =(

  5. I love your kitty…he’s beautiful. 🙂 And you can see that you’re a happy kitty mom in that picture! I didn’t realize the picture you put up on FB was a similar picture for ALL of your neighbors! I wonder why they didn’t bust through yours but everyone else’s? Woo! Someone IS watching over you. 🙂 So glad you, Fritz, and your stuff are safe. 🙂

    As for me…no fire experience for me. I pray to God it stays that way.

  6. indecisiveathlete says:

    wow you got so lucky that is amazing! I’m not really one for miracles either but a couple tims lately ive had some close calls where I know someone was looking ot for me

  7. cookinghealthyforme says:

    How joyful you must have felt! I’m happy for you and I hope everyone else was safe in your building…

  8. Greta says:

    Hi, I really love your blog.

    As well as you I love fitness, eggs (my favourite food) and cats – you have an adorable kitty.

    And I just couldn’t comment on this post.
    Thee weeks ago we had a fire in our house.
    It started when I was home alone with my cat.
    I could do nothing but grab it and leave the hose while watching how the flames destroy everything me and my boy have been creating for the past couple of years. It was horrible.
    However I was glad that it had started during the day and not at night when we are asleep and that my love ones my boy and my cat were safe.
    Luckily we have lost just the kitchen and one of the empty rooms. Everything can be replaced.
    I wish you will never ever have to go through this again.

  9. Wow I am super glad everything was okay. AH. I’m with you though. If I ever lost my cat-I would have no other friends. No really.

  10. Oh my god! How scary! I would have been dying thinking my pets were inside. I’m so happy that Fritz was safe and sound.

  11. Wow.. what a scary situation. I am glad Fritz is okay.. and seemed like he was not even phased. Do you know what the cause of the fire was?

  12. That must have been so awful and terrifying for you! So glad you and Fritz are ok, sounds like you definitely got your own little miracle that afternoon!

  13. OH NO!!! Bec- so scary!!! You are soooo lucky! I had a house fire in 2003, and my cat was inside, but my sister saved her. Scariest thought ever. I’m so glad everything is okay and you and Mr. Fritz are reunited 🙂

    Close call. There is definitely somebody watching over you guys.
    **hugs**
    Mindy

  14. wow, your neighbours apartment is messy. is leaving milk on the floor a french thing or a fireman thing?

    glad you and fritz are ok! were you able to find out where the fire was?

    • ihearteggs says:

      It started in the back of the building on my floor… that’s all I know sadly. Luckily I”m at the total opposite end so while my hallway smells liek BBQ my apartment is in the clear!

  15. Ohhh… I know exactly how that felt. I have a pretty serious escape plan for my family in the event of fire, robbery, tornado, etc., but I worry about how I will rescue my cats since I know they’d hide. Scary. 😦 I can only imagine how scary it was to sit and wait to find out if he was okay!

  16. marlopnwgirl says:

    So glad the fritz was okay!!!!

Leave a Reply

