Like a Ton of Bricks

Posted: July 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’m tired.

Sleep just wasn’t happening last night.

… and there is a screaming child (.. okay, I think there is three) in my office right now. I am NOT impressed.

Last night after work I headed straight to the gym. It was a (for me) very low carb day and I was pretty beat.

Regardless, I knocked out my workout. I honestly don’t have my book and with all this screaming going on behind me I can’t remember it.

Whatever, it was chest, shoulders and triceps w/ 15 minutes of easy cardio for a warm-up. There was supersets and such to be more productive and keep it shorter.

Everything was feeling… Heavy.

After that I headed to my eyebrow appointment… I got there 5 minutes early… and was told it was going to be a 40 minute wait.

EXCUSE ME? I made an appointment to avoid this. I walked out…. and was automatically amused by a drunk being arrested in the metro station. At 7pm. On a Wednesday. Oh the things I’ll miss.

Dvds were returned, groceries picked up, bags packed, food ate and I crawled into bed just before ten.

… which is when the fireworks started… and the percussion concert in the mall parking lot…

And um… it hit me like a ton of bricks. I’m competing.

ON SATURDAY.

glassesHow did it not sink in  before this I don’t know. 

But suddenly laying there in bed it wasn’t the fireworks or the drums keeping me awake. It was my racing heart and mind that wouldn’t shut up.

Is my bag packed?

Is my to-do list up to date and complete?

Is my body ready?

Is my MIND ready?

WHAT AM I FORGETTING?!

Eventually I must have drifted off… and slept through the night which never happens.

christmas 001I awoke to my alarm… and the feeling I was being watched… I wonder why.

This morning marked my LAST cardio. It was heavy, but I did it. thirty minutes of upright bike and treadmill knocked out then a few ab circuits to round it out for the day.

My mind is still going a mile a minute and my to do lists are being revised and updated. I’m definitely on top of things and like how organized I am this time around. Things are right on track. 

I’m done work around 3:30-ish today and off until Tuesday. I added Monday to my Friday off so I can unwind, run some errands and prep myself for the week.

july 13 005You know… kick back, put my feet up and do NOTHING.

… and by nothing i mean no cardio.

for like… a week.

The plan for today will remain unchanged. Joe is happy with where I’m sitting, I’m happy with where I’m sitting, we’ll keep the carbs down today and make changes tomorrow/show day as needed to be sure I come in as tight as possible.

I’m pretty excited to see the final outcome… and then move on to the next chapter.

Um yeah, whatever that might be.

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    I can understand the nerves hitting, but you’ll do great! I hate when you make an appointment and they have you wait! Enjoy your no cardio day!

  2. allieksmith says:

    Aww i’m so sorry about the nerves! Just try to remember that you have worked so hard and it will pay off 🙂 I just know it!!

  3. marlopnwgirl says:

    WOHOOO!!!! Almost there! you got this!

  4. Eugh sounds like a rough morning so far! O_O I am so excited for you! It’s so CLOSE!!!

  5. Nikki says:

    Ahhhhh! It’s almost here! Nervousness is a great thing and I know you’re going to do awesome!!

Leave a Reply

