Small Changes Make Big Differences

Posted: June 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

Every Sunday rolls around with me rolling out of bed… having a quick shower and beginning the carb fest that is about to become my day with a big bowl of cinnamon banana oats with my usual whole egg and jumbo vat of coffee.

feb 28 001After this I get ready and hit the gym for my usual back/shoulder workout, 20 minutes of intervals and then… more carbs. Rice cakes with my banana Myofusion (heavennnnnnnnnn!)

 

june 16 003 

After this I normally bum around downtown, pop into a few stores, last minute groceries etc… and then I’m back home within two hours for my next meal… which is quite possibly one of my favorites thanks to this new gem I found a few weeks ago.

june 6 004It seriously rocks my rocks on my egg white fajita type wraps. Mexican food is quite possibly the love of my life. No lie.

june 20 026

I can honestly say after this I become half crazy productive, half super lazy. Especially with the heat we’ve been experiencing lately. I will often chop my veggies and then throw them in the oven to roast… while laying on the couch watching tv or cleaning elsewhere since my kitchen is tiny and roasting makes ME roast.

Laundry gets started, meals prepared, then it’s time for a snack. I love this one because well, it’s tasty, and it doesn’t leave me feeling stuffed.

june 20 018Pretty standard, greek yogurt with a bit of natural PB mixed in, with a big pile of sweet potato… I dip the potato in the yogurt and it’s fantastic.

More meal prep, packing of bags, setting the coffee pot for morning, probably more tv… then it’s dinner time. Sunday is really one of the few days I feel like I have a real “dinner meal”. Since my high day was put back in place i’ve been having spaghetti squash with veggies and chicken… and feeling like absolute death after.

june 20 025

Yup, I chalked it up to high carb day grossness, but really… hello veggie threshold.

Becuase of this meal I’d feel stuffed, gross, bloated and huge. Mondays I was lethargic and painfully sore in my tummy. Not fun. I seriously was retarded and said it was just the high day.

Well this week spaghetti squash prices shot up to 2.49/lb. Um no way in hell was I paying that, so I redid some macros (by hand. Ugh) and came up with a quick replacement.

june 20 019Yup, think build your own chicken burger bar… I started with this… then added a bit of onion, roasted peppers and dipped it in my smoky salsa.

 june 20 022Did I feel full? Yup.

Did I feel bloated, painful and like I was going to die? Nope!

It was PERFECTION.

…. and so so tasty.

After this I didn’t feel like i was doomed for laying flat on my back in pain on the couch. I finished up my housework, watched some tv and made my last meal. Lately I have been dreading this because I felt so gross but this week? Oh yes, it looked, smelled and tasted like heaven.

june 20 024French toast with some berries melted down. Umm… perfection!!!

So while ONE meal out of 6 doesn’t seem like it would make a huge difference. It did. Big time.

Waking up Monday I barely even felt bloated, had zero pain and TONS of energy. I hit my cardio hard and when the day ended I didn’t want to retreat home to the couch to suffer off the rest of the veggies, I went to the gym, did legs and felt GREAT.

Who knew?!

Have you ever made a small change that had big results?

… if you could have any meal on your higher carb day (if you have one!) what would it be?!

Comments
  1. marlopnwgirl says:

    I feel like the amount of space that all that sgetti squash takes up in your tiny tummy makes for all the pain.. Its really not that many carbs compared to like 2 pieces of bread.. and youd be able to eat that without feeling like death overload… I just think its to much.. cause that pile looked HUGE!!! LOL!

  2. Ughhh I soooo hear you on this!! I recently had to cut down my fibrous veggies for a very very similar reason….it was crazy, just taking them out of one (of my three..but still) meal on workout days and mostly skipping them on off days made a WORLD of difference!

    • ihearteggs says:

      It’s crazy! I never thought I’d OD on veggies… or that it was possible! Thankfully I’m able to stll enjoy them, but I Have to be wise about how much and how often. Just one more thing I learned about my body this prep!

  3. holy Heaven! your carb days look lovely! I am more than a bit jeaous my friend And because of you, the chipotle slasa is one of my new faves. have you tried the green totamot one. thats pretty delish too.

    • ihearteggs says:

      I love high days… but I think I enjoy them 10X more now becuase I never know when joe is going to axe them ahahaha I havent tried the green tomato one… hmm. Maybe next time!

  4. chrysta says:

    ooh yum! Mexican food is my absolute favorite. I love a great smokey salsa. Good on almost anything. I love the idea of your sweet potato chips dipped in PB greek yogurt..sounds great!

  5. Pam says:

    I smushed up a banana in my overnight oats last night and fell in love this morning! Thanks for the inspiration! I didn’t even need to use any sweetener. It was completely awesome!

    I am a total bottomless pit, so I’ve never noticed spaghetti squash affecting me or even really making me feel full. I can easily down half a squash in one sitting 🙂

  6. Tiff says:

    Every day is a high carb day for me! haha I admire your ability to ever do low-carb days. Ever since my epic fail with low carb diets, I don’t think any sort of carb restriction is right for me. A fav high-carb meal is hard to choose, but it’s probably something with pasta.

  7. Ann says:

    Even your carb overload days are healthy!

    • ihearteggs says:

      They really are. I used to have more “treat” style foods but find I”m so much more satisfied with just more healthy foods… plus I find my body reacts better since i”m so close to show day!

  8. Jess says:

    pretty much EVERYTHING you ate looks like something I’d love!! 😀 I don’t have “higher carb days” butttt I WOULD enjoy some PASTAAAA!!

  9. Christy says:

    I’ll take that French toast please.

  10. indecisiveathlete says:

    Its so funny how changing what you eat can have such a big difference on how you feel! and I def never know you could OD on veggies maybe that could be part of my bloatyness…
    I don’t have a high carb day really but I did change what I eat before I swim. When I eat fruit only before I get the worst bloaty belly ever but then I changed to having a little bit of cytomax drink before and no bloaty belly! amazing haha

  11. Dawn says:

    Salsa makes everything better!

Leave a Reply

