Clarification on How Far I’ve Come

Posted: June 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

First off, thank you all so so so much for your kind words, support and generally fantastic-ness regarding my progress update yesterday.

But… At the same time I feel like I need to clarify something. Despite my hesitation to compete at Natural Provincials, I am NOT… I repeat NOT… unhappy with my progress thus far by any stretch of the imagination.

Actually to be totally honest I’m thrilled with how I’m looking and the way things have been going the past few weeks.

My hesitation at competing at provincials is based on a lot of factors that I wasn’t anticipating, as well as a decision I made several months ago in my personal life.

Once a final decision is made I’ll get into ALLLLLLLL of that, but for now know that no matter WHAT happens with provincials i will be on stage in Ottawa with the IDFA. That show I am MEGA excited about… and actually am considering doing a crossover into the fitness model category for fun as well if I can find myself a cheapie bikini.

Now… Something I did yesterday (mostly to KEEP myself from getting down on myself) was to do another comparison photo and think about how far I have come this year.

My main goal was to come in leaner, tighter and just a better overall package. I knew I would hit my previous show weight and plateau… and I did… but I didn’t give up, I pushed through it and even though it sucked I beat it and am about to hit a major milestone very very soon. 🙂

So let’s say I AM still doing provincials in 3 1/2 weeks… From the start of prep on January 8th I had ONE slip up (tiny glass of wine the first Friday of prep), have no missed any cardio, never missed a workout and have given 110% even when I really didn’t want to.

Scale wise I am down… right around 20 lbs.

Yes. TWENTY POUNDS.

I feel much leaner and tighter than ever before and actually SEE muscle definition and am getting stronger on some days at the gym. How crazyyyyyyy is that?

(hello! I’m knocking out pullups now!)

While I know I am slowly getting a bit worn out and run down (and would literally sell my soul for a cookie every now and then) I feel great considering I have been dieting… and dieting fairly hard… for 24 weeks now.

But if you asked me I would tell you a million times over that every week, every day.. every second was worth it and I have zero regrets about my prep this year.

And THAT I am mega proud and happy about!

SO I shall leave you with some proof of just how much you can change yourself in 24 weeks if you really want it.

jan 8 - june 13 front

jan 8-june 13 side

Not bad if I do say so myself. 🙂

… although I DO like to think that a lot of changes that were made this prep were actually INSIDE rather than the physical, but seriously that’s a whole other post that will probably need a jumbo sized box of Kleenex by my side to complete.

Have you ever made a tough decision based on some crappy facts? How did it turn out for YOU?

… and is there anyone out there in Ottawa land that can recommend a badass brunch spot? this chick will NEED a mimosa in 4 1/2 weeks!!!

Comments
  1. cookinghealthyforme says:

    Congratulations! You’ll do great!

  2. I’m glad to hear you say all this. It’s great to really push yourself, and to expect more and better all the time, as long as you’re willing and able to really see how much you’ve accomplished and to be grateful and pleased with that.

  3. You look so awesome!! I’m glad to hear how proud you are of the amazing progress you’ve made 😀

  4. Becca You have come leaps and bounds and look AMAZING!
    I cannot believe it! And I am so happy you feel the way you do . Hoenstly I try to take as many pages out of your book because you are so inspirational! 20 pounds is Amazing! Congrats! 🙂

    Uhmm brunch Yes!
    Manx on Elgin
    Leuitenant’s Pump on Elgin
    SweetGrass (FABULOUS!)
    🙂
    And a personal Twitter Msg you need to read haha

    xoxo

  5. Those muscles in your upper thighs are awesome. You go girl! Very impressive!

  6. Amy @ countrystrong21 says:

    You look great! I’m going to take a page out of your book about being dedicated. I would like to be able to describe myself as dedicated but if I look at my life recently it’s anything but dedicated. You’re a huge inspiration!

  7. Um I have totally decided next semester I’m going to come visit and we are going to go to brunch. I’m glad I just invited myself bahaha. You seriously look awesome and 20 pounds is incredible!

  8. lifttorun says:

    20 pounds? Hell yeah!

  9. Lisa says:

    Wow, proof is in the pictures! It’s funny because when you started I thought, man, she doesn’t even have much to lose and looks great already! Such a huge difference, I’m so impressed!

  10. Liz says:

    Excuse my language, but DAMN GIRL! You look awesome! You’re gonna kick butt on that stage!

  11. Lisa says:

    look at those legs! ow ow!

Leave a Reply

