Guilty Pleasures Make It Better

Posted: June 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s been… a helluva week.

My coworker is on vacation, meaning I’m doing my work plus hers… in the busiest week of the summer.

Oh… and she told me there would be “no issues”. Um yeah. Thanks for that.

Do you know how FUN it is to debate for over 40 minutes the proper way to wash a pair of children’s pants with someone who’s english isn’t the best?

lala 009

That look about sums up my thoughts right there…. and leads me into my next point.

We all know I took up drinking coffee because I didn’t LIKE coffee and thought it would:

A) be cheaper than all the sugar free energy drinks I was consuming

B) Help me cut back on caffeine because I don’t like it.

Obviously that didn’t work out and I’m just now a huge fan of coffee… it IS cheaper than redbull though so at least point A Is respected?

Anyway… it was after five last nigh when I looked at my work computer clock and realized… well, it was past 5 and I was still frantically running around trying to get everything done.

Exhausted and cranky I got rational. No matter HOW late I stayed there would still be more to do… Clicking that little red X on my outlook would not delete all my emails, they would still be there in the morning… so I clicked that little red X, put on my sunglasses, grabbed my bag and hit the road.

.. and immediately went into the little store in the metro station for this baby.

june 16 002

I can think of MAYBE three times in the last 10 months I’ve had one. It tasted like heaven and was beyond worth the hefty 4.20$ price tag the metro store gouges you for.

Sometimes you just need to revert to old bad habits to make you feel a little bit better and that’s A-ok.

… and just because that bad habit felt SO good, I broke out the sugar free jam for my post workout rice cakes. I only cut it out LAST WEEK, but ugh, I was just craving the flavor. White cheddar rice cakes, strawberry jam, banana myofusion. It.was.epic.

june 16 003

Feeling much much better I headed home, packed my bags and got everything ready for today, plopped on the couch to eat my last meal and chill with the monster for a bit.

… Oddly camera shy he was just acting how I felt

june 16 001

Overly dramatic and ready for the sun to turn off.

So at 8:30 I crawled into bed, chit chatted with my parents for 20 minutes and promptly fell asleep.

After my big decision yesterday I finally slept like a baby. Glorious!

And even better yet was waking up to a 4-0 stanley  cup win by the Bruins! I’m not even going to get into my thoughts on the riots, other than to leave you with my favorite quote I saw on twitter this morning…

“Vancouver could have stopped the riots a lot sooner if they had just thrown Tim Thomas out there, he stops everything”

YES!  Perfection!

Ok, so let’s hear it, who did YOU want to win the Cup?!

… and does anyone else have any guilty pleasures they give into from time to time?

Comments
  1. nikkionlunch says:

    Ha! Loved reading this lovely post laced with sarcasm. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! I thought I’d return the favor and I’m glad I did.

    Nikki’s guilty pleasure = nachos.. and prancing around (sometimes in my undies)like a nerd and calling it dancing

  2. Err, I have no idea who won the cup. Whoops.

    Last night I indulged in a guilty pleasure: me, a spoon, a jar of PB. Perfection.

  3. I’m from Boston so I was rooting for the Bruins…OF COURSE! LOVE that quote hahahaha.

  4. Kristy says:

    I’m not a hockey fan, but I was hoping the Canucks would win simply so Vancouver wouldn’t get trashed. I’m happy for the Bruins though – any athlete to make such an accomplishment is amazingly dedicated.

    Guilty Pleasure… a slice of toast with earth balance and apricot jam on it. So.Good.

  5. Mindy@FSL says:

    Um, yeah. My blog post today was fried hotdogs & potatoes. I suppose you can say I indulge 😉
    xo
    Mindy

    • ihearteggs says:

      seriously when I read your blog today mindy I was drooling! Growing up a “staple” in my fat kid days was a fried hotdog with melted cheese and bacon on a buttered and fried bun. Heaven! ahahha

  6. cookinghealthyforme says:

    Sometimes you just have to treat yourself! I’ll be blogging it next week, but I just made a low-fat apricot upside-down cake. My husband hasn’t stopped smiling! I had a small piece, it was delicious and I know myself well enough that if I don’t indulge every once in a while, healthy eating will go out the door.

    As for the hockey game – I don’t follow it. I’m an NFL girl!

    Glad you enjoyed the Red Bull!

Leave a Reply

