At Least I’m Good For Something

Posted: June 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

Yesterday I got a comment on my packing list post that I think is relevant enough to answer here since I’m sure a lot of people who don’t know much about figure competitions wonder the same thing.

Classic 010

WTF is up with the oompah loompah tan?!?!?

Okay, so that’s not a direct quote.

… or even a similar quote, but that WAS the question.

Normally I’m a fantastically glowing shade of white. I am Canadian after all. But white skin doesn’t really show the definition well.

… at all.

Think about it, when you have a nice dark summer tan you inevitably (usually!?) look better, you see your definition, you feel ;leaner, etc etc. So in short, the tan makes your muscles pop.

… which makes the judges give you things… like trophies.

I’ll be honest though, the fake tan is not fantasticly feeling as it is looking. The only thing I want post show is a shower (possibly with a shower beer like my university days, but yeah… shower). Watching it literally melt away and the stink/tacky/gross feeling dissolve is the happiest moment on show day.

So now that we’ve cleared that up!

Yesterday was my favorite workout day! Yay! It’s short, it’s sweet… and it’s my “trouble spot” so I really push it.

Tuesday AM: the “usual”, 40 minutes low intensity steady state cardio. Full up incline walking for me. No jumping around. Odd.

Tuesday PM: SHOULDERS & 10 minutes hard cardio

  • Overhead DB press 2X10 warmup, 4 X 8 reps
  • DB side lateral raise 4 X 12
  • BB upright row, 4 X 12
  • Bent over lateral raise s/s front raise 3 X 8 (for both)
  • Arnold Press 3 X 10

A little random and all over the place but my gym was packed and people were taking DB’s but not returning and being stupid, etc etc so I had to improvise. It felt great regardless!

After all of this I (deliciously) stuffed myself full of (okay, not so full or stuffed, but enjoyed) rice cakes and Myofusion and headed home.

Once all my bags were packed and coffee was set for this morning I made my last meal and stretched out on the couch to watch an episode of House before bed.

Thankfully Fritz felt like being sweet and showed me that he really appreciates all I do for him.. you know, by showing me I’m good for something…

june 29 002.. you know, being a headrest while he relaxes.

He’s got a tough life you know.

bed 

Yeah… REAL tough.

How is your week going?

Let’s hear it, who’s got pets and who spoils them rotten?!

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    Hi There! I understand the need for a tan for the shows – I’m a Florida girl and I’m as pale as you are! I have a sweet Yorkie pup who is spoiled rotten and I totally understand the love of pets!

    As for my day….it’s AWESOME! I was just selected for FoodBuzz’s Top 9 for my Tomato Tart! How cool is that?! I also am at 19 pounds lost expecting to lose 20 any minute now….I feel healthy, I feel skinny, I feel happy!

  2. cactusflower says:

    Hey hey … it’s cactusflower!

    Awww my cat is spoiled rotten too 🙂 I wil have to show pics when I am home. I give him filtered water and he sometimes gets sparkling water (he likes the bubbles). He has the run of the house and I let him get away with a lot. Hs’s an orange tabby I rescued from animal services – i’ve had him 8 months and he is 1….Oh and his name is George bhecause he is sooooooo curious.

  3. Fritz is so cute. And I spoil my bunny like you wouldn’t believe. I just wish SHE knew that. Ungrateful bunny! 🙂
    So, those spray tans don’t feel good? Are they sticky? Do they wash off?

    • ihearteggs says:

      lol Fritz has NO Idea how good he has it! The tan just feels really sticky and gross, especilaly when it’s humid outside. plus you cant wear deodorant or anything so it’s nasty. The type I uses just washes right off though, there is SOME left behind, but not noticeable!

      • Ahh, ok. Didn’t realize you did it yourself. I thought you went and got those spray tans at the salon (which I’ve considered just because I want to pretend like I look like I have 2 abs.)

  4. I think it was international be-a-jerk-with-DBs day yesterday. I tried to take a pic of this one guy who had FOUR sets of DBs at peak hour in the gym. I mean I understand the need for occasional drop sets. But really. Try to do them when there’s not a legit CROWD of us waiting.

  5. marlopnwgirl says:

    I can imagine how awesome that shower feels.. I know how much i love showering after camping.. and id imagine that would be comparable!

  6. allieksmith says:

    Gotta love fake tans 😉

    My week is flying by and going well because I got a lot of hours at work-woot woot!

    I def. spoil my dog beyond what I should hahah she got a walk every day, even in the SNOW. She is a BRAT!

    • ausaryn / T says:

      I totally had a dream about you last night. For some reason your show was being televised and I was watching. You came 3rd out of 16 and I was bragging I loved your blog……some good foreshadowing perhaps…lol.

  7. Yes! I love when my questions turn into blog posts. Hee!

  8. This week is going at a snails pace. 4 day work weeks sometimes take forever…at the same tiem i am a bit worried. was jsut told that I look good int he suit….fromt th front and side…the back….not so much…uh oh.

    • ihearteggs says:

      Who said that to you!? Trsut me, the last 2 weeks (even the last week!) HUGEEEEEEEE changes happen, you will be amazed what peak week brings!

      • The nutritionist said that : (

      • ihearteggs says:

        Ugh. Comments like that are hard. My first ever “trainer” told me I Had zero shoulders. almost 3 years later I have a shoulder complex bigger than my fat ass ahahah you will be fantastic. the first show is a learning experiance you will be the best YOU and be proud of every second you put into this

  9. Alina says:

    My cat is totally spoiled. He knows he can do whatever he wants, too. It’s terrible!

  10. Jess says:

    Adorable cat!! I love working shoulders, although it’s TOUGH!!

  11. I’m stealing Fritz.

    Well, whenever I go to Canada next. Haha.

  12. I mean I’m no figure competitor, but I must admit i feel more defined when I am tanner in the summer. I’m glad to know that isn’t all in my head. I thought it might be ha. Your nails are inspiring me to maybe paint mine…maybe.

Leave a comment