Saturday’s PB Filled Adventures

Posted: June 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

Friday night going to the gym direct from work was WONDERFUL. I had more energy, was “feeling it” and loved the fact when I got home I could plop my behind on the couch, turn on House and not move until it was time to eat and go to bed.

… and because of this I was home and ready for bed MUCH earlier, which helps me keep my “stop staying up until 1am on weekends” thing I’m working on!

Saturday morning I posted about how I was seriously geeking out of a group of stores I was going to visit. I was up early so it was the perfect day to do it.

Choosing to let this adventure fall into my long walk/bike ride on my weekend to do list from Friday I grabbed my backpack and a few extra reusable bags (the best thing ever when you walk/bus everywhere) and hit the road.

When I got to my first stop, Marche Avril I found them still closed. Um. The sign says you open at 9am. It’s 9:03 people.

june 20 002Thankfully these three older ladies were there to beat on the door. Like literally, they were knocking to get in. Seriously, calm down!

The best way to describe Avril is it is like a Quebec version of whole foods. Organic, gluten free, natural, etc etc. The best part? They don’t gouge you on prices (shockingly!)

june 20 003Lots of fresh organic veggies… admittedly a little pricey for the quantities I eat. 😦 

june 20 004I could have spent a small fortune in the spice isle… mmmm…

june 20 005I immediately think of my Elmo obsessed nephew every time I see this cereal.  

And then… my favorite isle. Ever.

Like seriously.

june 20 006If only I won the lottery… 

… maybe I should try PLAYING the lottery if I’d like to win it though eh? Hmm. next week?

I zero’d in on my target….

june 20 007Hello old friend!

I love me some PB&CO … going to the sandwich shop in NYC with my girls was heaven!

pb&coAll sorts of awesome. While I wanted to buy three jars I narrowed it down to Mighty Maple for now, added a loaf of my fav bread to my basket and got going on my way to store number two!

Nothing fancy, typical grocery store but the garden center made me want to buy everything and fill my window baskets full of pretty flowers.

june 20 008Kind of pointless right now, so I passed by… and was immediately confronted with THIS as I walked in the door.

   june 20 009Mmmm.. Buy now? wait? What do I do, what do I do?!

I chose to wait…. and I’m so glad I did because my next stop was my main point of this trip.

 june 20 010The new bulk barn! They sent the flyer out this week and there was a badass coupon.. oh how I love coupons!

june 20 001Save 3$ when you spend 10$?! Don’t mind if I do!

Especially since I found the love of my life while wandering the isles.

The pb filled pretzels from Provigo had NOTHING on the peanut butter filled… CHOCOLATE COVERED pretzels from the bulk barn. Nom nom.

Also grabbed some large flake oats, and a ton o’ spices! My total… 9:63$. Are you kidding me!?

Oh look, pretzel m&m’s at the cash for 75 cents. SOLD! Got my 3$ off.

I.Am.Cheap.

Honestly the rest of the stores were kind of junky/rundown and meh. I got my smokey salsa, some veggies and nail polish but nothing really worth noting. Sad but true.

Regardless I seriously enjoyed this mini day adventure. Grocery shopping amuses me to no end so hey, I’ll take my kicks wherever I can get them.

Since a big thing on my weekend to do list was to R-E-L-A-X when I got home I made my afternoon meal and plopped down on the couch with you know who.

june 20 011   In true ultimate lazy girl fashion my stomach became the table and I became a bum.

Hey, I truly believe this is A-ok as long as I’m not in denial about it…. which I’m clearly not.

Accepting myself, the good, the bad and the lazy is all part of growing up. As is embracing sweat pants, dirty hair and a fantastic bowl of banana oats on a cloudy Saturday afternoon!

june 20 012Sometimes you just need to go with your gut!

… and also learn to accept that after 6 years together your cat clearly has himself wrapped around your little finger… or in this case bulky calf.

june 20 013  Do you like going to multiple grocery stores or are you a one store, in and out kind of shopper?

How do YOU like to relax?

Comments
  1. allieksmith says:

    I LOVE going to tons of grocery stores and checking everything out.. it is SO tough for me to be in and out fast haha

  2. You had me at PB adventures…mmm. I’ve been doing a lot of straight out of the jar action 🙂

    I go to mainly two stores

  3. I’m a one store in and out as fast as humanly possible no matter what i end up spending no time to contemplate because i have two children with me and they either have a poopy diaper or need to use the potty NOW NOW NOW kind of person.

  4. Chelsea says:

    Give Fritz a little nose pet for me tonight. I love your cat. I heard Elmo’s voice when I saw that cereal picture.

  5. Ann says:

    I mostly visit one grocery store, but if I need any speciality items or I’m in the area of another store – I’ll pop in! Sounds like a fun weekend! I love chocolate covered, peanut butter filled pretzels, too. They sell them at a nice place called The Fresh Market. They don’t like my waist line, so if I buy them, I’ll buy 6-10 of them – or give them to my dad who LOVES them….and I love him!

  6. Jess says:

    WHOA..that wall of peanut butter..it’s what DREAMS are made of! 😀

  7. Christy says:

    Oh my gosh. I would have died and gone to heaven in that store.

  8. Oh my god so much PB! I personally like to go to many stores and check out the selection. Although I have made a list of general things I buy from each store to make it 100X easier.

Leave a Reply

