Mother and Father

Posted: June 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

I don’t know when I started calling them “mother and father”… I think it was born out of a joke… or maybe I wanted to be a formal English lady or something.

Whatever the reason, I call my parents mother and father.

(… Maybe that’s my version of them calling me by my full name?)

ANYWAY, I decided to write the “obligatory dad blog” to go along with the “obligatory mom blog”… but then thought it would be smarter to wait until today and combine it with the “Happy Birthday to My Mom” Blog since the two go hand in hand.

I have always seen my dad as the strong silent type. The “tougher” of the two parents. You want something, you’re in trouble, you want a hug, you go to mom.

A lot of that changed when I moved to Montreal and saw how my going through airport security time and time again effected him. Sure he wasn’t crying like my mom, but he wasn’t himself.

At my brother’s wedding is shocked me to no end to see the emotion on my dad’s face as the ceremony took place and then again during his speech. I had NO IDEA.

Naive? Yup, I was.

My dad was never one to expose his emotions… but over time I’ve come to realize he has his own way of showing it.

When I told my parents I was moving to Montreal, my mom understand. My dad told me I was making a mistake. He wanted me close to home and taking a “normal route”.

However when the school I was supposed to go to was trying to screw me out of 2000$ dad was the one to pick up the call and be my “lawyer” to ensure my money would be returned. He was the one driving me to Moncton to catch the train and then driving to Montreal a week later with my stuff.

Despite never expressing it, I knew he was there for me. Crazy and all.

Which brings me to my mom’s birthday aspect of this post.

I miss everything. Sure, I go home for Christmas and usually a week in the summer but for the most part, I miss everything else. Thanksgiving, Easter, long weekends, camping, family dinners, birthdays.. you name it, I miss it.

Last year a few days after my birthday my dad came up to Montreal (total last minute) to surprise me with tickets to the last Habs/Leafs game of the year for my birthday. This was my DREAM game to see, and the fact they clinched a playoff spot (which began an epic post season), and that it was just ‘daddy daughter” time was really special.

A few weeks before father’s day/mom’s birthday last year dad called me up at work one day and asked what I was doing for the birthday weekend.

I was in prep so clearly, gym, eat, relax. So “nothing big”… by that night dad had cashed in some air miles, I had booked the Friday off and a plan was hatched to show up and BAM! Surprise mom for her birthday… without even a mention of it being father’s day weekend too.

So that Friday I got up, did my cardio and headed for the airport. Landing in Saint John dad picked me up, mom still had absolutely NO idea at this point.

We headed over to the hospital where mom works and had her friend call her to find out where she was. I really really really wish I had taken a picture of the look on her face when I walked into her office. It was pretty badass.

The weekend was (obviously) too short, but I was able to spend Saturday at the beach with my mom, go out for her birthday dinner and have father’s day breakfast with my dad before hopping on a plane back to Montreal Sunday afternoon.

Being able to share that weekend with my family for the first time in 7 years was amazing. I felt like I was part of the family again and I couldn’t begin to thank my dad for allowing that to happen.

I know I get my “frugalness” from my father.. but now I see I share a lot more with him than I ever realized.

So with that… Happy Father’s Day to my dad… and Happy Birthday to my mom. The two people I have always been able to count on, whether it was to accept my latest crazy idea or to just pick me up from a party or give me a hug when I needed it.

ma&paAre you close with your parents? 

… or am I the only giant sob out there? (HIGHLY doubtful. )

Comments
  1. I’m close to my parents, and they live a few miles away. I don’t know what I would do if they didn’t live so close. They are my life blood.

  2. I honestly believe people come into your life for a reason, Becca you are one of those people who have brought so many things into perspective for me! Though Toronto is not that far from Ottawa, I too have come to the realisation that Family is important. I love my mom and dad, my brothers and sister and I also love my crazy extended family who are all in Toronto (or Montréal). I think with the help of others around me taking the first big leap, I making similar decisions that have been grounded within me for a long time but didn’t have the courage to execute.

    Got rid of the negativity, am doing something crazy (my competition) but now its time to get back to my roots.

    You’re a force my friend 🙂

    N

    • ihearteggs says:

      Thank you so much for that! I truly never really knew how much family meant until I left. I grew up with them always being there no matter what and I totally took it for granted. I’m SO thankful to be given the opportunity I am to make the changesI am.

  3. Awww this is so wonderful!! 🙂 You have such a great family. 🙂 I think it’s true that you never realize how much you lean on your family until you leave — I haven’t seen my mom in….23 months now and it’s unbelievably painful. & here I thought I’d be excited to get away!

  4. Christy says:

    Awww. How nice. (:

    I’m a lot closer with my mom than my dad, but my dad and I have basically the same personalities. He’s like my biggest fan.

  5. allieksmith says:

    I am close with my parents and it is so nice.. I always feel bad when my friends aren’t because parents can be the bomb sometimes!

  6. […] I’m going to be a sap here and say my mom blog… but follow it up with my mom AND dad blog. […]

Leave a Reply

