Calm Before the Storm

Posted: July 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’m just going to toss this out there and be 100% honest right now.

I feel calm.

Like… really calm.

And the more I realize this, the more I notice this about myself, the more it kind of freaks me out.

Every other peak week I have been… frazzled. A hot mess if you will. Running constant errands, planning, prepping, making lists, making last minute changes and comparing notes with myself, making sure I had everything completely in order.

Funny thing is, every other prep my LIFE has been frazzled too. A messy apartment, sink full of dishes, clothes everywhere, way too much on my mind.

This time around?

june 25 004Um yeah… my kitchen table. Usually piled high with makeup, papers, macro sheets and crap. Now?

Clean, clutter free and a symbol for my life in general. While everything is in transition I moved into a very low maintenance lifestyle and it’s helped calm me down and make me feel like everything is in order.

My show bag is double checked and packed. A few treats and all the “extras” i need to bring show day are bought. My chicken is cooked for Saturday and in the freezer.

Life is streamlined. I’ve completely taken the guess work out and having everything prepped and planned means I can sit back, enjoy this week and savor everything I’ve accomplished.

So far peak week is completely on track. My body is reacting exactly how it should be (according to Joe), my plan hasn’t had the last minute changes it’s always had before and I’m sitting exactly where I wanted to be sitting.

It’s crazy, it’s exciting, it’s… reassuring.

Everything I have done in the last six months has led to this week and I can very happily say there is not one thing I regret, not one workout, one early bedtime, one achy muscle. I put my heart and soul into this and now it’s time to enjoy the ride through the final four days.

It seems like the last 6 months has gone by so slowly… yet so fast. Peak week showed up out of nowhere and I’m a bundle of emotions that I kind of suck at expressing. I know right now I feel good and calm… but who knows what the rest of the week will bring.

I’m beyond thankfully that Lisa convinced me to start this blog almost a full year ago as it has helped me open up, get my feelings out and really reach my full potential thanks to the AMAZING support system I’ve found through blogging. 

blogI want to take the time to give a shout out to three other fabulous ladies I have met through blogging and who are also stepping on stage this weekend to kick butt and take names. 🙂

Nini @ the Fine Balance  will be competing WITH ME in the IDFA show, as well as doing the show earlier in the day SAF.

Tenecia @ Boobs, Barbells and Broccoli and Ana @ Fit, Fun and Delish will also be competing together at the NPC Terminator! (… please please please let me have got that show name right. Correct me if I”m wrong ladies!)

Getting on stage whether it’s your first like Ana or Nini or … not your first like T and I is a huge deal so send some love, cheers and huge encouragement their way becuase they rock and are a huge inspiration to me!

… carrying along…

I only have TWO days left at work and Friday is going to be so so nice. Quickie workout, mani/pedi, last meal prep and relaxing. With no athletes meeting to attend Friday night I feel so chill about the day and can’t wait to enjoy it rather than spend it checking my watch to make sure I’m on time.

So there you have it… the ramblings of a 4 day out competitor…. who is scaring herself with how calm she is.

It’s a great kind of scary if I do say so myself!

Do you get nervous before a competition/race/etc?!

Do you feel better about everything when your life is clutter free?

Comments
  1. My life has never been clutter free (either physically or mentally) so I can’t say. I imagine I’d feel much better, yes.

    I wish I could be there. I so badly want to see you kick ass up there!

  2. Sandra says:

    Wow, you have really mastered it! Good job!!
    Being free of clutter (and I tend to be a borderline hoarder ;)) will definitely have a positive impact on the rest of your life! All areas.
    Can’t wait to read about the comp – best of luck!!! Kick asssssss

  3. Melissa says:

    Thanks for the comment on my page!! Yayy for nosy people! haha

    You are GORGEOUS! I thought your gravatar picture was a celebrity model picture.

    Good luck on the competition. I can’t wait to see the pictures!

  4. First of all..Terminator is such a cool name for a show. Bad. Ass.

    Secondly…why am I not surprised that Lisa is the one who got you to start blogging? 🙂 Of course she was. She’s awesome.

    And finally… I think this calm before the storm is a very very very good sign for you, lady. 😀 Are you going to be live-tweeting updates on the big day?!

  5. allieksmith says:

    I get nervous minutes before a race but usually I am too “un” nervous and forget things haha!

  6. Before the half I PR’d at, I had this really bizarre calm feeling. Normally before a race I’m a mess (maybe not externally, but definitely internally) so it was REALLY odd for me. I guess I just knew I was going to do it — just like you are going to!!

  7. I am so excited for you! You really are an inspiration with how organized and thought out all of your planning is. You are so dedicated to doing what you love that it makes me want to do what I love! I’m glad you started a blog and I’m glad I found it and I will be around to hear what happens until the end!

  8. Ann says:

    Wow! Congratulations on a calm week! I am thrilled for you! Not only that – you’re meeting fellow bloggers at the competition? How cool is that?! I’m headed over to Lisa’s site to thank her for convincing you to blog….

  9. Jen says:

    I feel so much better when everything is calm and clutter free around me…which is why this move has sent me into a tail spin! Not having everything done and organized is pissing me off.
    Good luck this weekend, can’t wait to hear all about it!!!! ROCK IT!!!!!

  10. Thank you so much for the shout out : )

    Not sure what I would have done without your support either! you’ve been such a great source of inspiration, helped calm me when I was having/going through one of my MANY meltdowns, and made me realise I wasnt the only one with a constant wave of emotions!

    looking forward to seeing you in 3 days : )

  11. Pam says:

    I love when I feel put together and organized like that. I’m so happy you’re feeling so ready and prepared! Go you!!

  12. Tiff says:

    I get crazy nervous, but I’m glad you’re at least calm for now. I can’t wait to hear the outcome and how much fun you have while doing it. I’m excited for you!

  13. Tenecia says:

    Yep – NPC Terminator is the name of the show!!!

    I’m so excited for you & am SOOOOOOOOO happy that you’re having a calm peak week!

    Just think….it’s almost time for that burger! 🙂

    T.

Leave a Reply

