Straight From the Man Himself

Posted: July 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

You just keep looking better and better

Ummm. Hells yes!

Since I… "slept in” and got ready for work at home today I decided to snap a few progress photos to send in to Joe with my morning checkin.

The above is his response.

Ahhhh! I’m getting NERVOUS now! I’ve been back and forth on posting up my progress pics from the weekend and today… but I’m feeling open right now so…

Me. This morning.

july 13 frontI’m right where I should be coming down from a high day. Still a bit puffy and holding a bit of water, but coming down from it perfectly. ‘

We’re keeping my carbs low today as planned…. but depending on the scale tomorrow morning we may have to doctor the plan and bump my carbs up. We shall see!

Normally my gym bag is packed the night before. I work in a very… free and casual… dress code environment and since it’s been so hot lately (… and I’m functionally lazy about my appearance) this is my usual look.

july 13 004Ah yeah, ripped jean shorts, tank top, 1$ old navy flip flops, my 5$ aviators. The only thing that cost more than 15$ in that entire look is the watch on my wrist.

… which totally matches my flip flops. That makes my hobo-ness okay right?

Well today my workout is a bit longer… so I decided to “sleep in” until 6:15. I was up naturally at 4:45 and then again at 5:30 and finally gave up on dozing and got out of bed at 6am. After snapping my progress pics, showering and noming down my breakfast and a cup of coffee I decided to take advantage of the fact I was getting dressed at home.

july 13 009Honestly not that different right… Except…

 july 13 010(FYI: that blue nail polish is driving me nuts)

That’s right… I broke out the fun shoes. There is just something about slipping on the Jimmy Choos that makes everything better.

Okay… moving on.

I KNOW I said I would have huge big news today….

But sometimes in life things don’t go as planned. While the situation is turning around, I am keeping the happy dance on the backburner for now, keeping my fingers crossed and will HOPEFULLY be able to share my news by Monday.

I’m choosing not to let this little hiccup… and that’s ALL it is in the grand scheme of things… ruin this peak week for me. I had a pity party Monday morning and my bff thankfully talked me out of it. What will be will be and in the end, it doesn’t matter if it happens now, in a month or in two months because it WILL happen.

And that my dears is all that matters!

Do you ever feel like you jinx yourself by getting TOO excited before the final nail is in the coffin so to speak?

Dressing up for work? yay? nay? Necessary or whatever?!

Comments
  1. i’ve learned to TRY to keep expectations low so I don’t get TOO excited.

    and love the shoes! Ihave some like that from old navy.

    PS: had a reader comment on my blog yesterday saying that she loved you, and said that you said that I was the reason you started blogging and she wanted to thank me for that since you are so awesome.

    i agreed with her!

    • ihearteggs says:

      Yes!!! I got A LOT of comments yesterday saying how awesome you were for convincing me to start blogging.. and I have to agree. You are the best LIsa! Love you!

  2. Genie says:

    I jinx myself all the freaking time. Blow! LOL!

    I have the worst work “style” EVER. Seriously. It’s really sad. I do like cute work attire, though! But no one sees me, so I find it pointless! LOL!

  3. I usually keep things very close until I know they are 100% sure. I definitely feel like I may be jinxing myself otherwise. I think it’s also because I’m slightly a pessimist.

    Lookin’ good!

  4. Ann says:

    Looking good! I love the work attire AND the shoes! I understand your excitement and the nervousness….enjoy the anticipation!

  5. Lexi says:

    I keep my expectations low so I don’t get disappointed, but then people tell me that I need to be more optimistic. I hate to even tell people if I’m waiting to hear about something because I’m afraid of being jinxed. My last job was moderately casual which means I was always overdressed because my “street” clothes were too casual for work.

    I’m so glad you are blogging (& honestly) about this entire process!

  6. Love that you are keeping the happy dance on the backburner, hehe! So cute. I play things close to the chest until they’re set in stone too!

  7. marlopnwgirl says:

    Wohoo for the sexy shoes!! they are so cute! Are those the same AE shorts i have? LOL!

  8. So jealous of your dress code for work! There are some days I wish I could just wear whatever. Other days, I really don’t mind dressing up…

  9. You look great! And love those shoes! I need to get me some wedges and dresses as we discussed via twitter!

Leave a Reply

